We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My daughter and I spent four nights at the Giraffe. Such a lovely hotel; very professionally run, delightful staff, very comfortable rooms and a relaxed atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts and cocktail hour after a busy day sightseeing and shopping.
I'd definitely recommend any of the hotels owned by this group.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,006
    583
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,099
1,452
184
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Visited from UK, stayed at hotel for 8 nights last week of May. Location was great, very close to various subway stations for easy access to whole of New York City and beyond whilst being away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square. Free breakfast and Wine/Cheese evening very nice touch however a little repetitive, some variety would make this even better. Free WI-FI throughout the building was a definitely plus, great download speed and never lost connection and all in room amenities were great (fridge provided free of charge etc). Room and bathroom good size for family of three however queen size beds little smaller than expected TV channel were extensive to allow for rest after long day seeing the sights. Some city noise could be heard from the eighth floor but nothing to worry about. Complimentary hot/cold drinks and snacks available all day as well. Staff were courteous and helpful and provided any information when we needed it and even helped my son find a game website on their free to use guest laptop in the lobby which could also be used for printing out tickets and airline passes again all free of charge. Only downside was the hotel is expensive (as with most NYC hotels), however if we find a deal to reduce the cost, we would absolutely stay here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: ring up before you stay to get a fridge in your room, very helpful on sunny days for a nice cold bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A late review, but wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay here. Lovely room, and so nice to have a balcony view in the city. Great neighbourhood to be in, and not noisy at all. Excellent service from the staff of course.

The best part was to have a breakfast in the morning and the cheese and wine in the evening, unusual in the US and much appreciated. It was good to have something to eat before setting off for a days sightseeing, and great to relax in the evening with a glass of wine after a hard day hitting the shops.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Two adults and two teenagers fitted in the two double bed room fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMC-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great location for our stay in NY, after a stressful drive into the city with my companion, we could not have been more graciously greeted, and the wine hour was a real plus! Rooms were small and it was very pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

After some time searching other hotels we returned to The Giraffe five years after our initial visit. The location in Midtown is perfect if you want to be in the hustle and bustle of everything. The hotel is now located in the up and coming area of Nomad with its excellent restaurants. Staff as always consistently courteous, helpful and professional. The café staff warm and welcoming and the breakfast tasty and plentiful. The evening wine and cheese with pianist always a treat. The room with balcony was very large, fantastic bed for a very fussy couple, views on to Park Avenue South and toward Madison Square Garden. Excellent facilities, immaculate level of comfort and cleanliness.
The cost does reflect the quality of the hotel, with added tax did exceed £2,000 for seven nights, a little steep but absolutely no complaints otherwise. We have stayed in a number of hotels in New York, this is a favourite.

Room Tip: Front facing, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Botis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Booked this on the basis of reviews and was very pleased. So nice to have a room that is actually larger than the bed so you can move around a bit (we had a king size room) and the bathroom is pretty decent too. Staff were helpful and courteous, although they seemed to resort to google for most specific questions - which I suppose is better than guessing? Cheese and wine and nibbles in the evening is a nice touch. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for six nights and had a great visit. Room was spacious and the service was efficient but also very relaxed. Great area for bars and restaurants - recommend The Grey Bar on 26th at Broadway. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,376 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
773 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing