We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,329)
Filter reviews
4,329 results
Traveler rating
3,569
637
91
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,569
637
91
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesepark avenuenew yorksmall balconycontinental breakfastevery eveningrooftop gardenflatiron districtbagelsunion squareking suitehard boiled eggsboutique hotelturn down servicefresh fruitshake shackgreat boutique
Filter
Updating list...
2,693 - 2,698 of 4,329 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Giraffe for a week over New Year's. Upon arrival, the restaurant was closed (10:10pm) but they directed us immediately to a deli a block away where take-away was easy for return to our room. The lobby was smaller than it looked in the pictures, but very pleasant with snacks and hot drinks available. Sometimes difficult to find a table for breakfast, but you can take a tray to your room. It was very thoughtful that a family member could join us for breakfast. The room was a fairly typical hotel room, but clean, pleasant and relatively quiet which is great in NYC. The main noise was the dumpsters being emptied pretty much every day, varying from 4am to 6am. The free Wifi and water is much appreciated - high end hotels charging for bottled water is a pet peeve of mine! The happy 'hour' (actually 3 hours) was very nice, though we only were able to go once. The location is great, a couple blocks from the subway but away from the major noise areas of town. All in all, I would certainly recommend Hotel Giraffe.

Room Tip: The higher up, the quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in NYC in December 2012 and chose Hotel Giraffe based on previous reviews and we weren't disappointed!

Location: Loads of places to eat nearby, and a good base to start from for many attractions. We opted to walk almost everywhere. At a standard pace it's roughly 45mins from Central Park (North end of the City) and 45mins from Wall Street (South end of the City). Macys, Madison Square Garden, Empire State are all close (less than 20 mins). It's a bit quieter near Madison Square Park, which we actually liked, as it's nice to come back to the hotel away from the hustle and bustle of the big attractions.

Room: We were originally going to book a suite, but instead opted for a balcony guestroom with one king bed - we thought we'd prefer a single large room than smaller, segmented areas. We were very happy with the choice, our room (407) was surprisingly spacious, with a big and very comfy bed. Shower was also excellent. We did experience a bit of trouble with the heating system (it was too cool for our liking) but we spoke to reception and they seemed to fix it - we came back later in the day and the room was much warmer.

Breakfast: Breakfast was perfect, nice and light and a great way to start the day. Good selection of bagels, cereals, pastries, fruit, oatmeal and hard-boiled eggs. We ate loads of junk food while out and about, so it was always nice to wake up and get something healthier before we set off.

The cheese and wine in the evenings is a very nice touch, but on most days we were too busy to take advantage of it. From memory we only took part once, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Our week-long reservation was also for a special occasion - we got married in the City and the staff were fabulous in helping with our plans. Emily, the hotel's events manager, is fantastic and really helped make our day perfect.

The hotel doesn't have the wow factor of some of NYC's other properties, but we'll definitely stay here again on our next visit - the service is second to none.

Thank you again to everyone at Hotel Giraffe for a really wonderful stay!

P.S. One tip for an improvement: the breakfast area could do with a clock (I don't remember seeing one).

Room Tip: Balcony Guestroom with 1 King Bed is an excellent choice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colonel_Rafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Giraffe for 3 nights in a double deluxe room with balcony. Room was tastefully furnished and rate included continental breakfast of fresh pastries, diy toast, cereals, fruits and hot and cold beverages. Located in Flatiron district, close to Eataly, an amazing italian gourmet foods deli/cafe/restaurant. Also walking distance to Macy's (10 mins).
What I really liked was that the room was quiet as we stayed in Times Square for a week prior and got woken up every night there because of noise from the street.
Room size - comfortable for our family of 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 younger children. Might be a bit "crowded" if 4 adults sharing.
Pros - quiet location, friendly staff and proximity to subway, restaurants and shopping.
Cons- breakfast area was always crowded and tables at a premium, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but you could go down and help yourself to coffee and tea anytime from guest lounge.
Sum-up
Hotel is lovely for people who don't mind catching subway to Broadway shows, uptown or Soho and Chinatown areas. Area also felt really safe and clean, as basically a business district with offices surrounding it. Walking distance to Union Square Green market - small outdoor market selling lovely fresh fruit, vegies, meat and a great barista.

Room Tip: request room on higher floor and away from main street, if you like a quiet room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The check-in was efficient and the staff were very kind and helpful. The rooms were lovely. We liked the balcony and the windows. The staff comes by in the evening to turn down the bed, close the shade for the morning light and leave mints for the guests. The room and bathroom were very clean. The free wifi was a benefit, as was the breakfast in the morning. We stayed at the Giraffe for two nights, on a Sat and Sun. Because it was after the holidays, we received a very good rate for a hotel in New York City. And we were very pleased with our choice of hotel I would definitely recommend The Giraffe Hotel. It is centrally located, clean, free wifi, free breakfast and a wine and cheese reception for three hours in the evening. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the seventh floor. It had a king size bed and was very large for a New York City hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed one night at The Hotel Giraffe at the end of December. We were greeted and welcomed to the hotel by very professional front desk staff. They informed us of the food and activities offered in the lobby.

Our room was located on the fourth floor, facing 26th street. The room was beautifully decorated, extremely clean, and modern. The bathroom was well lit and offered plenty of space. Good closet and dresser space.

Our favorite detail of the room was the floor to ceiling glass doors that open up to a small private balcony.

The hotel offers a nice cold breakfast in the morning with plenty of cereal and bagels. After we checked out, we left our baggage with the hotel staff for the entire day.

My only complaint is that the street noise was loud, but this is NYC.

We would stay here again and hope you do too

Room Tip: Rooms facing Park Ave are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkoven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews