We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #397 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this hotel is not the Ritz. The lobby is nice, but the rooms are showing some ware. We did have a small problem with the toilet, but they sent someone right up. I have heard they are remodeling, and would like to stay again. The lobby bar is a nice place to grab a drink, and the lobby has been redone and looks good. The front desk staff was nice (especially if you tip) and the experience a good one. It is also a great hotel close to Grand Central, so you can get right on the subway. Twice now I have stayed in the double double, but I believe it was the deluxe, because the room was quite a nice size. I did see in the "cozy" one queen, and there is barely room for the bed, so upgrading is worth it.

Room Tip: It's always fun to be up high, but try to get a deluxe, there is a LOT more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments and continued business. Its great to hear from repeat guests and we see that you do love our loctaion and friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,803 - 4,809 of 9,003 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I haven't stayed at the Roosevelt in 10 years or so -until this past weekend. The good news is, it is still as wonderful as we remember! The staff is very friendly, the rooms clean and the bed very comfortable. The rooms (although small) are not too cramped as in some other NYC hotels. We love the location; close to everything but not too close to the Times Square tourist madness.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeBee72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments. We are happy to have you retrun and its wonderful to hear that our friendly staff, central location, and clean rooms help make this visit memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

IT fascinates me that American reviewers are by far the most critical on Trip Advisor, yet I am yet to stay in a really good hotel in the US.

The Bad - the room was small, the A/c unit on the floor and so loud it was pretty much unusable. The bathroom was old, and decor generally desperately in need of a makeover. The good - staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. At the end of the day, that surely is pretty much all that matter on a brief stay in Manhatten - I slept ok and was close to everything. The walk to Central Park to about 20 minutes, the walk to Grand Central not even 2. I would go back for the location and the location alone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeagullSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. Yes, guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially compared to other major cities. We are very happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff help make your stay memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had 4 girls on this trip to NYC to shop for wedding dresses in November, 2012. We stayed Thursday-Sunday. The service at the hotel was great, especially the bellmen, who were very helpful when it came to storing our luggage before and after checkout; but they also gave excellent recommendations for restaurants & even hooked us up with some deals! They were awesome! The hotel bar in the lobby area is great. The food was wonderful and the service was exceptional there, too. One of the best chicken quesedillas I've ever had! Our only complaint is that the TV connection in the room was bad and kept going in and out and making awful noises; but we were only watching at night & while getting ready, so it was not that big of a deal. Also, all of our room keys stopped working one evening and caused us to have to move our dinner reservation to later. While security was pretty efficient in getting up there and letting us in the room, they never sent us new keys. Instead, we had to stop by the front desk to get them when we got back from dinner. Overall it was a great experience. Great deal for the price. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SC_traveler5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. WOW! Sounds as if your "GIRLS TRIP" was a major success. We are so happy that our central location and great staff help make your stay memorable. You are correct, our lobby lounge (Madison Club) has fantastic service, food, cocktails, and a very festive enviroment. Our apologies for any issues with your room keys. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My just completed stay at the Roosevelt was in a King Deluxe room which lacked bedside table and lamp on one side so you could not read or have a place to put items (e.g., water, clock, etc.). Other than a desk chair there was no where else to sit, and there was no chest in which to place clothing after unpacking. Do not be mislead by the room photos on the website. Overall the hotel is in need of significant renovation, and I could not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies if the size of your room caught you off-guard. Guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially compared to other major cities. However, I see by your ratings that your did enjoy our central location, staff, and overall cleanliness. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am writing my second post in two nights and I will also place a post on trip advisor. I am on my third room and I have only spent 1 night. The condition of the rooms from a maintenance and housekeeping standpoint has been inexcusable. I spoke with Elsa this am who was the hotel manager and I explained the challenges i have had had and showed her the photos from the previous rooms 940 and 1104 and she moved me again which was fine. Upon my return to the hotel today I found hair on the bed next to my pillow, hair on the bathroom floor and wall, and mold around the soap dish....I just do not understand how these things get missed...I work in the hotel industry and I can say there is a lack of attention from a preventative maintenance standpoint and a lack of standardized cleaning procedures from housekeeping. Elsa comped last night when I reported the issues in the new room but the issues reported should never had to result in a comp. I unfortunately will look for another hotel the next visit to NYC....

Room Tip: Not sure how to help here....3 rooms in 1 day....not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phxaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our most sincere apologies for the mention issues you experienced during your stay. We are happy to hear that our manager did try to resolve the issues mention. Unfortunately, it does not sound as if your were statisfied. Rest assure we do take your concerns seriously and they have been addressed. Again, our deepest apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked into the Roosevelt for the 25th-29th October 2012. However the Hurricane arrived and we had to extend our say until the 3rd November as there were no flights.
The hotel were wonderful, they sympathised with our predicament and offered us a very attractive rate. They could have taken advantage and they did'nt. The staff were very helpful particularly Annie in the restaurant who must have been very stressed at times particularly when she tried to accommodate guests for meals late on Sunday night when the hurricane struck. Tomaz |(the waiter) also deserves a special mention.for all his help. We had a wonderful stay and hope to come back another time. I have already recommended the hotel to colleagues where I work. Thank you to The Roosevelt Hotel and staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. Yes it was so amazing to see guests and staff coming together and making the best of a very difficult situation known as Hurrican Sandy. Thank you for recognizing our amazing staff's hard work and compassion. Thanks again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 469 in New York City
11,593 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,264 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#396 of 469 in New York City
4,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 469 in New York City
4,804 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#391 of 469 in New York City
6,556 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Mela
Hotel Mela
#273 of 469 in New York City
4,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $143 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing