We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #392 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for five nights with my husband and two month old daughter. My parents had stayed here about one year before us and recommended it for location. Close to double decker bus tour stops, grand central station, central park, times square, shopping, etc. Hotel restaurant was closed for a few days due to failing health inspection. Room wasn't cleaned until after 4pm on one occasion (after asking several times to have it cleaned). Concierge wasn't always helpful or friendly. The price was right and the location perfect for us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomerOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,294 - 5,300 of 9,489 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several prior times and had been satisfied - great location and great lobby. However, our stay last weekend was not good. The sheets were torn and the bathroom was dirty. We reported this to the front desk who said it would be handled. When we got back to the room that evening we found that it wasn't. We complained and they sent a defensive housekeeping supervisor to our room. She offered to bring in the cleaners at 8 p.m. We declined as we were tired. The next morning we reported this interaction to the front desk clerk who explained to us that there were indeed problems with housekeeping in this hotel and that housekeeping management was defensive. Also, they had cranked up the air conditioning for no reason for our second night and it took forever to get the room under control.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. Our most sincere apologies that your room was not up to standards. More importantly, we apologize for any further issues your encountered with our housekeeping staff. Rest assure your concerns will be immediately adressed. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A three night stay in The Roosevelt hotel whilst watching springsteen concerts- the room was fine but i would say the hotel is more 3 and half stars rather four- the rest of the hotel doesn't live up to the grand foyer- staff were helpful and best of all the hotel is well located- Grand Central Station is just yards away- and Times Square and Rockefeller centre only ten minutes walk away- there is easy access to metro lines- all in all well worth staying at for the location alone and we'll stay there again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingsley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy to hear that the Roosevelt Hotel was a memorable part of your Springsteen concert adventure. Your are correct! Our central location is amazing. Thanks again for your valuable feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel the weekend of Sept. 22nd, 2012. After reading some of the "negative " reviews, I was a bit apprehensive about what our experience would be. I now wonder if those reviews were really about the same hotel in which we stayed. Everything was great-- it couldn't have been nicer. The rooms were very attractive, quiet, and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The carpeting in both the room and hallways looked brand new. The bathroom was bright and clean and a good size.

Every employee we came in contact with was friendly, efficient, and helpful. The lobby and public spaces are beautiful. The location can't be beat. It's a short walk to St. Patrick's, Rockefeller Center, Times Square, and shopping. On Sunday we walked to Central Park from the hotel and it seemed very easy. Going to the Staten Island Ferry was simple by Taxi-- there were plenty of cabs waiting right outside the door.

All in all, we were very pleased with the Roosevelt Hotel and would recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. You are correct! Our central location can not be beat. The Roosevelt is in the middle of everything. We are so happy that our friendly staff and beautiful lobby made your stay memorable. Thanks agin for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Classic hotel, in a great location close to Grand Central. Was able to get a great deal through Hotwire. I was pleasantly surprised to see that my allotted room was large and spacious, quite unlike most NY hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadhusudanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. We are very pleased to hear that our central location made your stay in NYC memorable. Thanks for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights this past weekend. We got a great deal on a last minute website (one that you don't know the name of the hotel you are booking). The location is great. Right between a slew of subway lines (near GCT and Rock Center). The lobby is a grand old beauty... with shimmering chandeliers and marble fixtures. The hotel bar is also cozy and feels like you are back in time.

Okay, the rooms. The room we had was obviously redone recently, a two-queen bedroom. The beds were quite comfy, no complaints there! The bathroom wasn't as nice as I would expect for a four-star property (by the website's standards). Usually, you have some nice soaps, etc. These were just, okay. The TV was a good sized flat screen, which I come to expect these days. We didn't use any of the restaurants or room service, so I cannot comment on those. As far as any comments saying that the staff is rude.... I didn't come across any of that. On the contrary, everyone was very nice. Perhaps the woodchucks that are posting those, don't understand how NYC works. Tipping gets you a lot further that not tipping. We got into our room four hours early because a $5 bill between your ID and credit card to the desk, goes a long way. Keep that in mind folks!

Saying that, I might return to this hotel again in the future, if the price point is the same. Otherwise, I don't think I would be paying more. If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, that's reasonably priced... this is definitely one to consider.

Room Tip: In NY, the rule of thumb is the higher the better... less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alinalbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments and review. We are so happy that our grand lobby, newly updated sleeping rooms, central location and friendly staff made your stay memorable. Thanks for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is comfortable and convenient, only two blocks from Times Square and the theatre district, easy access to mid-town sights, and within walking distance of Central Park, the United nations. And five minutes from Grand Central Station. The staff are friendly and helpful (for the most part). While the building is old, and somewhat dated, it is clean, and well-run.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Guest Relations Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Wow, Thank you for a nice review. We could not have said it better regarding our central location. Thanks again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#279 of 471 in New York City
11,934 reviews
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#245 of 471 in New York City
840 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 471 in New York City
4,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,232 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#278 of 471 in New York City
8,268 reviews
Midtown
Grand Hyatt New York
Grand Hyatt New York
#333 of 471 in New York City
9,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#223 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing