We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nostalgic charm, great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #371 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nostalgic charm, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

First time in New York the Roosevelt made an ideal base to see the sights and sounds of the city. The Art Deco foyer is magnificent and the rooms are clean and tidy. The concierge service was excellent. After checkout Steve the luggage guy looked after our luggage and the door man (New Yorker) was mine of information. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quirk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are pleased to hear that our friendly staff made your stay even more enjoyable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    3,015
    1,957
    1,030
    700
See reviews for
2,306
2,448
318
1,072
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eden, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed at many nice boutique type hotels in NYC, but the Roosevelt is high on my list! I was there during one of the recent snow episodes and had to stay two extra days. They were most accommodating and honored the good pricing I initially had for the additional days. The service is extraordinary and I love the location of this hotel! I will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rower412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that we could extend your stay during the last snow storm. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel is currently having work done to it so it is full scaffolding on the out side of the hotel so we were unable to take a photo of the hotel. The reception area is lovely and very appealing. Very 1950s look.
We were up graded to a superior room, I am not joking the room was a small shoe box, there was no tea coffee facilities, one old cupboard to store items in, massive bed, very comfortable but ridiculous size in comparison to the room. No pad or pen, no shelve in the bathroom only toilet top to put your make up or any items, towels were old and in a bad way, frayed at the edges, the room looked cheap and needs renovating, there was a draft that made the room cold and the noise was loud from the street, where the window appeared faulty.
In the hallways of the hotel if you look to the ceiling there was on level 6 wires bunched and holes cut out of the ceiling where they were all pushed in. Building site appearance.
The bar was ridiculously priced and you waited ages to get served and the bar staff were grumpy and miserable. There was no atmosphere.
I wish I had read the reviews on this hotel. It is below the standard claimed certainly the room upgrade was terrible. I will be honest I was disappointed with the roosevelt and would not stay there again,
If you are of the view it is a bed for the night that is literally what you are getting. I am struggling to find anything positive to say. Was not welcoming. I did not feel comfortable there. Just glad all we did was sleep there. All the things we did in New York was fantastic, if you want a luxury hotel look for something else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. Rest assure, ALL of your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Don't be fooled by the grand looking foyer ... what lies behind is not so grand. I stayed here with my family recently and I have to say I was shocked by the total lack of care and service on offer. It felt like the busy Grand Central Station that is very close to the hotel. Lots of people walking through without anybody attempting to make you feel welcome. Don't expect any help with your bags. Nearly every guest I saw, young and old, had to carry their own heavy backs up the front steps to the reception. I actually saw the doorman refuse to help a guest with their bags out of a car. Nobody will offer to bring your bags up to your room. The one time I did request help with my bags to put them in storage, I was told that I had to tip the bell boy because it was the only way they were being paid. The reception were functional and impersonal. Not really interested in interacting, just interested in taking your payment details and despatching you to your room as soon as possible. The rooms were very jaded looking. Curtains half hanging off the windows, weeks of dirt under the beds and a bathroom that's seen better days. the rooms were really small, despite us being assured that they'd be spacious. On top of all of that, the costs for wi-fi / internet access were exorbitant. There is nothing to recommend this hotel, and I will certainly never be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelWellAlways2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies that we did not meet your expectations. ALL of your concerns have been noted and will be addressed. Again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We chose the hotel as part of a fly/hotel deal and were pleased with the quality of accommodation and the central location. As part of a package we got reasonable value.

We did pre-pay for superior rooms and whilst the rooms were fine they were not especially 'superior' (however this gave us the option for twin beds that we required). Also as noted by others New York is a busy 24 hour city, so background traffic noise is part and parcel of the place. We were allocated rooms on the 6th floor and had a rather disturbed night (rubbish collection in the early hours and clanking manhole covers) it was far better when we were moved up to the 10th floor.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidH11-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, NYC is truly the city that never sleeps. However, we are happy to hear that we could accommodate you on a higher floor which help elevate the street noise. For future info, the front desk has complementary sleep kits which include an eye mask and ear plugs. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were all really looking forward to staying at this hotel from Feb 14th - feb 20th 2014...( 2 mums and 3 daughters).What an experience....although the bed was comfortable the bathroom left a lot to be desired...The shower head actually bounced in and out of the wall when it was running, the bathroom floor became partially flooded from a leaking grotty bath seal, the toilet roll holder fell off the wall when using the tissue paper, the window wouldn't close securely hence a constant draft and noise from the street below ( bearing in mind we arrived in the middle of a very cold snow storm!). NO tea or coffee or kettle in the room just paper cups! The first morning my friend very politely asked the concierge the directions to the ticket office to collect our hop on hop off bus tour tickets to be told " Its your responsibility to find out use your phone!" seeing as wifi cost $15 dollars a day we didn't have that option to which he then added "Well you have a phone in your room so use it!.... Welcome to New York!
Fortunately we had the instinct to keep all of our possessions pad locked in our cases as we didn't feel comfortable leaving any of our things lying around. We never had a good morning or a good evening from any member of staff during our stay. We only knew what time we had to check out by reading the key card holder and that our bags could be locked away safely....only for a tip of which is asked for verbally and by holding out their hands. Not one member of staff was willing to help in a friendly manner. everything seemed like a effort on their part and too much trouble. Customer service does not exist in this hotel, all the staff are rude, arrogant, unhelpful and expect a tip for everything...even bad service! I'm really sorry to say and very surprised to find out that the service you expect and are led to believe New York will deliver certainly didn't materialise!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced regarding rudeness. ALL of your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

From the moment we revolved through the doors, our stay at The Roosevelt was wonderful. We find the staff to be extremely helpful and accommodating. During our stay we were in and out MANY times, and the elevators were crowded at times, but this is a huge hotel in Midtown, and other people were in and out just as we were. All six elevators were functional throughout. The carpets seemed perfectly plush and clean to us. Didn't have a problem with the paint or wallpaper, either. If you want a fridge and coffeemaker, know that you're not going to get it. But there's plenty of ice, and Gregory's Coffee on 46th St is one of the best cups you'll ever have. The bar is expensive, but the cocktails are about 1.5 x the size of an ordinary cocktail and quite good. The list price of the wifi is high, but if you download the Roosevelt app and show them at checkout, they will remove all wifi charges. This is an extremely generous deal. Fitness room was very large and clean, but the weather was so unseasonably pleasant we did all of our exercise outside. I booked this room throughout Priceline, but they treated us like valued customers and upgraded us to a king. Beds very comfortable. My husband was at a conference at Grand Central (Hyatt), so just a very short walk away. Plenty of outlets. I'd stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: We like a high floor, and if you can get one, you'll never hear a peep of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marylander222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our central location, friendly staff, and the unseasonable warm weather help to make your stay even more memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,817 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,705 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#308 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,114 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#307 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,978 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing