We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel w/ Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe
Ranked #4 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel w/ Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I come to NYC 2 to 3 times per year and usually stay a week at a time and I am always looking for a Hotel that feels like home. This is the place!!! The rooms are just the right size with a very comfortable bed, nice sheets and excellent pillows. The bathroom has everything you could possibly need and was very well kept. The wifi was very good and the breakfast was simple but to the point. However, the best part of my visit was the excellent service by the staff that were always willing to assist and help with a huge smile on their face.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GYMRAT64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,398
    517
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
848
1,191
162
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Location is excellent: very close to 28th st subway station which can take directly up to Downtown Financial District (Wall St. or Ground Zero) or in the opposite direction to Grand Central Station or Central Park (Metropolitan Museum) Area is safe and nice looking - real New York, not like touristy Time Sq, walking distance to Madison Sq or Union Sq We managed to walk from the hotel to Time Sq in 20 min
Hotel is very cosy with rooms of a descent size (for New York), clean, very well equipped. Corner suite with a balcony is a real gem with views over Park Ave Windows do have double glazing and good sound proofness, so we have not mentioned any serious disturbing street noise (anyway its New York) Bed was quite firm but very very comfortable (which was perfect for us but one can request a softer mattress topper)
Other good points:
good complimentary continental breakfast (in NY they can charge you 20-40USD for a breakfast): boiled eggs, fruit salad, toasts and pastries, corn flakes with milk, fruit and juices
complimentary coffee, tea and pastries all day through
5-8 pm complimentary wine and snacks with live piano (sometimes) very convinient to have a bite and relax in the lobby after daily tourist 'runs' through the city
rooftop terrace (actually no views but very nice and cosy small area for a coffee with a cigarret if you smoke)
Compared to other options definitely this hotel deserves its high ranking in tripadvisor, would come there again

Room Tip: Corner suite with balcony at 9th floors was wonderful, our first suite without balcony on the same f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aynho, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was my first ever visit to the US and I had booked the hotel as a surprise birthday treat for my boyfriend. The hotel was great, we had a spacious room with a little balcony and complimentary bottles of water. The location was great and within walking distance of the Flatiron building, Madison Square Park within a few more blocks you can get to Empire State building and Macys.

We loved the fact we had access to free wifi, coffee and biscuits 24/7, fab breakfast which included fresh fruit, bagels, croissants, pastry, hard boiled eggs, cereal, OJ, and different types of coffee drink.

The real asset were the staff, in particular Simona who was so lovely and pointed out some really great places to visit and things to do, as well as Mike who was able to give some great place to get food. They both made us feel so welcomed and because of the attentive service generally by all the staff, I will definitely come back and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

So unlike Manhattan, So good...
This hotel does not have doormen in fancy uniform, nor a Lobby that looks like the living room of the rich and famous. What it has are very comfortable and cozy rooms (We had a balcony! in Manhattan!), great atmosphere and the best service we ever got in Manhattan: always smiling, always attentive.
It is not located at the centre of things, but it is mere 200m from a metro station.
Great hotel. Will definitley go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I really like all their hotels, but Library hotel and Giraffe are my favourite. Good comfortable beds, very good service everywhere in the hotel.

Breakfast very limited, but the cheese and wine afternoon offer is really a nice gesture and good as a break from busy NYC.

I stayed in a suite, I can't recommend it enough.

Looking forward to be back.

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heroneya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our stay with Hotel Giraffe was more than we could have expected. All of the staff is welcoming and the hotel itself was beautiful. The morning started with a full breakfast included for all the guests that left us full for most of the day! If you need a snack or a quick coffee pick me up, they have an espresso machine and pastries available all day, and to top it off every evening you can join them for their complimentary wine and cheese reception.

The atmosphere was relaxed and the beds were comfortable! We both had to get some work done while we were in NYC so we appreciated the free WIFI at the hotel. The location allowed us to walk to most places or jump on the nearby train if we were going further.

We would definitely recommend Hotel Giraffe if you are visiting NYC, they will spoil you during your stay so much you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Giraffe with my aunt and sister. We reserved the king suite with balcony view which was perfect for the 3 of us. It was spacious enough and the main bedroom had doors to separate it from the living area. The bathroom was a nice size, although with only one sink. Our tub was clogged on the day we were leaving, but seemed fine the other days we were there.
There is a lot of closet and storage space, along with a safe, 2 robes, slippers, mini bar and complimentary water bottles. Turn down service is also available.
My aunt said the sleep sofa was comfortable and she enjoyed the large flat screen tv and balcony view in her area. Just to be clear, the balcony is more like 2 large windows where you can step out onto an enclosed ledge and look out, but it did give an airy feel to the room. There is no space to actually sit and relax and more than 2 people standing out there would be pushing the limit. We used t to check the weather outside each morning.
We found the tv remote hard to figure out and it took us forever to find the stations we wanted. But, that could also be that we are not in our 20's and/or tech savvy. Also, you get the impression that you can order on demand movies, but they are not actually available.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the doorman, to the front desk staff to the custodian. Definitely no complaints on that end!
The hotel offers a continental breakfast which includes hard boiled eggs, danish, fruit, coffee etc. There is also wine and cheese offered late in the afternoon and fruit and cookies are available in the lobby all day. It's a nice touch.
We opted for Sara Beth's around the corner for breakfast, but that's a whole other review.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again. We all felt it was worth what we paid and we thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with more than 2 people, I highly recommend the king suite with balcony. It has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,517 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,880 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,085 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Property: Hotel Giraffe
Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing