We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, fabulous bed, helpful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #393 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I and another couple booked rooms here knowing that it was an older hotel. We arrived early and our room was not ready, not a problem. They were more than accommodating with storing our luggage and took our cellphone number and offered to call when our room was ready. The staff at the front desk was extremely polite and helpful and the concierge was even better. Bill gave us great maps and directions and we left to enjoy our first day in NYC.

We received a call at exactly 3:00 that our room was ready and we returned a little later. There was a line at the front desk, but there were plenty of people working the desk and the line moved quickly. Once checked in, we headed to our room, which was on the 17th floor. On the way up, we got out of the elevator to let someone out that was behind us and then other people got in and there was no room for us to get back in. We ended up waiting about 15 minutes for another elevator that wasn't completely full of people. This was our only issue of our 4 night stay.

Our room was a junior suite on the 17th floor. Yes, we could hear traffic noise, but it's NYC and that's part of the reason we came here, to experience NYC!

Our room had a closet with ample space, hangers and a safe. There was a desk and chair that was great for keeping our maps, tickets and directions. We had a living area with a couch, table and flat screen television. The bedroom had an awesome and comfortable bed, another flat screen television and a refrigerator. And, of course a bathroom. I read reviews about other bathroom issues and ours was more than fine. There was a large room with a huge mirror, a sink and a coffee maker (a Keurig) and there was a smaller bathroom with a toilet and tub. The toilet paper roll was hanging behind the door, which meant the door had to be closed to access it, which was odd, but not a huge issue. The tub was very deep and nice for soaking in with bubbles after long day of walking.

Overall, we had a great stay and would stay at The Roosevelt again! Many of the negative reviews and the complaints I read seemed like petty issues and people not coming to NYC to enjoy the big apple, but people wanting to just go sit in a hotel room.

Positives:
* the lobby is beautiful and inviting
* the location is fabulous
-near Grand Central Station
-near Times Square
-near Broadway
*the bed was super comfortable
*the staff was very accommodating
*the concierge (Bill) was friendly and knowledgeable
*deep bathtub

Negatives:
*elevators can be crowded
*toilet paper roll hanging behind the door

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricebill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff made your NYC experienced memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,460 - 4,466 of 9,471 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Roosevelt one night only for a business trip. I arrived at 1:00 and my room was not ready (technically it wasn't check in time) but after traveling all morning I didn't want to way. I agreed to take a lesser room that was ready instead of waiting. There were about 2 or 3 people in line to check in before me but the line moved quickly. The foyer and entrance is ver nice and well maintained, looks updated. The rooms do not give the same impression. The rooms seem outdated and the bathroom small and outdated as well. There was no refrigerator. The safe was on the top shelf of the closet, which was inconvenient - I had to stand in the desk chair. The room was stuffy with no temperature control. I have no complaints about the service or staff, they were friendly and courteous. My main "complaint" is that the rooms and bathrooms are outdated and there is no free wi-if. Seems rather strange in this day and age. The location was convenient for my business meeting. However if I travel to NYC for pleasure in the future I would seek out a different hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank epbcabtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. While it seems that your stay was fine, our apologies if we did not meet your expectations. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

stayed here for a three night stay from 26th Oct arrived to check in and found we had been up graded to a two double bed standard room and given free wifi too which was very nice beds were very comfy room was clean,nicely furnished and well equipped, toilet and shower couldn't be faulted, plenty of lifts so you didn't have to wait long. Reception staff could not do enough for us in fact all staff were very good.
situated a two minute walk to grand central terminal and 5 mins to park ave and on Madison ave ten minute walk to times square, would stay there again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: don't think there are any bad ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul4854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that your NYC experience was even more memorable due to your stay her at the Roosevelt. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel is only minutes from Times Square. Perfect for the tourist.The hotel was not the height of luxury but it more than suffices for a short trip to Manhattan.
Pros
Good location for a tourist.
The lobby is impressive.
The bed was big and comfy.
Big tv.


Cons
The room is dated.




Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was memorable thanks to our central location, comfy beds, and grand lobby. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Arrived to find that our 2 rooms were not ready. A very rude and uphelpful receptionist said she would upgrade our room - only to find that the room was smaller and certainly not superior to the room we had booked! They were not prepared to try to put our rooms together and we ended up nowhere near our 2 daughters.
Our daughters' room was stifling and we had to ask for the air-conditioning unit to be repaired every day.
Some upgrade/repair work was being done during our stay - unfortunately this meant that there was drilling and banging at all hours of the day (and night)!
No free Wi-Fi but the business suite on the 2nd floor was useful for booking tickets for Ground Zero - unfortunately the cost to use the Wi-Fi would have been better donated to the 9/11 Memorial Fund.
Only good points - Location: Grand Central/Theatres/Madison and Fifth Avenues. Also BEDs: heavenly after long days walking the streets of NY!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 17th and 18th floors and experienced no street noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyG-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent stay. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights, with it being our first time in New York we upgraded our room two levels above standard and requested a room with a view as the website shows. After travelling all through the night we arrived at 8am tired and in need of a rest, instead we were greeted by a rude lady at reception who said we needed to return at 3pm to check in end of. As requested we returned at 3pm to be greeted by a huge check in line and another rude lady who said our room was still not ready and to come back later!! Thankfully 40mins later a much nicer lady checked us in and offered us a complimentary drink for our wait. The lobby is beautiful and the room was nice, expensive yes but it is New York. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again was it not for the rude reception staff. So it was our last night, we were rudely awoken by numerous phone calls telling us that the water would be turned off during the night, might I add the night before - who cares!! This was followed by a bill over $100 more than anticipated for wifi and a charge for the complimentary drinks on arrival!! The wifi was free with our room package! I had also doubled checked since our arrival that it was included. What a lot of hassle not needed. Oh street noise can be heard in the room. We had 16th floor and no view.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littleknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies that the Roosevelt did not meet your expectations especially regarding staff attitudes. Your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Apparently there is a dearth of hotel rooms in NYC that this nice, central hotel gets away with offering substandard rooms in urgent need for repair and updating at exorbitant prices. Also check in happens at a glacial pace, I counted 26 people waiting in line for check in with only two receptionist on duty.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Gastinau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies that we did not meet your expectations. All of your concerns will be addressed. Again thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,922 reviews
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#234 of 471 in New York City
837 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#401 of 471 in New York City
4,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#354 of 471 in New York City
20,199 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#280 of 471 in New York City
8,245 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#333 of 471 in New York City
9,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $128 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing