We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed four nights at Giraffe. From the first moment, this hotel and its excellent staff more than lived up to expectations which Trip Advisor reviews had already set at a very high level. We were looked after marvellously from the moment we arrived. We became very fond of the lobby area and the rooftop terrace; the breakfast was especially good (my son and I cannot have gluten, it was a pleasure to go somewhere which so willingly provides gluten free alternatives) and we enjoyed what was regrettably our only visit to the nightly cheese and wine reception. Some friends at Hotel Mela came to visit, they left very jealous. Hats off to Chris at the reception desk whose good advice helped us make the best of our days and to Ana who looked after us at breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,827
    568
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,026
1,372
179
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I loved my stay at this charming hotel. My adult son joined me (we were visiting another son who lived in the city) and we all really liked Hotel Giraffe. Its location is really convenient with lots to do within walking distance. Our king suite was great for 2 of us with a comfortable pull out sofa. The free breakfast was perfect with such nice service and I loved the afternoon happy hour. David at the front desk was so nice and helpful~ suggesting nearby restaurants and getting us show tickets. I have already booked two more stays to visit my son.I think this hotel is a real find in a city with lots of properties.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms with 2 beds so book early if you want them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horns1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at 3 of the Library collection hotels and so far Giraffe is the best. Professionalism and friendliness extended across all members of the staff, from checking in with Mike, Chris giving us our very early morning gym passes thru to the wonderful staff at breakfast as well as at the cheese and wine reception. Selection and quality of breakfast goods is excellent. Location of this hotel is perfect, away from the chaos of Times Square but still central to many attractions, activities and restaurants. On booking we requested a quiet room which we got on the 11th floor and 23rd street side - hard to believe we were in the heart of the city as it was so quiet. Our suite was perfectly ample and maintained to a high standard. We're already planning 'Giraffe revisited' in 2014 as we Love New York, the city of apples!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank etxmato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

- Efficient & Courteous Staff
- thank you for the laptop in the piano bar
- I've stayed here before and will do so again

minor quibble
- for the first time I treated myself to 'limo pick-up at the airport" ( an option at the time of reservation). appears this is subcontracted out, and at 2 am my 'driver' actually put the airport luggage cart on the escalator ... bad idea and leave it at that (grin). Next time, city cab for Andrew
Cheers,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

With two daughters and their husbands living in NYC, I've tried out several hotels on visits to NYC, but none compares with Hotel Giraffe. My stay in July 2013 for one of their weddings was letter perfect: the staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating, fetching extra chairs, etc., for pre-wedding makeup. The quality of the (free!) food available in the lobby 24/7 was topnotch--loved the copious fresh fruit at breakfast and the multi-talented coffee drinks machine. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped, down to an excellent selection of well chosen books. The excellent housekeeping staff kept things in order. At the last minute, we changed the rehearsal dinner to the hotel restaurant, Bread & Tulips, and we were thrilled with the excellent service and wonderful food. I'm picky, but I couldn't have asked for more in a hotel. Thanks, Hotel Giraffe staff!

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a higher floor, and it was quiet enough for a good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havesuitcasewillroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Just returned from a delightful one week stay at Hotel Giraffe. The rooms were spacious, very clean with plenty of light, and with all the amenities one would need. The service was perfect. The front desk staff were friendly, very helpful and very efficient. We arrived to hotel at 1:00 AM and were in the room five minutes later. The breakfast could have been better with more variety, but can't complain since it was complimentary. The wine and cheese in the evening was a nice treat, after a long day exploring the city.
The location couldn't have been better, right next to two subway lines, around the corner from a lovely park (with the best milk shakes in town), and good restaurants within blocks of the hotel. I felt safe returning to the hotel, even late at night.
I would certainly return to this hotel when I next visit New York!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Seeing this hotel in 'New York, I love you' reminded me I had never quite got around to writing a review on our short break in March! We chose to stay here thanks to the TA accolades besides we found for a similar rate we qualified for a suite opposed to a room elsewhere (a bedroom with a lounge area which converted into a second room for our boys) with a plentiful and fresh continental breakfast with a fabulous cheese and wine session from 5-8pm throw in! Arriving late afternoon we opted for room service which was fresh and plentiful-the portions were very generous and we could almost have done with ordering less. Hotel had a relaxed, low-key vibe, staff were pleasant and helpful, great welcome at the door. We much prefer smaller boutique hotels so this was just perfect for us. Good location and within walking distance (with a push chair) of the major attractions. We would simply hail a friendly and informative cab after walking our hind legs off! We had dinner at Sarabeth's on our second night as brunch was crazy busy. Great food and service with banter! Would also thoroughly recommend a kosher club at the 2nd Ave Deli. If you have young children a visit to the Toys R Us in Times Square and its ferris wheel is a must as is the (free) Statten Island ferry! We stumbled across Washington Market Park in Tribeca which is well worth a visit if you are in the area. All in all a great trip (notwithstanding the Empire State Building 'experience' waiting for an hour in the lobby to go up after an 'evacuation') and we will be back. We have recommended and will continue to recommend Hotel Giraffe to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsH36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing