We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendliness and Warmth in the Snowstorm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendliness and Warmth in the Snowstorm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

We keep coming back to the Giraffe every time we visit New York. The extra goodies like the complimentary breakfast, the evening wine and munchies, pianist in the lobby, and chocolates on the pillows don't hurt either. This time we ended up staying an extra day because of the snowstorm that cancelled our flight. The Giraffe was happy to extend our stay at the low rate we'd been given on a pre-pay basis a month earlier. The neighborhood is off the beaten path, which for us is a bonus. The restaurants within walking distance are great--Blue Smoke, Les Halles, Artisanal, and Gramercy Tavern are our favorites. The hotel also offers room service from Park Ave. Bistro and Dos Caminos, which are right next door. Rooms are a good size, by NY standards, with small balconies and motorized window shades. Decor is modern, perhaps needing a little updating here and there, but generally pleasing. Everything is clean and our rooms have always been serviced in a timely manner. Questions and requests to the desk are always dealth with in a friendly and prompt manner. I love this place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanneEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,731
    561
    78
    18
    10
See reviews for
980
1,347
172
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

Lovely, quiet rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Complimentary breakfast buffet and evening wine and cheese in the beautiful lobby. Pianist for evening reception. Neighborhood full of great ethnic restaurants. Far enough away from midtown rush, but still convenient to all attractions.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravlr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

we were looking for a clean hotel at a good value for a quick overnight to visit our daughter in graduate school downtown. We got that and more. Smiling helpful staff, a beautiful good sized (by NY standards) room, nice location..... even a tiny balcony! Very good value, considering all the free amenities.... wine and cheese from 5-8 PM (the staff volunteered happily that our daughter was welcome to join us!) free bottled water in the room, and a nice continental breakfast. We didn't really take advantage of the breakfast, but it looked great and plentiful. Comfortable bed. A coffee pot in the room would be nice, but that is serious nitpicking. We are looking forward to returning when the roof garden is open.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiSu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

I will try though. This trip was a Christmas gift for my husband, due to a truly horrible January we were afraid we would have to cancel. That being said, it was really a treat to leave all the stress behind. From the moment you walk through the door you are made to feel extremely welcome from all of the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone, is polite and welcoming. They look you in the eyes and ask after your day and is there anything they can do for you. I mention the "look you in the eye" part because there are plenty of places you go that the staff will avoid eye contact for fear that you may actually expect them to do something for you. Our room was on the second floor, and no we were NEVER bothered with street noise or any other noise. It was beautifully decorated and clean. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a baby. The breakfast has plenty of choices and the staff is very helpful. Usually, you have to toast your own bagel then either make two or three trips to your table or perform some circus juggling act to get your breakfast and coffee to your table. Not here, they will toast your bagel for you while you get your other items, make your coffee for you and bring it all to your table for you. While these may seem like little things, I have always thought it was the little things that make things special. I absolutely loved staying here and while I do not get to come to the city often, I will be back no doubt about it. Thank you to all the staff for a great trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tannedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

Great hotel. We've stayed in many, many New York hotels, and this ranks near the top, especially if you are looking for something small, friendly and good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

This is a great boutique hotel. The price was right, the rooms are beautiful with high ceilings, nice linens, great service and perfect location. I'm looking forward to staying here on my next trip to NY.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

The management has thought of everything from the complimentary European style breakfast and wine and cheese buffets to the coffee and tea available all day. Great location, great service, highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTVNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 464 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing