We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just back from a great week in New York staying at the giraffe. Lovely hotel, good location , would definitely recommend. Breakfast set us up for the day. Location allows you set off in any direction. Check out the restaurant down stairs .

Room Tip: Enjoy a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ddcgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,768
    563
    80
    18
    10
See reviews for
998
1,357
174
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sophisticated but comfortable, Giraffe hotel provides a wonderful basis to explore New York. The lobby is an inviting and lovely place to eat breakfast and savor a cup of coffee while watching the city before venturing out on your own. The hotel staff is effective but not warm. The rooms are good sized by NY standards. The evening wine and cheese is also worth attending. The locale is centralized but you will have a fair walk to the theater district or to lower Manhattan. There are restaurants nearby and its far enough away from Times Square madness to allow you to enjoy NYC at its best. We loved the piano in the lobby and in the evenings they had live music. A real treat!

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Triangletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over Independance Day in 2012. we had a family room with two double beds. We really could not fault this hotel and the staff were incredibly helpful. The location suited us as it was just that bit less hectic!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Nice hotel with ok service. The receptionists and the door-men are very young and not as formal as the staff at many other hotels. For me (lady 55 years old) this was a bit hard to get used to.
Big rooms with nice beds. Walking-distance to Union Square. Park Avenue is a very calm street down here. You sleep well, but you have to walk some blocks to find shops and restaurants.
A breakfast is served in the lobby every morning, and there is a wine-reception every afternoon. Both free of charge.
Good italien restaurant in the basement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenaUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Hotel Giraffe is a lovely place to stay in NYC. The staff is helpful and gracious. We stayed for five days over Spring Break this year. The lobby breakfast is a perfect way to get the day started with no stress, the location is excellent whether you are going Uptown or Downtown, and there is a California PIzza Kitchen just a few blocks away when the kids are ready for some familiar food. The king suite was great for three people. The room was clean and well appointed. The confirming e-mails were very helpful. An added bonus is the restaurant, Bread and Tulips, which is on the premises. It is excellent and we recommend it even if you are not staying at the hotel. Next time I would bring my own shampoo; we were not crazy about the hotel supplied shampoo/cream rinse. We would definitely stay at the Hotel Giraffe again!

Room Tip: To get more natural light ask for a room with a balcony. Lower floors may have street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our family of 3 adults and 2 teens spent 10 wonderful nights at the Hotel Giraffe in March/April. After exhaustive research attempting to find the right place to stay we were extremely happy with our choice. The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly (one of our party is coeliac, so needed gluten free options for the included breakfast), and we felt an instant sense of comfort and welcome each time we returned to the hotel after long, cold days in the city. The rooms were nice (our children had a KS Balcony Suite, and we a King room) and well maintained. Our only negative was the extra firm beds. When we asked for a topper to soften the feel of the beds in both rooms they were provided, and the beds re-made, within 5 minutes - very impressive service in a city whose service ethic is sorely lacking. The breakfasts were lovely and, with the installation of a new espresso machine on our second day, the coffee was pretty good. The wine and cheese each night was lovely when we finally slowed down enough to make it (day 8 !) and the free wifi was a much appreciated and utilised service. Another lovely inclusion was a bottle of red wine on arrival as a birthday gift. We ate at Bread and Tulips, the restaurant downstairs, twice and thoroughly enjoyed both occasions. Great service, and truly delicious food. We highly recommend the Hotel Giraffe and would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a high floor which may alleviate some of the noise that seems to be a constan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#4 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,397 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing