We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-Style Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #381 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Old-Style Comfort”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful solid, quiet building; good support staff service; good central location for theater, shopping, sightseeing. Found great price online; enjoyed the elegance and old-world opulence of this historic early 1900s grand hotel.

Room Tip: Being courteous to the staff goes a long way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshacq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff made your NYC experience memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,580
    3,106
    2,047
    1,081
    757
See reviews for
2,400
2,549
337
1,135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautiful lobby which reminds you of the grand hotels of yesteryear. Hotel has been remodeled. Room size was adequate and clean. Bathroom was a little small. Would definitely stay again. Good value. Great location in the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that your stay was great and that you will return. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Roosevelt. I had read a few negative reviews so I was on guard for anything less than a pleasant experience. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful whenever we needed anything. The room was small but comfortable and very clean. I will stay at the Roosevelt again next time I am in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmwilsonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that your overall stay was great and that you will stay with us again when you visit NYC. Thanks again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Booked a stay for my family (2 adults and two children 15 and 11) to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in NY. Had a quick and pleasant check-in in, baggage was handled very good. Great size of the double room. Cleanliness superb. The two beds were very comfortable, no problems with noise. Overall the room and the hotel were great value for the location. We will definitely come back.

Last but not least: almost never mentioned but the service and room cleaning personnel are very very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_B_NYC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Happy Anniversary! Its great to hear that your stay was even more memorable due to your comfortable accommodations and our friendly staff. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Clean room, good bed, good products. Bathroom was very small, one storage shelf that was not level so everything kept falling off. Individual staff members were great, others did the bare minimum. Certainly a wonderful central location just not quite what it could be with a little more effort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues your experienced during your most recent stay, however, we do see that your overall experience was good. Thanks again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

$ 200/night near Times Square. Plus: Cost, location, moderately clean, very helpful concierge and friendly staff, borrowed free umbrellas during storm.
Minus: elevators have a mind of their own, no water pressure, dirty carpet, scratchy sheets, horribly uncomfortable mattress (really, got no sleep), window was so filthy you couldn't see out it.
Good for a place to crash 1 night, and that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlmom30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies for any issues you experienced during your most recent visit. All of your concerns have been noted and will be immediately addressed. Again our apologies and thanks for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location right by Grand Central Station. Easily can walk to from subway.
Stayed for two nights and hotel was busy second night with a wedding party. Room was clean and very comfortable. Hotel Bar was busy at night and had Starbucks coffee in the morning. Very convenient location and very clean hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a getaway. The staff is very friendly and everyone is helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dingram4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments and review. We are happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff help to make your stay memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
11,090 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,543 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#311 of 468 in New York City
9,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#318 of 468 in New York City
8,467 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,130 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 468 in New York City
4,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#215 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing