We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Roosevelt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #371 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Got a great rate by bidding on priceline. When we arrived, I was in awe of the lobby - it was beautiful and grand. They let us check in around noon (way before 4pm check in time). The room they gave us was AWFUL. It was incredibly stuffy and humid inside even though the AC was on - it felt gross. The bathroom had a weird shower (no tub and the drain was in the middle of the bathroom). There was some water by the toilet as well. I called Guest Services immediately and complained. They apologized and gave us another room. They sent someone to out room to give us the new keys. The second room was much better. It felt well ventilated inside and the bathroom was better. I'm only giving this beautiful hotel a Very Good rating because the bathroom was very small and old. I would like to see them update the bathrooms. Overall, however, the hotel is absolutely beautiful. The location is GREAT, it's close to a lot of things but not in a super touristy area. We found the staff to be very nice. Main take away for me was that if you're not satisfied, let the staff know, and they will do all they can to ensure your satisfaction. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: If you're not satisfied with your room, let them know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Months
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our deepest apologies that your first room was unsatisfactory. However, we are happy to hear that our staff was able to resolve the issue. You are correct, if we are made aware of an issue prior to check out, we will do what ever we can to resolve that issue. After all, a happy guest is our goal too. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,532
    3,015
    1,956
    1,027
    700
See reviews for
2,304
2,447
318
1,072
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had an opportunity to stay at the Roosevelt in June. Keep in mind this is one of NY's older properties but the rooms have been refurbished fairly recently. Being an older hotel expect some of the rooms to be a bit smaller but in good condition and updated. Our bathroom was a bit small but OK. Again, remember the property is older so the bathrooms will not be as pristine as a new hotel with some dated tile work but overall clean and very acceptable. The Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Tip for Breakfast, the hotel prices are about $26.00 and if you want something about half the price or less you can cross the road to Grand Central Station and get a full breakfast at the lower level restaurants for about $7,00, alternately there are several small establishments nearby at equally attractive prices.Location of the Hotel is unbeatable, an easy walk to many of the attractions you will want to see.
Overall NY was vibrant, busy, exciting and the people were extremely friendly, on several occasions when we were getting our bearings, a New Yorker would stop and ask if we needed help or directions, what a pleasant surprise this was in a big city.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. You are correct, if one needs a new, modern, sleek hotel, then we are not the hotel for you. However, if your needs require a comfortable, centrally located, and friendly hotel, then the Roosevelt is perfect. Thanks again for your great and honest review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Large, clean room at a great rate on priceline. Bathroom as modern and clean; big comfortable bed. Front desk was helpful and efficient. Great location. If I could get this rate, I'd stay there every time I come to NYC. Loved it, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CGMDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank You for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that your stay was great. Thanks again for your great review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Roosevelt is located in a great central location within walking distance of Time Square, Grand Central, Rockefeller Center and tons of shopping and dining options. It is definitely an old hotel, but it is well kept, and the lobby areas is very inviting and comfortable. Our stay was short (two nights) but it was relaxing and enjoyable. I have spoken to many people who have stayed at the Roosevelt with mixed reviews... and I have found that a key to enjoying your stay is the call to get your reservation rather than booking online. You need to request a room on a higher floor (ours was on 16), and that has a view. We had no issues with major street noise, and our room was spacious and well appointed. Also, when we called to book our room, we got a better deal for a King Deluxe room than was available online.

Room Tip: Call to book your room. Request a room on the upper levels (14 or higher), and for one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POSitiveBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was great. Thanks again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in June, 2013, and I couldn't have been more pleased that we chose this property. First and foremost, the location was incredible. We were able to walk to almost everything that we wanted to see and experience. For the things that were a bit too far to walk, we simply walked the block or two to hop on the subway near Grand Central Station. The gentleman who checked us in was very kind and helpful. I had reserved a room with a queen bed, but when he saw that it was my daughter and I, he put us in a room with two beds, which we really appreciated. Our room was very clean and nice. If there was anything that I wish was different, it would be that our bathroom was a bit larger. It's pretty small, which made getting ready to go somewhere a challenge as only person could really fit in there at a time, with no real countertop to put makeup bags or hair tools on. Aside from that, we were extremely pleased and will most definitely stay here again in the future. Oh, and one thing that was nice that on a day that it was raining pretty hard, the front desk provided us with an umbrella for walking around. A happy customer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We agree, our central location is perfect for sight seeing, shopping, and of course the theatres. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was great and that you will return. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This regal old hotel was exactly what I had hoped for. Clean rooms, close to Central Station and great staff. No coffee maker, and yes, plastic cups. I stayed for 3 days and was given free internet. Its overpriced in comparison to other major Cities, but then welcome to NYC. The room was immaculate, cleaned daily whilst I was out seeing this remarkable City. Ground Zero, Central park, Times Square, Lady Liberty, Empire State, Harlem etc etc etc etc. And the subway was easy to navigate. Just get used to 'Uptown' and 'Downtown' and your halfway there. And you will need to buy a Metro card, then its just swipe and go ('$2.50 per swipe). Enjoy

Room Tip: I had a room with twin queens, so plenty of space for 2 people not sharing a bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our central location, comfy rooms, and friendly staff made your NYC experience even more memorable. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 21st Dec - 28th Dec 2012, we are a family of 5 from Ireland and booked 2 rooms at The Roosevelt through our travel agent Tour America, after reading some of the reviews we were very nervous and decided that worst case scenario all we needed were beds and a bathroom as we would be outdoors mostly. I can honestly say the moment we entered the lobby we were blown away, it is so classy & beautiful, huge Christmas tree and friendly staff, we requested quiet rooms are they were just that, our rooms on the fifth floor were a good size and very comfortable even considering 3 teenagers sharing. The location was excellent 2 mins walk from 5th avenue, the doorman always on hand with information and in the evenings it was lovely to come back to a refreshed room. If you are in any doubt I honestly think that sometimes weather, travel companions, stresses in modern life or unhappiness can affect you're outlook on holiday and this can sometimes translate into a negative review - we hand on heart would book again.

Room Tip: ask for quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fionain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
WOW! Thank you for your great review. Yes, Christmas time at the Roosevelt and NYC is magical. Our lobby is so beautifully decorated during the holidays it looks like a movie set from yesteryear. Our guests are simply enchanted. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,791 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,704 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#289 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#311 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,114 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#308 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8,983 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#315 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#212 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing