We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great NYC Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe
Ranked #3 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
midwest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great NYC Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great boutique hotel near midtown, but far enough away to skip the crazy tourist crowds. Charming decor and atmosphere, welcoming and attentive staff. Great price includes morning breakfast bar and wine & cheese with live piano music in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbajohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,441
    520
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
872
1,205
162
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was my 2nd stay at Hotel Giraffe and everything about the experience was excellent. The staff were attentive and professional, and went out of their way to make sure that our stay was perfect in everyday.

The hotel is centrally located in Manhattan so is close to most attractions. The buffet breakfast and complimentary cheese & wine in the evenings were a really nice touch that made the hotel feel more relaxed and a home from home.

Highly recommended and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DK-Pinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The warm atmosphere emanates from candles in the lobby to the music playing in your room at turn down time. The location is away from midtown but cabs on Park Ave are frequent and access to the subway at 23rd and 28th streets makes public transit to almost anywhere in the city simple. The 23rd Street bus will take you straight to the High Line. The lower level restaurant will not disappoint. They take very good care of you without it feeling over the top.

Room Tip: None....everything was as it should be...no surprises or quirks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John1039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great value and terrific, big rooms near Flatiron and ESB. Loved having a balcony and enjoyed all the complimentary offerings. Service was great and the hotel was super clean and roomy. Loved our stay and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MTOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I met a friend for a girl's weeklong trip to NYC. We had a wonderful experience at the hotel. The service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful with making reservations and suggestions. The location is also central so it's easy to get to many different parts of the city. I've stayed at many different hotels in the city over the years. While this may not be the fanciest hotel, I had one of my more pleasant stays. The size of the hotel makes it more enjoyable. The wine, cheese and free breakfast in the lobby were all very nice extras.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

In all my travels I have never come across a warmer, friendlier, attentive hotel than Giraffe. 24/7 coffee cheese snacks and drinks free and a chocolate on my pillow!! And it's all done in a comfortable environment!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Hotel Giraffe was a splurge for us, but well worth it! The staff was great, especially JR & Chris at the front desk who patiently helped me review how to get where, made arrangements for me and looked up a laundry. The ladies at the morning breakfast took such great care of us, preparing a beautiful tray when we ate upstairs one day. Loved the wine and cheese in the evening! We had a 2 bed balcony suite and enjoyed being able to look out at all the activity. Nightly turndown service was great - it was a pleasure to come back to a room that was lit softly with music playing. Location was great for all of our adventures - within a few blocks of two different subway lines. Make sure to ask the front desk for the NYC Concierge map and you will easily be able to find your way around Manhattan on your own.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RailFan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,552 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#4 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 595 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#2 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,120 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#9 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Property: Hotel Giraffe
Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing