We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less Than Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #381 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Less Than Adequate”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My just completed stay at the Roosevelt was in a King Deluxe room which lacked bedside table and lamp on one side so you could not read or have a place to put items (e.g., water, clock, etc.). Other than a desk chair there was no where else to sit, and there was no chest in which to place clothing after unpacking. Do not be mislead by the room photos on the website. Overall the hotel is in need of significant renovation, and I could not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. Our apologies if the size of your room caught you off-guard. Guest rooms in NYC tend to be on the cozy side especially compared to other major cities. However, I see by your ratings that your did enjoy our central location, staff, and overall cleanliness. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    3,103
    2,045
    1,080
    757
See reviews for
2,397
2,548
337
1,133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I am writing my second post in two nights and I will also place a post on trip advisor. I am on my third room and I have only spent 1 night. The condition of the rooms from a maintenance and housekeeping standpoint has been inexcusable. I spoke with Elsa this am who was the hotel manager and I explained the challenges i have had had and showed her the photos from the previous rooms 940 and 1104 and she moved me again which was fine. Upon my return to the hotel today I found hair on the bed next to my pillow, hair on the bathroom floor and wall, and mold around the soap dish....I just do not understand how these things get missed...I work in the hotel industry and I can say there is a lack of attention from a preventative maintenance standpoint and a lack of standardized cleaning procedures from housekeeping. Elsa comped last night when I reported the issues in the new room but the issues reported should never had to result in a comp. I unfortunately will look for another hotel the next visit to NYC....

Room Tip: Not sure how to help here....3 rooms in 1 day....not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phxaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Our most sincere apologies for the mention issues you experienced during your stay. We are happy to hear that our manager did try to resolve the issues mention. Unfortunately, it does not sound as if your were statisfied. Rest assure we do take your concerns seriously and they have been addressed. Again, our deepest apologies and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked into the Roosevelt for the 25th-29th October 2012. However the Hurricane arrived and we had to extend our say until the 3rd November as there were no flights.
The hotel were wonderful, they sympathised with our predicament and offered us a very attractive rate. They could have taken advantage and they did'nt. The staff were very helpful particularly Annie in the restaurant who must have been very stressed at times particularly when she tried to accommodate guests for meals late on Sunday night when the hurricane struck. Tomaz |(the waiter) also deserves a special mention.for all his help. We had a wonderful stay and hope to come back another time. I have already recommended the hotel to colleagues where I work. Thank you to The Roosevelt Hotel and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes it was so amazing to see guests and staff coming together and making the best of a very difficult situation known as Hurrican Sandy. Thank you for recognizing our amazing staff's hard work and compassion. Thanks again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having read reviews of the Roosevelt on this site I was somewhat concerned that my first trip to NY would be a disappointment however I was pleasantly surprised. The public areas were very grand. Yes the bedrooms were small but well furnished with very comfy beds- great after walking all day. The bathrooms are small but clean- although we also noticed more than the odd rogue hair! Our main complaint was that the aircon is noisy and couldn't be turned off. We were there during Hurricane Sandy and I would commend staff for their hard work in trying to keep things going in difficult circumstances, whilst working very long hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. Yes Hurrican Sandy was extremely challenging to all of NYC as well as our staff and guests. We are very proud of our dedicated staff for all their long hours (double and triple shifts) as to ensure our guest's needs were met. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at The Roosevelt this past August and had a great great time! A fantastic location - it was so nice to be able to go back to the hotel for a shower and a change and then continue... Great and helpful staff - Wendy at the front desk, just love her. The Concierge with his helpful suggestions and information, he is a true wikipedia! Krishna at the front door, what a sweet helpful man!
The Room was totally fine - bathroom a bit outdated but clean - the bar in the lounge was a perfect hangout, the rooftop bar just amazing... I would certainly absolutely most definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: just trust the front desk staff! It worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
WOW! Thank you for such an amanazing review. We are so happy that our central location, friendly staff, and our roof top lounge (MAD46) help make your NYC vacation memorable. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent five nights at the Roosevelt hotel in mid October. Two adults and two kids (8 and 6). Great start when we checked in and the kids were given teddy bears. The room, a double double was tight with 4 suitcases, but we only slept there anyway! Had a Starbucks in the foyer which was good for a quick breakfast. Had one breakfast in the restaurant, very nice buffet. Great service all round. A few buildings from Grand Central station was handy, and would recommend Blake & Todds over the road for breaky too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We are so happy to hear that our central location and friendly staff help make your NYC trip memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very helpful staff. We got an upgrade to our room, possibly because we arrived in the aftermath of hurricane Sandy. Room was decently sized with the requisite amenities. Large photo over the bed of the lobby of the hotel back in the day. A big improvement over the usual hotel art. Elevators were quick and we had very few delays waiting for one. Breakfast item prices were pretty high. It was easier to run across the street to a little coffee shop. It was worth the price and we'd go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTWRUBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that our helpful and friendly staff help make your stay memorable. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,079 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,457 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#320 of 468 in New York City
8,447 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#296 of 468 in New York City
7,115 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#140 of 468 in New York City
4,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1013
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,015 newly renovated guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambience in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing