We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,450)
Filter reviews
4,450 results
Traveler rating
3,674
649
94
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,674
649
94
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine and cheese park avenue new york each evening continental breakfast small balcony rooftop garden flatiron district bagels union square king suite boutique hotel hard boiled eggs turn down service fresh fruit shake shack great boutique
Filter
Updating list...
2,793 - 2,798 of 4,450 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights after my boyfriend returned from serving in Iraq- great hotel, nice room- not huge but adequate size. Modern decor and very clean. Our room had a balcony- we enjoyed waking up and watching the yellow taxis rush beneath us.
Location was good although we did occassionaly jump in a taxi to save our legs!
Would recommend!

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Why even bother staying in a big chain hotel when you can have a hotel that feels like home. Upon check in, we arrived in time for the nightly wine/cheese reception - what a fantastic idea. When we got to our very large suite, a bottle of red wine was waiting for my "birthday," another nice surprise. Loved the electric shades in the main room, our sofa bed, large inner room and beautiful bathroom and nice bathroom products. Each morning we took advantage of the NY sports club in the am and the hotel breakfast, another nice perk. We also appreciated the late check out (1pm). Everything worked - hot water (NICE), chocolate on the bed for turndown - this felt like HOME in NYC. We prepaid our room and got a great deal. Helpful staff can't do enough to make your stay better.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTwelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Everything about this hotel is 5 stars---and on the 5 or 6 times we've stayed there--it only gets better. Clean comfortable rooms---and constant attention to detail.Phone calls confirming your reservation/arrival the day before--and after check in they call to make sure everything is okay. Love the wine and cheese in the lobby every night from 5-8. Breakfast is superb from the fresh fruit to outstanding bagels and wonderful coffee. Hate to leave--actually.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKELETONKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for 5 days, it was picked because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff are terrific they go out of their way to help you and are very friendly. The rooms are modern, well maintained, look good and are very well equipped although do not expect a huge room. The bed was comfortable with pillows that, for once in an hotel, are supportive for normal people allowing one to sleep without then waking up with neck ache. The bathroom is pleasant and has everything you need although I prefer a shower cubicle rather than a shower over the bath. The room has all the 'toys' you expect nowadays, DVD player, iPod dock etc. However, not being a 14 year old, instruction in how to access the 200 station TV would help!! The only downside is that street noise is noticeable in the mornings especially annoying are the New Year garbage trucks at 6.00am!! The lobby is small but adequate the 'free' breakfast is excellent and the 'happy hour' where free wine and nibbles are provided is a great relaxant after a hard day's sight seeing. The location is fine, a couple of blocks from the subway and within walking distance of midtown (15mins for Grand Central). The Hotel has no built in restaurant but has Tulips and Bread next door, good food and reasonable value. There are loads of restaurants within 4 blocks. This is a very understated Hotel which provides excellent accommodation, a warm and friendly atmosphere and is, by New York standards, reasonable value for money. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent nearly 3 weeks in The Giraffe Dec - January. It was a great little hotel with the extras ( Wifi, breakfast, wine and cheese ) making it even more value for money. They arranged transport to and from the airport and were happy to give advise as required. Location excellent. the staff were always chipper and very professional.The only criticism is the coffee / Tea . The water was never hot enough. There that is very small annoyance in what was a 9.5 / 10 stay.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlmaFrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews