We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remember, you don't sleep in the lobby...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #379 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Sospel, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Remember, you don't sleep in the lobby...”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have stayed here twice, mostly because the deals are good for superior or deluxe rooms. The regular rooms are the size of shoe boxes. Don't do it.

Arriving at the hotel is a demeaning experience. As you struggle to schlepp your luggage out of the cab into the street and onto the curb, the doormen watch with impassive indifference. Then - and this has now happened twice - they trot out the ritual, corporate speak: 'Need any help with your bags, sir?' Box ticked. So now you are supposed to hand over a tip, having done the work yourself. Very New York.

The lobby remains lovely, though now marred by a Starbucks, and mobs people lining up to register. Reception staff are unfailingly kind and polite, however.

Overall, it's an acceptable, mass market hotel, with a few residual echoes of better days.

Room Tip: Don't take a standard room. Be aware that the superior and deluxe rooms vary in size, so check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any issues you experienced during your past two stays regarding lack of luggage assistance. Your concerns are noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,567
    3,083
    2,023
    1,067
    728
See reviews for
2,368
2,523
331
1,115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For some reason, the nice girl at the front desk upgraded my room to a suite. It was about the size of a regular hotel room outside of NYC. The room was clean and had everything that's expected. My only complaint is the internet that cost $15, kept going in and out.

Otherwise, it was a great location and worth the rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiPhiPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. There are rare occasions when we do have rooms/suites available for upgrades, depending on the occupancy. We are happy to hear that your NYC experienced was even more memorable due to our friendly staff and a suite upgrade. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Took my son for his first trip to NYC in January, we stayed at The Roosevelt for two nights. Check in was fast, service was great. Literally minutes away (walking) to Times Square and attractions. We got a really great rate on Expedia, well worth the money spent. I loved that the windows opened and we were able to hear the hustle and bustle of the city. Rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable. The only minor complaint was that the elevators were very small and slow. Other than that it was a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaLee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that our central location, comfy beds, and friendly staff made your NYC experience memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I picked the Roosevelt because there was a promotion of $153 per night. We had stayed there years ago and thought it was nice. The lobby is very nice and so is the bar, but I think we could find more value for a comparable price elsewhere. Thankfully it was a moderate summer because there was no way to adjust the air and even with reasonable temps, I was warm. The door had about a 2 inch gap which let in a lot of hallway light and every sound out in the hall. There was also no water pressure. Yes, the rooms are small, but it is NY! It is to be expected. Overall, I would stay somewhere else, but wouldn't be devestated if we had to stay there again. Check out all options first.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldexplorer2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for the mentioned issues. Rest assure your concerns will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies that we did not meet your expectations and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

we were in New York in April we stayed for 6 night in this hotel first 3 nights were fine we were enjoying our holiday but on the Saturday night we returned to our hotel tired and wanting our bed went into the bathroom to wash before bed and there it was a huge cockroach I screamed this thing was huge now mind we are 16 floors up I went to see the manager oh yes we got a room change 2 nights refund free breakfast but my refund took 5 weeks because it was sent to the wrong person thanks to Expedia that's another story but when we went to the other room the toilet flooded the bathroom next morning so we never got our free breakfast there was a sand storm in the bath too the reception staff were rude not helpful at all when I asked to see the manager she asked why all I said was I really don't think you want me to say it out loud do you we were on holiday to celebrate birthdays and also because my daughter had beaten stomach cancer as she is tube fed and she could not eat breakfast but things had to be kept clean these rooms were not kept clean so now you might see why I was so angry I love New York.This was my 4th time in New York but this was not a good hotel and i feel your compensation was awful never again so folks i really do not recommend this hotel give it a miss its only the lobby that's lovely the staff are not neither are the rooms.

Room Tip: stay away from this 1 thats my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartanlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Wow! Our most sincere apologies for any issues your experienced during your stay. ALL of your concerns have been noted and will be addressed immediately. Again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The descriptions for The Roosevelt made it sound very swanky and the first impression walking into the lobby gives the feel of a posh hotel. Once in the room it is small, with barely any room to move in the bathroom and outdated wall air conditioning that can't keep up with the needs to for a comfortable sleep. The Deluxe double double shows pictures with a seating area but the room barely had space to walk around the bed. One of the beds tipped up if someone sat on the end of the bed.

Room Tip: This hotel is located within walking distance of Times Square and very close to Grand Central Statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCexecutive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially compared to other major cities. However, we are happy to hear that our central location did make your stay more enjoyable. Our apologies that the Roosevelt did no meet your expectations. Your concerns will be addressed. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great location - 5 mins walk to Grand Central station.

Grand and impressive lobby however reception staff were quite aloof and not very friendly. Answers to queries were very abrupt, as if we were bothering them.

Room was clean, comfy beds and pillows although bathroom was tired looking. Great cleaning service at the beginning of the week (it was nice that we received written thanks from the cleaner for tips left) however towards the end of the week we were rudely woken to loud banging's on our door in the early morning and asked when we wanted the room cleaned. I guess a lie-in was frowned upon - it wasn't even 10am yet. Must have been a change in staff. On our last day, our shuttle to the airport was more than 30 mins late and whilst we waited, we were ignored by concierge staff throughout. Don't think I'm coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies for any service issues you experienced during your most recent stay. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,033 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,978 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#304 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,335 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,001 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing