We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time when hotels were grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Flower Mound, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A step back in time when hotels were grand!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I traveled frequently to this hotel for business. I loved it! The location is perfect and most of all the interior lobby is majestic. Very historical. The song Auld Lang Syne was first broadcast at the Roosevelt Grill by Guy Lombardo/orchestra and the Tiffany glass that decorates the back of the bar is original. Be sure and look above while in the lobby....the ceilings are gorgeous!!! I just love the whole feeling of this hotel. The rooms are nice. while in NY, i never spend much time in my room. Too much shopping and sight seeing to do. Never had a chance to visit the roof top bar but heard it is fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. You are correct, the song "Auld Lang Sine" was first broadcasted live from our ballroom. We are very happy to hear that your stay was great and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    3,146
    2,100
    1,122
    803
See reviews for
2,476
2,601
345
1,169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I visited Mad 46 last Saturday night. The place was recommended by a friend who visited last year. We check the website for opening times as we wanted to grab a couple of drinks before heading off to see a show. The website said that it did not open unitl 8PM and closed at 2AM therefore we decided to go after the show. Arriving there at 11PM we were told by the gentleman at the lift that closing time was midnight?? He radioed ahead to inform I assume someone upstairs that we were on our way up..... Upon arrival there was nobody there to welcome us and the inside lounge was empty so after waiting a few minutes we went through to the rooftop. There were no seats available outside so we ordered a drink from the bar ($40 for 2 cocktails) and stood at one of the tall tables that were free. At 11.35 a group who were sat next to us left so we decided to sit down and order some more drinks. A moment later we were (quite rudley) told by the waitress that we could not sit there and please return to the bar to get more drinks. When I asked if the table was reserved she replied 'No but you cannot sit here'. Having had no explaination as to why this was the case my partner and I swiftly finished our drinks and left. The website boasts great views and a great atmosphere.....Well all I left with was a bad experience of rude staff and a desire never to return there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleFish2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies for any issues you experienced at our roof top bar MAD46. Rest assured all of your concerns have been noted and will be addressed immediately. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Roosevelt was built in the 1920's when buildings were designed to be as beautiful as they wee functional. The public areas boast tall ceilings, beautiful carpet and a general feel of elegance. The hotel is integrated into an indoor mall and it is, of course, surrounded by some great shopping resources.

My room 1015 was comfortable and pleasing. The desk had decent lighting. The bedding and color scheme in the room were appealing. Although I would have preferred a more modern air conditioning system with a thermostat, the unit provided lots of cold air during a very hot and sticky New York evening.

The hotel offers Starbucks coffee in the morning, 6-11, in one of its main rooms. I did not have the opportunity to sample the hotel's restaurants.

Two things were, however, surprising. First, the bath is old, but a pedestal sink has been installed relatively recently, based on my observation of the sink and the bright white caulking. However, the tub is old and chipped. It needs to be reglazed or better yet replaced. The caulk and surrounding tiles were also worn and tired.

The towels in the bathroom were of the thinner, shorter variety which I am more accustomed to finding at a budget chain, though the toiletry items were of good quality.

Glasses, I finally found on a shelf under the television and was surprised to find paper cups, rather than glass glasses--something I usually find in a higher end hotel.

I still gave the hotel a 4 rating though, as the bed was comfortable, the hotel a pleasant facility and the proximity to Grand Central Station was ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are very happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff help to make your stay memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good Hotel in Excellent Location in New York Rooms are a bit on the small side. Reasonably priced for NYC Hotel staff were great as with a reasonably large group
Bathrooms need an update and breakfast was average
Very close to transport Times Square and attractions

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, our central location and friendly staff are just 2 of our guest's favorite reasons to keep coming back. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel was in a great location but when we arrived the door man broke one of our bags. They had us fill out a very long form reporting the damage. We were told that we would be reimbursed for the cost of the bag, which was irreparable. That was four months ago. Despite repeated calls, as recently as today, where we assured the check was being mailed, we have still not been compensated for our damaged bag.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for the mentioned issues. Rest assured your concerns will be addressed immediately. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while vacationing in NYC. The pros - great location, friendly staff, nicely starched bed linens, comfortable bed. The cons - bathrooms are old, dated and moldy, hallways are noisy, air conditioner is very loud, wifi costs $14 a day and is really slow, no fridge/coffee/tea in room. While we were there the hotel was installing new wiring so the hallways are a mess of wires, lots of workers around, lots of yelling at each other.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators... some rooms face directly onto the bank of 9 elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G2M2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced with noisy workmen. The Roosevelt is currently upgrading the cable wiring. Your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and location can't be beat. Stayed here for only one night with husband and two daughters. I agree that the bathrooms could use a little update but our room (deluxe double) had plenty of space. We were upgraded from a cosy double so I imagine it would have been a little tight without the complimentary upgrade. Had a great time and would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that your stay was great. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,338 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,443 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#309 of 467 in New York City
9,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#297 of 467 in New York City
7,335 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#322 of 467 in New York City
8,691 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
6,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#220 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing