We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and Cozy”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was surprised at how good this hotel is for an individual hotel vs. a chain. Rooms were clean big and very attractive rates, wine and cheese at 5p & breakfast where a huge plus. Once I checked in and got to my room, I got a call from the front desk to check if the room met my needs, I travel to NY a lot but this is the first time that's happened.
This was a business trip for me but next time I am in the area with my wife I will stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenM628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,965
    581
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,081
1,431
184
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Giraffe upgraded our room when we arrived. The room was very clean and well decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The doorman was very friendly. The front desk staff were helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The restaurant on site was excellent. the lobby was comfortable and they always had refreshments available. This hotel is probably the best value in New york

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank litecast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We returned to New York for the March Break holiday having enjoyed warm weather and a great stay at the Kimpton Eventi last year. Although the weather let us down this time the Giraffe was in line with our high expectations. We were in an 11th floor two queen room with balcony which was smart, modern and more than big enough for a family of 3. There is still no escape from the New York street noise but we got used to it and we heard nothing from adjacent rooms on the floor (more important to me). We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast, which offered nice fresh fruit and excellent mini-pastries in a civilized atmosphere. The informal wine and cheese evenings,with a nice balance of tourists and business people, were a joy with a glass or two of prosecco to help wind down after a busy day.Overall I would return for either business or pleasure as I find the boutique hotels to be so much more personal and homely compared to the cookie cutter chains. Finally, yes we did prefer this to the Eventi, okay it was further from Macy's/Time Square but the added touches such as the breakfast and the lighter, larger bedrooms made the difference. A good selection of restaurants not to far away, Eataly -good luck getting in, Molly's in Gramercy - best and most authentic pub in North America in my opinion and Bread and Tulips in the hotel, which did a good pizza and offered excellent value with the hotel discount. Enjoy !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The good points...
Staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The complimentary continental breakfast is adequate and the Cheese and Wine in the evening is a nice touch. Complimentary coffee and cookies 24 hours a day is also good. The room was an average double size, ok for two people. Good location (unless you are here over the St Patricks Day weekend and the whole of the US Army is camped over the road and practicing from 3am-7am!). About 25 minutes walk from Times Square and 15 minutes to Empire State Building and Macy's.

The not so good points...
It is rather noisy outside 24 hours a day (army or not) but I guess it would be worse if we were closer to Times Square. The electrics in our room were slightly dodgy with my Wife getting a shock at one point! Holes in bed sheets and quilt covers. Shower was a bit limp and shower curtains are just not right in any hotel!

Overall a pleasant stay but probably won't come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not many rooms to choose from as this is a very small hotel. The higher the better o get away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JasperC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Staff was very helpful and the hotel itself was beautiful. We hung out in the upstairs garden quite a bit and took advantage of the free breakfasts. Amazing location as well. close to a lot of attractions

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed one night at the end of our stay. We booked two interconnecting rooms with balconies to accommodate 2 adults and 2 teenagers. They did a great deal on the rooms in the end because there had been a misunderstanding about an email enquiry I had made before booking, for which they apologised promptly and offered a discount on the rooms.
The rooms were clean, well appointed and spacious. The service was excellent and we loved the drinks and nibbles in the early evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sophisticated and cozy hotel—it’s rare to stay somewhere that has both of these qualities. The staff is warm and inviting, always greeting you with a smile. The small attentions to detail are captured at this establishment—complimentary continental breakfast, a phone call to confirm your reservation, and a phone call to your room after check-in to make sure all is well are just a few examples. The balcony suite was lovely—the layout, furnishings, décor, and Juliet balcony combine together to create a comfortable and unique room. Charming “find” in NYC—can’t wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 466 in New York City
1,366 reviews
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#1 of 466 in New York City
172 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 466 in New York City
3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing