We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Sitting in the lobby early on a Sunday enjoying the breakfast they have out. Clean, sleek, fun and pleasant place to stay. Great robes! Staff is beyond nice. Overall, great place. Will definite stay again!
We came for nyc hotel week and got a great deal. Close to Eataly and Madison Sq Park. Nothing but good things to say.

Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 3,858 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights after my boyfriend returned from serving in Iraq- great hotel, nice room- not huge but adequate size. Modern decor and very clean. Our room had a balcony- we enjoyed waking up and watching the yellow taxis rush beneath us.
Location was good although we did occassionaly jump in a taxi to save our legs!
Would recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Why even bother staying in a big chain hotel when you can have a hotel that feels like home. Upon check in, we arrived in time for the nightly wine/cheese reception - what a fantastic idea. When we got to our very large suite, a bottle of red wine was waiting for my "birthday," another nice surprise. Loved the electric shades in the main room, our sofa bed, large inner room and beautiful bathroom and nice bathroom products. Each morning we took advantage of the NY sports club in the am and the hotel breakfast, another nice perk. We also appreciated the late check out (1pm). Everything worked - hot water (NICE), chocolate on the bed for turndown - this felt like HOME in NYC. We prepaid our room and got a great deal. Helpful staff can't do enough to make your stay better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Everything about this hotel is 5 stars---and on the 5 or 6 times we've stayed there--it only gets better. Clean comfortable rooms---and constant attention to detail.Phone calls confirming your reservation/arrival the day before--and after check in they call to make sure everything is okay. Love the wine and cheese in the lobby every night from 5-8. Breakfast is superb from the fresh fruit to outstanding bagels and wonderful coffee. Hate to leave--actually.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKELETONKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for 5 days, it was picked because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff are terrific they go out of their way to help you and are very friendly. The rooms are modern, well maintained, look good and are very well equipped although do not expect a huge room. The bed was comfortable with pillows that, for once in an hotel, are supportive for normal people allowing one to sleep without then waking up with neck ache. The bathroom is pleasant and has everything you need although I prefer a shower cubicle rather than a shower over the bath. The room has all the 'toys' you expect nowadays, DVD player, iPod dock etc. However, not being a 14 year old, instruction in how to access the 200 station TV would help!! The only downside is that street noise is noticeable in the mornings especially annoying are the New Year garbage trucks at 6.00am!! The lobby is small but adequate the 'free' breakfast is excellent and the 'happy hour' where free wine and nibbles are provided is a great relaxant after a hard day's sight seeing. The location is fine, a couple of blocks from the subway and within walking distance of midtown (15mins for Grand Central). The Hotel has no built in restaurant but has Tulips and Bread next door, good food and reasonable value. There are loads of restaurants within 4 blocks. This is a very understated Hotel which provides excellent accommodation, a warm and friendly atmosphere and is, by New York standards, reasonable value for money. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent nearly 3 weeks in The Giraffe Dec - January. It was a great little hotel with the extras ( Wifi, breakfast, wine and cheese ) making it even more value for money. They arranged transport to and from the airport and were happy to give advise as required. Location excellent. the staff were always chipper and very professional.The only criticism is the coffee / Tea . The water was never hot enough. There that is very small annoyance in what was a 9.5 / 10 stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had three rooms booked at The Giraffe for my familly to enjoy another NYE in NYC, followed by a further 5 nights enjoying the city. Having visited New York on numerous occassions, and stayed in a variety of hotels, from 5 stars to 3, from up-town to mid and down, I can honestly say that The Giraffe gave us the best overall experience ever! Like a number of reviewers have pointed out, the establishment is not one of the "well known" brands and, from our experience I would say, long may that continue. The staff could not be more helpful, caring or considerate and every team member we came into contact with was an absolute star.

As well as the complimentary breakfasts / cheese and wine tastings, do not miss out on Bread & Tulips the restaurant annexed to the hotel; really fine Italian cuisine in great surroundings.

Any complaints? I'd really have to be stretching the bounds of reasonableness here but if i had to make a suggested improvement ...... morning coffee .... ahem, that's NOT coffee ! Sorry but I like mine strong. But as I say, a real nit pick I know.

All in all, a GREAT hotel and one we would recommend to anyone looking for a perfect place to stay in NYC. We'll be back !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinSpalding_Lincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#5 of 469 in New York City
519 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 469 in New York City
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,748 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $250 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing