We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Little Boutique Hotel in the Big Apple!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Little Boutique Hotel in the Big Apple!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

NYC is one busy city 24/7, but you can get away from the madding crowds at this little hotel. Suite room was large enough for a 6 night stay and pretty well appointed. With a good coffee bar, continental breakfast each AM and live piano jazz, wine and cheese each afternoon at 5:00 PM the house offers an almost sophisticated family feel. Would we return being the big question; Yes!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,828
    568
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,026
1,373
179
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Sometimes the best surprise is no surprise - second visit a charm! Hotel Giraffe aims to please on so many levels - great rooms, service and a can do attitude! From the charming complimentary cocktail to the attentive service, it is a true delight to stay at this hotel - every request is greeted with a desire to please. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Our request for late check out was no problem and any information we needed was quickly provided, we will be back!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last month and highly recommend it. We had a junior suite as there were 3 of us. The room was very spacious. The complementary continental breakfast was very good as was the complementary wine and cheese in the evening. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had room service which is provided by the Bread & Tulip restaurant, and which was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverlippold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I had 2 nights at Hotel Giraffe. It is in a fabulously handy area with some great shopping!
Lovely comfortable room with balcony which was really nice. On the evening I arrived it had been heavily raining all day and continued into the night so I had dinner at Bread & Tulips which is downstairs next to the hotel and the servece & food was excellent! Through the hotel I organised a car to collect me from JFK which was great and meant that I didn't have to come off a flight from Sydney and look for a taxi! The 'happy hour' for guests is a really nice touch and the complimentary breakfast great! I would certainly stay again on my next visit to New York!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lv9059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Giraffe and we are return visitors. Staff is fantastic and friendly. The rooms are nice and for NY quite spacious. It is a nice size of a hotel and it feels more European. It serves a very nice Continental Breakfast with unlimited coffee. Newspapers are in th lobby for sharing. During the day there are beverages and cookies. In the evening you are treated to wine and cheese before going out on the town. It is a perfect loction... close to The Village and easy enough to walk Uptown if you wish. Subway is close by and since you are on Park Ave. S there are lots of taxis going both ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 155019David_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Giraffe, from the comfortable beds and beautiful rooms, to the delicious breakast and wine/cheese every evening. Great location for access throughout the city, and very helpful/pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bequitahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had spent several weeks travelling around and wanted to have a treat for our last night in NYC. I don't think we could have picked better than the Giraffe. The location (close to everything but not super-busy) was ideal for us, as was being across the street from the subway. The check in was friendly and efficient and the room, with our little balcony with a view down Park Avenue, was large and nicely decorated, with cute touches like some interesting books on the shelf to look at. We were presently surprised by the quantity and quality of the little extras included with the room cost: wi-fi, excellent wine and cheese and a good breakfast (with a great coffee machine, which is rare in NYC in my experience) all provided gratis. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to experience the roof garden, but will be sure to check it out next time.
However, the big thing for me was the friendliness of the staff and the genuine pleasure they had in looking after you during your stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and this is so different to our experience in many other hotels - which is why we often prefer to stay in B&Bs. The check-in staff were all great, but I would especially like to thank Simona and Jose for going the extra mile - Simona even volunteered to take a few photos of us on our departure help us to remember our stay.
Would definitely recommend the Giraffe to other looking to stay in mid-town Manhattan.

Room Tip: A view over Park Avenue is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyW8011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#7 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing