We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel that goes extra mile when the chips are down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #3 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hotel that goes extra mile when the chips are down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Giraffe over the period of Sandy. First before we arrived from UK we received a call checking arrival time and details. Second the Hotel noticed that both my wife and I were having an anniversary so provided FOC an upgrade and chocolates and wine on arrival. What service. First class. Then Sandy struck no power and initially no water, then no hot water. The team led by Peter were great. Nothing was too much trouble they even managed to keep breakfast available. As ever a bit more lateral thinking could have offered more, but given the context the team did fantastic. Would I stay again Yes! Yes! Yes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,827
    568
    80
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,026
1,372
179
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I typically stay in a Soho boutique hotel while in NY but had the opportunity to try the Giraffe and was amazed by the service and space. The lobby doesn't do the rooms justice, once I stepped into my room, it was huge! A full living area, hallway as well as a big bedroom made me feel like I was in the comfort of my own home. The complimentary breakfast of cereal, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit and selection of breads and coffee was amazing and evening wine/cheese was delicious and such an added benefit for staying at the hotel. I would recommend to anyone traveling to NY.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisaduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on a recent trip to NY for 4 nights. Saw it had got great reviews and hotel didn't disappoint. Staff are friendly and helpful, room was very impressive (we stayed in a room with a queen size bed). Room essentially had a separate lounge area with nice sofa and huge plasma tv, and armchair. Also DVD/cd player. Bedroom decent size, also with tv and iPod docking station. Room was quiet considering we were overlooking park ave south.
Continental breakfast good - also facilities in lounge on ground floor to make drinks etc during the day. And finally free cheese and wine in lounge every evening between 5-8. Overall a great stay in a great hotel. Would recommend this place to anyone and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We love this hotel. We've stayed at one of it's sister hotels, the Élysées and also love it. We tried this one only to experience a different part of the city. We have not been disappointed. Great fresh breakfast with fresh fruit, cereal, skim as well as regular milk which is an extra bonus for me(can't always get it), juice, coffee, bananas, mini muffins, and more. As well we have taken part in the wine and cheese every night so far-really enjoyed the service, atmosphere, amenities, just fabulous. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Oh yeah and for the rooms, lots of counter space in the bathroom, turn down service (good dark chocolates!), fast wifi, very nice staff everywhere (from front desk to housekeeping to the wonderful ladies serving wine and breakfast). If you can't already tell-this place is great!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marrcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Absolutely marvelous experience; my single Queen came w a suite, wonderful desks; computer hook ups and plenty of outlets
For charging iPads and cell phones; lovely breakfast, snacks and wines w crudités and cheese in evening; feels as if one I'd in an exclusive private condo- will always use this hotel- comfort in everyway. Bath spacious and several magnifying mirrors.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Unfortunately we haven't gotten to stay here yet, but I wanted to share that the Hotel Giraffe is a first rate operation. Due to an unforeseen medical situation, we had to cancel our "uncancellable" reservations at the last minute. The manager promptly called my husband back and allowed us to cancel the entire stay without charge. What a pleasant surprise to see folks who are compassionate and understanding. I hope very soon we can stay at HG.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ncamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We visited the week before Sandy. We were lucky to enjoy fabulous sunshine, central location and excellent service. The staff were attentive and everything was to a high standard.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,448 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing