We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging Hotel That Needs Updates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #394 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May. We got this through Priceline and got a great deal for a holiday weekend in NY. The room was very small, with a queen sized bed and only one night stand. There was a chair in the room, but no room for any other furniture (which makes it hard to find a place to put stuff). The bed wasn't bad and the room itself wasn't horrible, just really small. The bathroom, however, was another story. You had to step into the shower, close the door, and get out of the shower to get to the toilet. The shower had super moldy grout and I had to put a towel down to take a shower (didn't want to catch something). The ceiling in the bathroom was falling apart, the wallpaper was coming off, and there was mold.

I understand that this is an old hotel, but some basic maintenance would go a long way. Overall, the location was great, just a short walk to Time Square and Rockefeller. I would stay here again if I got a great deal but I wouldn't go out of my way to choose it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced regarding the maintenance and cleanliness of your room. All of your mentioned concerns will be immediately addressed. Yes, guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially compared to other major cities. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,543 - 4,549 of 9,294 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice, mostly because the deals are good for superior or deluxe rooms. The regular rooms are the size of shoe boxes. Don't do it.

Arriving at the hotel is a demeaning experience. As you struggle to schlepp your luggage out of the cab into the street and onto the curb, the doormen watch with impassive indifference. Then - and this has now happened twice - they trot out the ritual, corporate speak: 'Need any help with your bags, sir?' Box ticked. So now you are supposed to hand over a tip, having done the work yourself. Very New York.

The lobby remains lovely, though now marred by a Starbucks, and mobs people lining up to register. Reception staff are unfailingly kind and polite, however.

Overall, it's an acceptable, mass market hotel, with a few residual echoes of better days.

Room Tip: Don't take a standard room. Be aware that the superior and deluxe rooms vary in size, so check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your past two stays regarding lack of luggage assistance. Your concerns are noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For some reason, the nice girl at the front desk upgraded my room to a suite. It was about the size of a regular hotel room outside of NYC. The room was clean and had everything that's expected. My only complaint is the internet that cost $15, kept going in and out.

Otherwise, it was a great location and worth the rate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiPhiPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. There are rare occasions when we do have rooms/suites available for upgrades, depending on the occupancy. We are happy to hear that your NYC experienced was even more memorable due to our friendly staff and a suite upgrade. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took my son for his first trip to NYC in January, we stayed at The Roosevelt for two nights. Check in was fast, service was great. Literally minutes away (walking) to Times Square and attractions. We got a really great rate on Expedia, well worth the money spent. I loved that the windows opened and we were able to hear the hustle and bustle of the city. Rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable. The only minor complaint was that the elevators were very small and slow. Other than that it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendaLee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that our central location, comfy beds, and friendly staff made your NYC experience memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I picked the Roosevelt because there was a promotion of $153 per night. We had stayed there years ago and thought it was nice. The lobby is very nice and so is the bar, but I think we could find more value for a comparable price elsewhere. Thankfully it was a moderate summer because there was no way to adjust the air and even with reasonable temps, I was warm. The door had about a 2 inch gap which let in a lot of hallway light and every sound out in the hall. There was also no water pressure. Yes, the rooms are small, but it is NY! It is to be expected. Overall, I would stay somewhere else, but wouldn't be devestated if we had to stay there again. Check out all options first.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldexplorer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for the mentioned issues. Rest assure your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies that we did not meet your expectations and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we were in New York in April we stayed for 6 night in this hotel first 3 nights were fine we were enjoying our holiday but on the Saturday night we returned to our hotel tired and wanting our bed went into the bathroom to wash before bed and there it was a huge cockroach I screamed this thing was huge now mind we are 16 floors up I went to see the manager oh yes we got a room change 2 nights refund free breakfast but my refund took 5 weeks because it was sent to the wrong person thanks to Expedia that's another story but when we went to the other room the toilet flooded the bathroom next morning so we never got our free breakfast there was a sand storm in the bath too the reception staff were rude not helpful at all when I asked to see the manager she asked why all I said was I really don't think you want me to say it out loud do you we were on holiday to celebrate birthdays and also because my daughter had beaten stomach cancer as she is tube fed and she could not eat breakfast but things had to be kept clean these rooms were not kept clean so now you might see why I was so angry I love New York.This was my 4th time in New York but this was not a good hotel and i feel your compensation was awful never again so folks i really do not recommend this hotel give it a miss its only the lobby that's lovely the staff are not neither are the rooms.

Room Tip: stay away from this 1 thats my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tartanlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Wow! Our most sincere apologies for any issues your experienced during your stay. ALL of your concerns have been noted and will be addressed immediately. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The descriptions for The Roosevelt made it sound very swanky and the first impression walking into the lobby gives the feel of a posh hotel. Once in the room it is small, with barely any room to move in the bathroom and outdated wall air conditioning that can't keep up with the needs to for a comfortable sleep. The Deluxe double double shows pictures with a seating area but the room barely had space to walk around the bed. One of the beds tipped up if someone sat on the end of the bed.

Room Tip: This hotel is located within walking distance of Times Square and very close to Grand Central Statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially compared to other major cities. However, we are happy to hear that our central location did make your stay more enjoyable. Our apologies that the Roosevelt did no meet your expectations. Your concerns will be addressed. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 470 in New York City
11,823 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#401 of 470 in New York City
4,761 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#211 of 470 in New York City
831 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,925 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 470 in New York City
7,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $91 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing