We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel on Park Ave.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2009

No-frills luxury boutique hotel with a nice location on Park Ave in the 20's. Free continental breakfast in the AM. Fair amount of street noise even on higher-floor rooms, but nothing unbearable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WNY15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,256 - 3,262 of 3,999 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2009

At over $500 a night I thought we were getting more than is truly on offer. All the hotel staff were friendly, courteous and professional at all times - they know how to treat everybody. and I would say that the staff are the hotel's best asset.

The lobby is roomy and comfortable, and they have evening piano music with complimentary cheese & wine from 17:00 - 20:00. It is a pleasant way to spend and hour or so.

Breakfast is simple but does not vary. Complimentary juice, cakes/breads, cereals and fruit, and coffee & tea are available.

The website talks up the restaurants but it is not so clear that two of the three are neighbouring the hotel, not owned or run by it - nor any direct access through the internal door. The third, while claiming a Michelin star, is uptown near Times Square. Room service is always available but the one hot meal we ordered was served on cold plates (and obviously is brought in from two doors down).

The bedroom was nice enough, with two queen-size beds, and plenty of towels in the bathroom. No tea or coffee-making facilities in the room, although there is a well stocked mini-bar.

Location-wise, it's a fair trot to the hotspots but this means it is a lot quieter. The best option is to get a Metrocard and use the subways, which are only 2 or 3 blocks in each direction.

As this was a big treat for the family to stay in Manhattan, I really wanted to love this hotel but I was left feeling rather disappointed as it offers so little for so much money. I took hours looking at dozens of hotels before choosing Hotel Giraffe but, despite the quality of the staff (which was the main reason I picked it), I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyBritishFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Having stayed at The Library Hotel with my husband it was time to explore NY as part of a girls Christmas weekend - the Library didn't have twin rooms so that's why we booked the Giraffe. Similar service, environment and standards but more suitable for a friends stay.

Fair to say there were a few niggles with our room, the TV and DVD in particular BUT they didn't matter so much with the standard of service overshadowing any little hiccup. Edward (we think that was his name, young blonde, clean shaven guy on reception) went out of his way to sort things out, help us with directions, advice about a good wine shop, where to find 'Miracle on 34th St' DVD (believe me, not an easy task in NY at Christmas time) and any other questions we had. He in particular made us feel welcome and valued as a customer - hotel giraffe he should get a raise!.

The beds were very commfortable, the rooms tasteful and there was a homely personal feeling to the hotel. Breakfast was excellent and the added cheese and wine evenings with a pianist playing in the background really added an indulgent feeling to our stay.

The rooftop bar is closed seasonally and in room dining is supplied by next door restaurants - we ate at the restaurant and were impressed. The hotel also have a selection of carry out menus with delivery to your room accommodated.

With regular stays in New York, I will likely stay at the HKH hotels. Of choice, the Library is better than the Giraffe for a couple, however, for friends in need of a twin, more spacious room then the Giraffe gets our vote.

Thank you Giraffe staff you really add the edge to this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank secret-agent-0021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

When the hotel called me the day before, saying there was a problem with the double room I reserved, I thought this was the beginning of trouble. I couldn't have been more wrong. My sister and I wanted to do an overnight in the city and the hotel choice was based on our needs: atmosphere, good service, complimentary breakfast. We were not interested in a gym, though Hotel Giraffe has a courtesey agreement the NY Sports Club a couple of blocks down. We also did not need a restaurant attached to the Hotel, since we wanted to explore the city's many choices.
We were able to check our bags early on Saturday morning before check in and enjoy their breakfast served in the lobby. Hotel Giraffe provided us with a Cal King Room on the top floor. Later when we checked in they sent up a complimentary bottle of wine because of the unavailabity of the original room we booked.
The complimentary wine and cheese was a great starter for our evening plans. My daughther and her boyfriend joined us for this at no extra charge.
The next morning, we enjoyed our leisurely breakfast before we explored the city again. After we checked out, we were able to leave our bags there until we were ready to leave the city.
The wonderful service made our trip....even though the room was a bit pricey, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Stayed here for our honeymoon, beautiful hotel, lovely rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Continental breakfast got you off to a great start each day, and the wine and cheese reception got you in the mood for going out at night.

Most main attractions are well within walking distance but for those that are not, there are subway stations very near by.

Would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joppa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

The hotel is conveniently situated at a great location on Park Avenue with access to good hotels. I loved the Indian hotels next door particularly! The customer and room service staff were excellent!! really fast delivery of service and resolution of any queries. The room is spacious enough and quite comfortable. I have a carpet fetish and the carpet here was extremely CLEAN!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madd24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

This is a great hotel, good location if you take the subways (Great way to travel once you figure them out). The free breakfast in the morning and coffee all day was great. The service was outstanding as well, the room was a good size and the maids did a great job. It was really different and fun to stay at a small hotel as this one. Most of the staff did a great job of making our stay a great one. The free internet and turndown service nightly was great as well.

Only complaint is that Lee at the front desk needs to take better care of administrative requests when asked to by the guests to take care of billing issues when traveling for business. I really think he didn't because he didn't think we were good enough to be staying at this hotel and that really bothered me. The front desk staff needs to treat normal looking people just the same as they do the snooty ones that stay at the hotel because we got the feeling several times the staff didn't think we were good enough to stay there because we were dressed for the conditions outside (20 degrees with blowing winds) vs. like we were heading out for tea and crumpets at the plaza.

All in all I would recommend this hotel if traveling to NY and needing a hotel near this location.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
705 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 473 in New York City
3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $243 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing