We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This Hotel is perfectly located in Manhattan. It has a nice lobby and comfortable well equipped rooms. Very nice is also the idea with wine and cheese. The staff was outstanding friendly. All sights could be visited easily. All together it was a perfect stay. For a next visit we will again choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,137 - 2,143 of 3,810 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Giraffe and know that it will be the only hotel we will return to when visiting NYC. Right near Madison Square Park, close to the subway, lovely views, huge room, super helpful staff, and an amazing restaurant (Bread & Tulips) where you can take advantage of 20% off as a hotel guest or room service if you choose! We brought our two children, ages 4 & 2 and it was extremely kid-friendly and safe, and they were always welcomed and accommodated at the complimentary breakfast & evening wine and cheese- which were both such lovely perks! The walls/doors/furniture are solid and well insulated, so we didn't have any trouble with noise or being able to hear sound from other rooms. There were fluffy robes and a complimentary umbrella in our room to use if needed. The TV selection was good, tons of extra pillows, and we were able to control the room temperature very easily. This hotel also offers a fairly late check-out time (1pm) which was an added bonus for us. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel and were more than happy with our stay!

Room Tip: We had a corner suite with gorgeous windows. It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great Location, Great Room, Great Staff! The lobby is very comfortable and morning breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese were wonderful benefits. Thank you for having free WIFI! Every hotel should do that. This will be the hotel we return to every year on our visit to New York.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

After much deliberation our party of four decided on this hotel out of the many to choose from in New York. It really is worth a visit, our rooms were clean and spacious, the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast is more than adequate and the 24 hour tea and coffee available in reception 'kind of' makes up for the lack of the facility within the room. The rooftop garden is lovely but at this time of year some sort of outdoor heater would be good. The complimentary cheese and wine in the early evening is a very nice touch. Finally the location is just ideal- we never struggled to get a taxi outside the hotel at all times of day and night, and it was within walking distance of some lovey restaurants. For us it was a great value for money choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DESWestYorkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Every time we visit NYC the only hotel we consider is The Hotel Giraffe. The rooms are spacious, by New York standards, and the beds are oh so comfortable. The linens luxurious and the decor elegant. We love the lobby, it is comfortable and cozy...the late afternoon wine and cheese is a lovely way to start your evening in the city and the breaksfasts are just perfect. We love the fact that you can always get an excellent cappucino in the lobby as well. The staff is always friendly and eager to help. They are extremely attentive and hope that everyone's stay is perfect. It is so nice to see that after years of visiting Hotel Giraffe it does not look worn in any way. The carpets are immaculate, not shabby or stained, and the linens as elegant as ever. It is a plus that each room has a balcony ensuring that guests just can't go wrong no matter what room they stay in. We love the fact that the doorman, even though we had not been back for about 2 years, remembered us. To me that is truly personalized service. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in New York City!

Room Tip: Every room faces the street with a balcony so no room feels closed in or cramped by New York standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was surprised at how good this hotel is for an individual hotel vs. a chain. Rooms were clean big and very attractive rates, wine and cheese at 5p & breakfast where a huge plus. Once I checked in and got to my room, I got a call from the front desk to check if the room met my needs, I travel to NY a lot but this is the first time that's happened.
This was a business trip for me but next time I am in the area with my wife I will stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenM628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Giraffe upgraded our room when we arrived. The room was very clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The doorman was very friendly. The front desk staff were helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The restaurant on site was excellent. the lobby was comfortable and they always had refreshments available. This hotel is probably the best value in New york

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank litecast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
432 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $267 - $592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing