We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Giraffe was tops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Giraffe was tops”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived after 4 tiring 4 hr drive through traffic and simply dropped our car out up front and our luggage was whisked away. Our 6th floor room was directly across from the elevator but we never heard a sound. On arrival we were directly to a generous wine and cheese reception in the lobby complete with comfy chairs and lovely unobtrusive live piano music. What respite from our drive! In the morning the area had a delicious continental breakfast - yum those pastries. Throughout the day there was fruit available, cookies and a self-serve coffee machine. The room was fine as was the bathroom. The price was high. But the ambiance, location and most of all hospitality from the moment we walked in just made it worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,816
    568
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,022
1,369
178
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Giraffe, and was so happy with my experience! What a great choice we made to stay here. Centrally located to be able to walk to so many wonderful spots in New York City, including the Empire State Building! And the convenience of subway stations nearby also. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfy, the bathrooms were big, and the staff was amazing! Top-notch staff indeed! From the kindness of the doorman, which incidentally always made you feel both safe and fancy, to the professionalism of the front desk staff. And then to top if off? A daily wine hour, actually hours!, for hotel guests. What a great way to come in from your daily adventures and wind down with a complimentary glass of champagne, cheese and crackers, and lovely live piano music. Just fabulous! Not to mention, the fantastic complimentary breakfast every morning to get your day started off right. I was so happy to stay here on my recent trip to the beautiful and exciting city of New York, and I can't wait to go back and stay here again. I would recommend to all my family and friends!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pmurphy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Picked this hotel based on reviews and location and it didn't disappoint. Rooms are very comfortable and service from the moment you check in until you check out is exceptional. By simply sending them a note via Twitter we were treated to a complimentary bottle of wine on our arrival. The complimentary continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese reception were also added bonuses. Unlike other hotels that nickel and dime you at every turn for extra services, the Hotel Giraffe includes them in their room prices enhancing your comfort. Only quibble is the mini bar. According to the staff they are not kept very cold so you can't use them as a fridge for your own items and if you want to have a cold drink, you'll still have to cool them the old fashioned way. However, they will supply a mini-fridge on request. Other than that, this will be our go to hotel from now on in New York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Giraffe for 4 nights. It was our 5th trip to NYC and from now on will only be staying there!

It was perfect. The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. They were unbelievably kind and knowledgeable.

The rooms were very clean, modern and comfortable.

We especially enjoyed the very fresh continental breakfast and the excellent full automatic coffee machine complete with Italian LaVazza coffee available throughout the day.

The wine and cheese offered every evening was basically the cherry on top of the perfect Manhattan experience.

We totally loved the late 1 pm check out!

The proximity to outstanding restaurants, clubs and shopping made the Giraffe's location world class!

LOVE LOVE LOVE the Giraffe!

Room Tip: we stayed in a room on the 26th Street side - probably a little quieter than rooms directly on Park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristySPEAKUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

So refreshing to stay at a hotel where hospitality is really the keyword: complimentary wifi, aperitif in the evening and breakfast in the morning all on the house -- and with a smile. The hotel has an amazing location just a few blocks from Union square, on Park Avenue. The rooftop terrace on a sunny day is spectacular and in the evenings very romantic. The balcony from the queen room on the 11th floor where we stayed gave a lovely view of city life underneath while being relatively quiet at night. Understated and elegant rooms, at first I thought the hotel wouldn't me my style, but my first impression was completely overturned during the stay. This hotel will grow on you so much you will be heartbroken to leave. Helpful, professional and un-intrusive staff. Highly recommended, especially if you can find a last minute deal on it.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, if possible to minimise traffic noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli_Uk_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at he Hotel Giraffe. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Loved the wine in the lobby in the evening, and coffee and breakfast in the morning. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

In the words of my mother " if you don't have anything nice to say, then don't sat anything at all", and it is with this matra that i write my first review.

The hotel is beyond excellent for the price you pay, having travelled to New York many times, this hotel is by far the best value for money I have ever stayed in. The staff were exceptionally polite, friendly and helpful.
Even though me and my cousins left the room in an absolute pigsty, we came back everyday to find it looking like a palace. This is above and beyond what is expected of any housekeeper and we can only apologise for out untidiness.
The location is superb and the breakfast and evening snacks are a pleasant extra.

Once again I would like to thank all the staff for a incredible stay and wonderful experience for my cousins birthday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bradderz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,306 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
846 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,441 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing