We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #381 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for our trip”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and I was a bit worried after reading some recent reviews on arrival I was greeted at reception with a warm welcome and a smile , As other reviews say it is a perfect location for sight seeing our room was a cosy double double and was great we all had the view that it's only to sleep and shower in the hair dryer broke on day two so we asked for some one to come and look at it the guy was up in and out in about20 mins fantastic service same when we asked for more towels . My only moan is that service at the bar was sometimes slow but it was busy maybe another barman but on the whole we had a great stay in NYC and would stay here again great value polite staff would recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff made your NYC experience truly memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback as we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    3,106
    2,047
    1,081
    757
See reviews for
2,400
2,549
337
1,135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic! It has got all the character and charm of New York and makes for a perfect holiday. The lounge and lobby are impressive, bar and restaurant are really good too. Only downside is you have to pay for wifi. Would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GTanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was great. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautiful hotel and I can imagine FDR staying there in the 1930's! The foyer is grand and the rooms are spacious, especially for the great location. The bed was extremely comfy with lovely pillows and duvet, good large TV and hot showers. The downsides of the hotel are; old sash windows that let in all the noisy traffic, noisy old air con/heating units, no mini bar in the room, no fridge, no kettle. The bathroom was spacious but tired, cracked floor tiles - but I suppose a modern sleek hotel would not have the character. Drinks in the bar are expensive, so just have the one! We also had an annoying problem of the key cards not working and numerous trips back down to reception for re-sets. The hotel is opposite Central Station, excellent for the subway to get around for only $2.50 eachway. The food court in Central Station is also great for breakfast or lunch, instead of paying hotel prices.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, on either side of the corridor. One side was noisy traffic over the street, but go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay was great. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife & I Recently stayed at the Roosevelt. I suggested the hotel as I had a great stay there a few years ago with my family. When we arrived, we found that they had no record of our reservation, particularly disappointing as we did call prior to arrival to confirm. Fortunately, they did have a spare room on the 4th floor. This room was particularly noisy due to it being so close to the street and right opposite the elevators, whos "bongs" were endless and extremely noisy all night. The following day we did ask to be moved, and we were moved to a room on the top floor, far away from the elevators. This was accompanied with a lot of complaining to us from the lady behind reception. I can only assume that she was off sick the day that they taught customer service.

The room was nice enough, nothing to shout about, it was clean which is the main thing. Not a lot of amenities, but you're only there overnight anyway!! The only food that we bought from the hotel was room service, none of it was overly special, especially the pizza, which was dryer than a rock. If you want a pizza, theres a great little shop round the corner (turn left out of the front of the hotel, then next left. Its along there on the left. Uncle something, I think its called)

Location could not be better. Close to Rockefeller Center, Broadway, Time Square, Central Park, 5th Avenue (yes, I did get dragged to Tiffanys, good luck lads), and Grand Central Terminal (particularly handy to catch the subway downtown to see the 9/11 memorial * Statue of Liberty)

Overall, an average, no thrills, hotel. Nice enough if all you want is to get in late at night, get a nights sleep and go straight out again the following morning

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible and away from the elevators. They really are the loudest eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. We are pleased to hear that our central location was the constant positive during your stay. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews in Tripadvisor.

On arrival the foyer is as spectacular as you would expect from photographs, lovely. And then it went downhill. When booking in the receptionist was dreadful; in the entire transaction I doubt she bothered using more than 10 words 'conversing' with me. Rude taciturn and disinterested. Her entire conversation was: 'name?' 'When you leavin?' long pause 'wednesday right?', she disappeared for 2 minutes then 'so you leavin wednesday?'. That was it. After she had eventually done the pass keys she handed them to me didn't say 'have a nice stay nor 'these are your pass keys' nor even 'your room number is.... ' nothing. When I said 'so my room number is....' she said 'that's what I wrote' and walked off. The room was reasonable, it was clean, if a little tatty, but comfortable. The next morning the shower control broke off and started flooding the room, reception didn't answer the phone so we had to go down to summon help, the maintenance guy fixed it no problem but did the management contact us to at least apologise? no of course not. We used the bar that evening to have an evening meal, seemed like a nice idea in the surroundings. The food took over 45 minutes to arrive. The next morning we went outside for a Taxi, asked the doorman and he barked 'go join the queue' A lady ahead in the queue took her turn, got in a taxi and was clearly waiting for someone to join her, the doorman shouted to us 'why the hell did you let her go first' as though it was our job to police his system. Extraordinary behaviour. On checkout the receptionist was as rude and disinterested as the first. In the end I asked to see her manager but was told she was unavailable.

The only reason why I haven't given the hotel a 'Terrible' score is because the bed was comfortable and clean and because the hotel is central and very convenient.

Otherwise, this is a very poor place to stay. The majority of the staff we came into contact with were staggeringly awful and the only reason the hotel does such good business is because demand in New York is so high. This is the worst service I have experienced anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced with our service. Rest assure that all of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. We are pleased to hear that you did manage to find some positives about your stay. Again our apologies and thank you for your candid feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have recently stayed here with my family for a long weekend. When we arrived at 5pm we were told that there was a shortage of "cosy doubles" which we had booked, the receptionist then told us that she would upgrade us to a superior double and free internet for the whole of our stay - which usually costs $15-$19 a day! We went out for dinner then came back a hour later and our room was ready. Room was very clean and was comfortable to sleep and shower in. I would come back to this hotel with no hesitation, very classy feel and very central to everything! We only got taxis to the airport and walked everywhere else - it is very handy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear that our central location, comfy rooms and friendly staff help make your NYC experience great. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

A wonderful old style hotel (if that's what you are looking for you have found the right place) the only problem with old style comes with parts of the hotel (especially the rooms) being a little tired and could do with a revamp in places. if at all possible get one of the modernised rooms we didn't a bit of a shame really. The hotel is ideally situated in the city for most of the main attractions. Word of warning don't use the unlicensed cars that the doormen (do they get a back hander?) suggest using to go to the airport they are not cheaper and we believe are not insured be warned. Stick to the yellow cabs. as for eating we did have a meal once in the hotel it was very good but there are plenty of places to eat nearby as well. as for breakfast we didn't use the hotel either go straight across the road which is ok but nothing special or go to the 'comfort diner' which is a typical american diner quite an experience. To find it walk out of the hotel turn left and approx 3 to 4 blocks along on the right you will find it. well worth the experience. if anyone has any questions please do not hesitate to ask.

Room Tip: ask for one that has be modernised not all of them have been
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeankirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review.. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was great and that you would recommend us to other travelers. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,543 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 468 in New York City
9,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,467 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,129 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing