We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,373)
Filter reviews
4,373 results
Traveler rating
3,604
643
93
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,604
643
93
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese park avenue new york small balcony continental breakfast every evening flatiron district rooftop garden bagels union square king suite hard boiled eggs boutique hotel turn down service fresh fruit shake shack great boutique
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 4,373 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

NYC has so many hotel and accomodation choices that it can be overwhelming. After much research we ended up at the Giraffe based largely on its consistently good reviews - and we can now happily add to those. From before we checked in (they helped us out minding bags before check in) to after we left (returning important documents to us that had been inadvertently left behind in a safe) the service was exceptional. In particular we want to mention Gabrielle who looked after us exceptionally (and many other guests!) at the great breakfast and wine and cheese hour each day - both of which are part of the room rate. The rooms themselves are a good size and impeccably clean. There is a terrific rooftop area to sit and enjoy some quiet time (or a cocktail). Overall a great mid-size hotel slightly downtown (so less crowded than midtown).

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed the hotel. Didn't get to take advantage of the breakfast or wine time as much as we'd hoped, but that's ok. It was still nice to have the option. Room was cozy, staff was friendly, comfortable bed!

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here recently and can't say enough about this warm and welcoming hotel. The rooms, while small, are well appointed and the bedding is terrific. The lobby has a wonderful feel to it and the free morning coffee/breakfast buffet and evening happy hour (with a terrific pianist to boot) fosters a sense of openness and friendliness among the guests. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that fronts Park Avenue South. The rooms facing 26th Street can be understandable darker.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Terrific location in the Big Apple and all the charm of a small, boutique hotel. The attentive, friendly staff attended to my every request and many questions. Complementary amenities: a generous Continental breakfast with helpful staff, wine cheese and snack buffet in the evening, cookies and beverages available in the comfortable lobby all the time, bottles of water in the room, and turn down service at night. My double room was spacious, clean, and beautifully furnished with large windows opening to a Juliet balcony.

Room Tip: Noisy construction on the corner of 26th & Lexington started early. Maybe a room facing Park Ave would be better.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DIANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pros:Great location, central to everything we wanted to do. Breakfast was nice as well as evening snacks although we rarely made it back in time for that. Hotel was quiet with the exception of demo going om starting at 7:00 am but can’t blame the hotel for that. Great front desk and breakfast staff. Always friendly and helpful. Cons: We had a king suite. Nice sized rooms but very dim lighting made for a semi claustrophobic week. Also, our room was oddly damp. We thought it was due to the extreme humidity and rain but the last night our sheets were actauuly wet. Our books and things were soggy in the morning. We reported it to the front desk upon checkout so hopefully the air conditioning was fixed for the next guest.

Room Tip: Maybe get a balcony room-there might be more light?
Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank greg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews