We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay at Hotel Giraffe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay at Hotel Giraffe”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel Giraffe was a lovely place to stay for our weekend in the Big Apple. From the moment we arrived we were looked after so well by the hotel team. This is a lovely small, quiet and intimate hotel where jazz music is played in the main lobby which also contained a piano where a pianist performed in the early evening whilst we the guests indulged in the complimentary cheese and wine, how very civilised! Our room was spacious with a balcony and tastefully decorated with slippers and bathrobe available for use, how wonderful. We also must mention the fabulous breakfast which was also complimentary, fresh bagels; bread; pastries; fresh fruit cocktail and cereal and yoghurts, what else could we ask for. Close to central Manhattan and a short walk to the subway. Highly recommended place to stay. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luckylucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,009
    583
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,102
1,452
184
427
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Giraffe for 4 nights to celebrate her special birthday. We had a wonderful time in New York and this hotel is exceptional. We could not fault the hotel at all. We each had our own room with a balcony which was lovely and had everything we could possible need. The bathroom was well equipped with luxurious towels, toiletries etc. It was kept spotlessly clean. The buffet breakfast was delicious with a good variety of tasty food. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel had a very personal feel about it, unlike larger hotels which can be rather impersonal. We did feel that the breakfast area in the lounge would benefit by having more tables but we always managed to find somewhere to sit so it was not too much of a problem. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay at the Hotel Giraffe if we visit New York again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having rooms with a balcony. The weather was very warm whilst we were there so it was lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MalKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautifully appointed and spacious hotel. The decore is very hip and modern. Free wi-fi, tea and cookies and wine and cheese is a real plus! Rooms are not very well soundproofed but not too bad.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TraveLoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, great non tourist trap restaurants in the vicinity and access to whatever you need. I recommend this place to those that want to experience NYC but don't want cookie cutter chain hotels. Great for business travel too.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel Giraffe is in a great, safe location. Although more expensive than some other nice options we had, we have no complaints. Stayed 4 nights in Oct and the staff were great. Room was good size for New York. The only issue we had was that the roof top bar and outdoor area was closed down for repair and you could not experience that. It is one of the reasons we choose the hotel over another and feel like we should have been told in advance it would not be available since we had reservations a few months out. It would have been appropriate for a slight discount on our stay since all amenities were not available to us. We would LOVE to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

+ Food and wine + breakfast very fresh
_ not enough seating in dining room large piano in middle of room and during busy periods if your not early you will find yourself either standing or eating your food on your lap!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larold8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I found Hotel Giraffe on the HotelTonight app, it wasn't the least expensive option, but for a one-time splurge, it turned out to be perfect. When you NEED to be in downtown-midtown Manhattan, then you're going to pay for the privelege, no two ways about it. The location is a little south of the main Times Square/Broadway activities, but the subway and taxis will get you where you're going in short order.

The room decor is warm and urban all at once. Even without a balcony, you get a great view out upon E 26th Street and looking down Park Ave, pretty cool. When you see Park Ave all lined up with bright yellow cabs, you know you're in New York City! The bathroom is sparkly spotless, with lots of unexpected amenities beyond your little shampoos and soaps. I've never been to a hotel which supplied q-tips, cotton balls and TWO extra boxes of tissue, they think of everything here. It was a rainy day and night so besides the plush robe hanging in the closet, there was also a big, old-fashioned black-handled umbrella, another surprise.

Front desk staff was courteous and efficient, the minute I walked up to the counter they had my reservation, recognized it as from Hotel Tonight, and checked me in immediately, with the same professionalism as if I'd paid the rack rate. The included breakfast buffet was fantastic, they even have a lovely attendant who brings you your coffee or cappuccino to you once you've sat down. It's a tranquil start to your day which doesn't go unnoticed, that's for sure.

There's a nice Italian restaurant in the hotel basement too, called Bread and Tulips. You get a 20% discount card upon checkin, but when I mentioned this card and that I'd neglected to bring it down from my room, the waiter said it was no problem, the discount was a given without question. The baby beet salad was unusual and tasty, and the chocolate mousse (with hazelnut gelato,) was just pure bliss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
1,377 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 467 in New York City
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 467 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing