We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (4,328)
Filter reviews
4,328 results
Traveler rating
3,569
636
91
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,569
636
91
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesepark avenuenew yorksmall balconycontinental breakfastevery eveningrooftop gardenflatiron districtbagelsunion squareking suitehard boiled eggsboutique hotelturn down servicefresh fruitshake shackgreat boutique
Filter
Updating list...
2,689 - 2,694 of 4,328 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for 5 days, it was picked because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff are terrific they go out of their way to help you and are very friendly. The rooms are modern, well maintained, look good and are very well equipped although do not expect a huge room. The bed was comfortable with pillows that, for once in an hotel, are supportive for normal people allowing one to sleep without then waking up with neck ache. The bathroom is pleasant and has everything you need although I prefer a shower cubicle rather than a shower over the bath. The room has all the 'toys' you expect nowadays, DVD player, iPod dock etc. However, not being a 14 year old, instruction in how to access the 200 station TV would help!! The only downside is that street noise is noticeable in the mornings especially annoying are the New Year garbage trucks at 6.00am!! The lobby is small but adequate the 'free' breakfast is excellent and the 'happy hour' where free wine and nibbles are provided is a great relaxant after a hard day's sight seeing. The location is fine, a couple of blocks from the subway and within walking distance of midtown (15mins for Grand Central). The Hotel has no built in restaurant but has Tulips and Bread next door, good food and reasonable value. There are loads of restaurants within 4 blocks. This is a very understated Hotel which provides excellent accommodation, a warm and friendly atmosphere and is, by New York standards, reasonable value for money. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent nearly 3 weeks in The Giraffe Dec - January. It was a great little hotel with the extras ( Wifi, breakfast, wine and cheese ) making it even more value for money. They arranged transport to and from the airport and were happy to give advise as required. Location excellent. the staff were always chipper and very professional.The only criticism is the coffee / Tea . The water was never hot enough. There that is very small annoyance in what was a 9.5 / 10 stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had three rooms booked at The Giraffe for my familly to enjoy another NYE in NYC, followed by a further 5 nights enjoying the city. Having visited New York on numerous occassions, and stayed in a variety of hotels, from 5 stars to 3, from up-town to mid and down, I can honestly say that The Giraffe gave us the best overall experience ever! Like a number of reviewers have pointed out, the establishment is not one of the "well known" brands and, from our experience I would say, long may that continue. The staff could not be more helpful, caring or considerate and every team member we came into contact with was an absolute star.

As well as the complimentary breakfasts / cheese and wine tastings, do not miss out on Bread & Tulips the restaurant annexed to the hotel; really fine Italian cuisine in great surroundings.

Any complaints? I'd really have to be stretching the bounds of reasonableness here but if i had to make a suggested improvement ...... morning coffee .... ahem, that's NOT coffee ! Sorry but I like mine strong. But as I say, a real nit pick I know.

All in all, a GREAT hotel and one we would recommend to anyone looking for a perfect place to stay in NYC. We'll be back !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KevinSpalding_Lincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Giraffe for a week over New Year's. Upon arrival, the restaurant was closed (10:10pm) but they directed us immediately to a deli a block away where take-away was easy for return to our room. The lobby was smaller than it looked in the pictures, but very pleasant with snacks and hot drinks available. Sometimes difficult to find a table for breakfast, but you can take a tray to your room. It was very thoughtful that a family member could join us for breakfast. The room was a fairly typical hotel room, but clean, pleasant and relatively quiet which is great in NYC. The main noise was the dumpsters being emptied pretty much every day, varying from 4am to 6am. The free Wifi and water is much appreciated - high end hotels charging for bottled water is a pet peeve of mine! The happy 'hour' (actually 3 hours) was very nice, though we only were able to go once. The location is great, a couple blocks from the subway but away from the major noise areas of town. All in all, I would certainly recommend Hotel Giraffe.

Room Tip: The higher up, the quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in NYC in December 2012 and chose Hotel Giraffe based on previous reviews and we weren't disappointed!

Location: Loads of places to eat nearby, and a good base to start from for many attractions. We opted to walk almost everywhere. At a standard pace it's roughly 45mins from Central Park (North end of the City) and 45mins from Wall Street (South end of the City). Macys, Madison Square Garden, Empire State are all close (less than 20 mins). It's a bit quieter near Madison Square Park, which we actually liked, as it's nice to come back to the hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the big attractions.

Room: We were originally going to book a suite, but instead opted for a balcony guestroom with one king bed - we thought we'd prefer a single large room than smaller, segmented areas. We were very happy with the choice, our room (407) was surprisingly spacious, with a big and very comfy bed. Shower was also excellent. We did experience a bit of trouble with the heating system (it was too cool for our liking) but we spoke to reception and they seemed to fix it - we came back later in the day and the room was much warmer.

Breakfast: Breakfast was perfect, nice and light and a great way to start the day. Good selection of bagels, cereals, pastries, fruit, oatmeal and hard-boiled eggs. We ate loads of junk food while out and about, so it was always nice to wake up and get something healthier before we set off.

The cheese and wine in the evenings is a very nice touch, but on most days we were too busy to take advantage of it. From memory we only took part once, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Our week-long reservation was also for a special occasion - we got married in the City and the staff were fabulous in helping with our plans. Emily, the hotel's events manager, is fantastic and really helped make our day perfect.

The hotel doesn't have the wow factor of some of NYC's other properties, but we'll definitely stay here again on our next visit - the service is second to none.

Thank you again to everyone at Hotel Giraffe for a really wonderful stay!

P.S. One tip for an improvement: the breakfast area could do with a clock (I don't remember seeing one).

Room Tip: Balcony Guestroom with 1 King Bed is an excellent choice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colonel_Rafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews