We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in New York”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights. We had a lovely room on the 7th floor. The staff are all very friendly and extremely helpful. Kathleen was especially helpful when we had a problem with our credit card on checking in which was much appreciated. The location is perfect, a nice area which had some lovely restaurants nearby. Great for accessing the subway which was really easy to use. The rooms are great. We asked for a mini fridge and a mattress topper. Nothing seemed to be a problem. There was even a bottle of wine left in the room as it was my birthday. Great having free wi fi in the room. Continental breakfasts were ideal and kept us going till lunch time. The icing on the cake was the wine and nibbles from 5 till 8 every night for free. Great to come back to after an exhausting day in manhattan. We plan to return to the giraffe on our next trip to New York and have recommended this hotel to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calpe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,012
    583
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,102
1,453
184
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We (me, my wife and our 24 year old son) stayed at the Giraffe in September 13 for four days. We were impressed by the friendliness of the staff, the good location close to all the main attractions and the underground, the clean and nicely decorated infrastructure and - considering the location - also the price. We especially liked the ease with which we could accommodate our son for two nights in our small suite, the breakfast (free of charge and you could even invite friends etc.) and the afternoon wine and snack at the lobby. Overall, we can highly recommend this hotel and will certainly come back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christophe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights in a suite at this terrific hotel. It was our last leg of a 6 week world holiday. From the moment I booked, asked questions, requested a driver to pick us up from the port, everyone was helpful and nothing too much trouble.

When we checked in JR was super helpful and identified that because I had medication that required refrigeration he organised another small fridge to store them without me asking! How customer focussed is that. Special mention also to Simone, Mike and Brian. In other words everyone we encountered provided us with great service and made us feel special.

The room was large and comfortable and ours was on the corner of Park Ave and E 26th. The double glazing definately reduced the noise but lets face it New Yorkers love using their car horns and the city doesn't sleep so we cannot say it is whisper quiet but the hotel have done what they can to reduce the noise including offering comfort packs that include earplugs.

The bed is huge and comfortable and you also have a pillow menu.

It is the little things that make this hotel so wonderful. The wine and cheese every night, the breakfast which is more than adequate to keep you full till lunch, the free internet which is extremely fast and last but by no means least the 20% discount off Bread and Tulips restaurant which is next to the hotel (amazing food).

When we asked questions about where to go what to do and even restaurant recommendations they were spot on and when we told them about an issue with a restaurant server requesting more tip they immediately called the restaurant and complained.

Loved the location because it allowed us to walk either downtown or midtown or a quick cab ride. We never used the subway as there just wasn't a need to.

We would highly recommend this hotel, you get what you pay for and we got that and so much more.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmCeeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Loved the hotel, staff were helpful, friendly and very efficient. It was close to everything, subway, taxi ranks etc. Loved the piano playing and wine and cheese each afternoon. Clean and spacious rooms and will definitely be staying here again, next time I am in the Big Apple :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moongamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Enjoyed a week in NYC. Hotel Giraffe was very well appointed, we had a king suite, so plenty of room. Balcony was too small to enjoy, but even with the doors open the noise wasn't too bad. Staff were excellent, discreet and helpful. Loved the wine and cheese each night, a very nice way to start your evening. Breakfast was also very good, we really enjoyed the club hotel vibe.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deegeurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a couple of nights here at the end of a two week visit to the East Coast. The Giraffe is the best hotel we have ever stayed at in Manhattan. The location was not our preferred area but we found it fine for all the things we had planned and relatively quiet. The decorative quality and finishing here are very good indeed; so many New York hotels are just shabby. The staff were all delightful, welcoming and efficient. Our room on the 7th floor was quiet, large and comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well fitted. Breakfast in the lobby is included and offers good choices. We really liked the wine and snacks offering in the evening, just perfect after a busy day in the city. We found some great Indian restaurants round the corner from the hotel on Lexington Avenue. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViatorMundi_GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived late to this hotel and wanted a glass of wine. The bar was closed but the staff sent us a complimentary bottle to the room. The rooms are well appointed and quiet even though on a busy street. The balcony is kind of a mute point as you can't sit out there on it. The beds were comfortable and the location is great. They have a complimentary breakfast in the lobby. The staff are very friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,378 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing