We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lex NYC(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park South Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The MAve Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The New York EDITION(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Deauville(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Redbury New York(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The James New York-NoMad(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (4,076)
Filter reviews
4,076 results
Traveler rating
3,340
617
88
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,340
617
88
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesepark avenuenew yorksmall balconycontinental breakfastevery eveningrooftop gardenbagelsflatiron districtunion squareking suitehard boiled eggsboutique hotelturn down serviceshake shackfresh fruitgreat boutique
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,523 - 2,528 of 4,076 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is a beautifully appointed and spacious hotel. The decore is very hip and modern. Free wi-fi, tea and cookies and wine and cheese is a real plus! Rooms are not very well soundproofed but not too bad.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank TraveLoggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Friendly staff, great non tourist trap restaurants in the vicinity and access to whatever you need. I recommend this place to those that want to experience NYC but don't want cookie cutter chain hotels. Great for business travel too.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel Giraffe is in a great, safe location. Although more expensive than some other nice options we had, we have no complaints. Stayed 4 nights in Oct and the staff were great. Room was good size for New York. The only issue we had was that the roof top bar and outdoor area was closed down for repair and you could not experience that. It is one of the reasons we choose the hotel over another and feel like we should have been told in advance it would not be available since we had reservations a few months out. It would have been appropriate for a slight discount on our stay since all amenities were not available to us. We would LOVE to visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

+ Food and wine + breakfast very fresh
_ not enough seating in dining room large piano in middle of room and during busy periods if your not early you will find yourself either standing or eating your food on your lap!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larold8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I found Hotel Giraffe on the HotelTonight app, it wasn't the least expensive option, but for a one-time splurge, it turned out to be perfect. When you NEED to be in downtown-midtown Manhattan, then you're going to pay for the privelege, no two ways about it. The location is a little south of the main Times Square/Broadway activities, but the subway and taxis will get you where you're going in short order.

The room decor is warm and urban all at once. Even without a balcony, you get a great view out upon E 26th Street and looking down Park Ave, pretty cool. When you see Park Ave all lined up with bright yellow cabs, you know you're in New York City! The bathroom is sparkly spotless, with lots of unexpected amenities beyond your little shampoos and soaps. I've never been to a hotel which supplied q-tips, cotton balls and TWO extra boxes of tissue, they think of everything here. It was a rainy day and night so besides the plush robe hanging in the closet, there was also a big, old-fashioned black-handled umbrella, another surprise.

Front desk staff was courteous and efficient, the minute I walked up to the counter they had my reservation, recognized it as from Hotel Tonight, and checked me in immediately, with the same professionalism as if I'd paid the rack rate. The included breakfast buffet was fantastic, they even have a lovely attendant who brings you your coffee or cappuccino to you once you've sat down. It's a tranquil start to your day which doesn't go unnoticed, that's for sure.

There's a nice Italian restaurant in the hotel basement too, called Bread and Tulips. You get a 20% discount card upon checkin, but when I mentioned this card and that I'd neglected to bring it down from my room, the waiter said it was no problem, the discount was a given without question. The baby beet salad was unusual and tasty, and the chocolate mousse (with hazelnut gelato,) was just pure bliss.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews