We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - very expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe
Ranked #4 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very nice hotel quite central NYC. Rooms are a good size and the bathrooms were especially good. Very good point of putting bottles of water in the room. Free breakfast was excellent.
Only downside was the cost. That's NYC I guess.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VLS234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,609
    546
    75
    18
    10
See reviews for
932
1,292
170
380
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was here for a long weekend and I loved everything about the hotel. The breakfast was great, really good fresh bagels and pastries with fresh fruit and delicious coffee, the room was lovely, the staff friendly and helpful,and the midtown location was just perfect. The Flatiron building and the pretty Madison Square Park are literally just round the corner.

It is a little noisy because it's in central New York, but the double glazing is superb and I didn't have any problems sleeping (beyond my jet lag!) with ear plugs in. I was on the 8th floor on the 26th Street side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My friends and I were lucky enough to spend the night at this fabulous hotel! It is conveniently located near some of New York's famous landmarks. There was also some wonderful restaurants close by. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I was very impressed with how clean and well maintained the property was. The hotel has a great continental breakfast as well as wine and cheese in the late afternoon. I would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to visit it again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

From the moment we stepped on the sidewalk it was amazing. The staff was very professional, friendly and so helpful. From parking our car, to bring up our luggage and also bringing us ice, all so helpful. I was so comfortable and made to relax immediately. The décor in the lobby was outstanding, clean and beautifully decorated with fresh flowers all over. The room we had was large and nicely decorated, not to bright but not your dark hotel room. It was beyond clean and smelled fresh. The complimentary water was a nice touch. We dropped our stuff off and went sight seeing. We returned in time to catch the ending of the wine & cheese in the lobby, with music playing and all. What a nice touch and so inviting. Upon entering our room, beds were turned, chocolate on the dresser with a bottle of water and light music playing in the room WOW that was a great touch. Check out was a breeze, thank you Assim what a pleasure it was to stay and I look forward to my next trip to Manhattan to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Hotel Giraffe was outstanding!! The staff was courteous, attentive and very polite. The hotel was gorgeous and the room was immaculate. It was a truly glorious experience! I recommend the Hotel Giraffe to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My fiancee and I had a short stay in NYC but were very impressed with all aspects of Hotel Giraffe. After an exhausting, delay-filled red eye trip across the US, we were delighted to be greeted by the hotel's friendly staff and a formidable spread of complimentary wine, cheese and crackers in the lobby. The concierge even suggested that we take a few glasses of wine to our room while we got settled. Our server suggested a great Italian restaurant about a block away for dinner. We also thoroughly enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast the next morning which fueled us for a long day of sightseeing and walking. The room (a balcony suite) was clean and comfortable and had a nice view of Park Ave. Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Balcony suites are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived after 4 tiring 4 hr drive through traffic and simply dropped our car out up front and our luggage was whisked away. Our 6th floor room was directly across from the elevator but we never heard a sound. On arrival we were directly to a generous wine and cheese reception in the lobby complete with comfy chairs and lovely unobtrusive live piano music. What respite from our drive! In the morning the area had a delicious continental breakfast - yum those pastries. Throughout the day there was fruit available, cookies and a self-serve coffee machine. The room was fine as was the bathroom. The price was high. But the ambiance, location and most of all hospitality from the moment we walked in just made it worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,156 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#6 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,699 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#2 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Property: Hotel Giraffe
Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing