We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful. Historical building with moden amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #395 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Roosevelt. I traveled with my mother (who has mobility issues) and my six year old son. The hotel is literally around the corner from Grand Cental station so navigating the city was very easy. The hotel is a beautiful historic building. It has been moderized with wi-fi and other modern amenities. We didn't spend much time in the room but each evening when we returned we were so glad to be able to relax in such a beautiful setting. We had a room with 2 double beds, it was big for NY but slightly smaller than average for other parts of the country. Overall it was very comfortable even with three people in the room. We were defineately on a budget and would never have afforded someplace so nice if we hadn't gotten a great discount from their Facebook site. I found the quality and cleanliness to be comparable with hotels I've spent $190/ night on in Atlanta. I would stay here again in a New York minute.

Room Tip: Facebook friend them; discounts every Friday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtugglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,807 - 5,813 of 9,278 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

Lots of little things. Room was too hot and stuffy. Open windows and you get all the city noise, close it and you suffocate. The elevator waiting area was very hot too...we figured it was the low chandelier lights. Elevators were very slow so waiting was long. Hotel was incredibly busy...so kind of choir competition with lots of young kids. The front desk staff was very helpful and so was the consierge but the bell men wouldn't hold a door open for all the tea in China. I struggled with my large wheeled bag and they didn't lift a finger. The lounge staff was less than attentive...i had to ask for every cocktail and we spent almost $400 one evening so thats a lot of askin'. All in all, l'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookgirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Nice lobby. That's about it. The rooms are very austere, with worn walls bedding and run down fixtures in the bathroom. In fact our shower head wasn't working the entire time despite service requests. As an example, the chair in our room was one of those cheap conference chairs and the tv was an old tube model with a green picture.


The elevators can take 15 minutes to arrive at the proper floor.

Great location is about all I can say

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txjhwk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Just wanted to let you know that we are currently going through a guestroom upgrade that will include a new look and new furnishing to our current room. The upgrade is due to be completed by early 2012 and we hope to have you back to see our new product!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Just back from a city break in New York staying at the Roosevelt Hotel. Despite reading other reviews we were still surprised at how small the hotel room felt, but once we "moved in" we discovered it was more than adequate and the bed oh so comfortable which, after walking, walking and more walking, is the most important aspect of any stop in New York. The amount of time spent in the room was minimal as there are so many other things to see and do. The rooms were spotless and serviced everyday and reception staff more than helpful. We only had breakfast in the hotel one morning and it was buffet style and very good, although a little bit expensive we felt it was worth every penny.
The location of the hotel is perfect, just a couple of blocks from Times Square, the shops and well....... just about everywhere. Would definately go back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlipFlopHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad you enjoyed our bedding after a long day of sightseeing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Great location!! I love Manhattan, and this hotel, being on Madison Ave, is a block from 5th Ave, a couple short blocks to Grand Central, etc. It's a lively area of businesses and shops, without the over the top commercial business of iconic Times Sq--a fun place to visit but i wouldn't want to emerge into it every day!

The lobby of The Roosevelt is magnificent. Enter from t he 45th St side, walk up the carpeted steps to the lobby, look behind and up you to the sky-pained ceiling. They may use cinnamon scent infuser-- it smelled warm and spicy inside. It is the perfect classic, NYC hotel lobby--elegant and far more intimate (IMHO) than even the Waldorf Astoria's , or Barclay's (where i stayed a few days later). Chekcing in with the friendly and courteous front desk people was easy and efficient.

The public areas--lobby, elevators, hallways,--were always kept immaculately clean.

Rooms: slowly but surely being upgraded. The room i had on the 14th floor was not upgraded yet, but the bed was comfortable, and the flat screen TV worked just fine. The room is Manhattan size--small but adequate, and with all the room i needed to relax. I loved being there after a day in the city. Bathrooom is quite small,, but the shower was hot and strong. You can tell some upgrades are in order: there were some recently repaired areas on the ceiling moulding. Of more importance was that the room and bathroom were always clean. The housekeeping staff were professional and pleasant.Marie from the Dominican Republic, who was in charge of my room's wing, always had a friendly morning greeting.

It's hard to describe exactly j what is special about this famous old hotel. I've stayed in much nicer and larger looking rooms, but the feeling in the room is of history and cosiness. And that lobby...!! Wow!!!

Upon return home, I was watching an episode of "Mad Men" when his wife has kicked him out, Don Draper tells his secretary, "I'll be at the Roosevelt." So will I , next time in NYC!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooseveltnyc, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Wow! What a great review. We appreciate it and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

The Roosevelt is a lovely old hotel. I've stayed at many hotels in NYC and expected the rooms to be the same usual small closet room. I was surprised. Room was larger, bed was super comfortable (looked like a new mattress) and the location was great. View from my room wasn't the best but I wasn't in the room much. Front desk and coffee bar staff were quite nice. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharvi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This was a great choice. Superb location by Grand Central and Madison and no more than 10 minutes walk to Times Square and Broadway. The lobby and reception area is impressive. All the staff were friendly and efficient. The room was compact, but well equipped, very comfortable, and reasonably quiet given the city centre location.Cleaning was outstanding. Two small reservations: the rate for internet access in the business centre was expensive; the buffet breakfast was adequate but unimaginative (there are better options across the road).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ga297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 470 in New York City
11,813 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#402 of 470 in New York City
4,749 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 470 in New York City
4,920 reviews
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#299 of 470 in New York City
7,961 reviews
Midtown
The Gotham Hotel
The Gotham Hotel
#215 of 470 in New York City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 45 East 45th Street at Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1025
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a classic New York City hotel experience with the finest contemporary amenities, The Roosevelt Hotel offers 1,025 guestrooms and suites. Opened in 1924 at the height of the Jazz Age, the "Grand Dame of Madison Avenue" continues to impress guests in its prime location in midtown Manhattan. The Roosevelt is the perfect combination of classical and modern creating a relaxing ambiance in the city that never sleeps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel New York City
Roosevelt Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing