We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantstic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #2 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Enjoyed buffet breakfast and nightly wine & cheese. Atmospheric bar on roof (although sometimes unavailable if booked out). Great location. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,282 - 2,288 of 3,816 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

It's not the trendiest, or even the most lively hotel in Manhattan, but if you are looking for a great hotel with impeccable rooms, great service, a great location and at a really good price, then this is it. We've stayed at numerous hotels throughout the city over the years - the Waldorf Astoria, the Plaza, several W hotels and even the Marriott Marquis, but this one is right at the top of my list. There's no fancy restaurant or happening bar in the lobby so you'll have to leave to find your food and nightlife but that's exactly the way I want it. I've grown tired of pushing through a crowd of people hanging in the lobby for happy hour just to get to the elevator and most of the good restaurants aren't in the lobby of hotels anyway. The room was larger than many we've stayed in and had a balcony overlooking Park Avenue. Not something you see everyday in a NYC hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient and every evening they had free wine and cheese in the lobby. I did witness one guest turn their nose up at the "cheap" wine but hey, it's free. All in all a great experience. Believe all the great reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

we just completed a 4 night stay and would highly recommend this hotel. Wonderful service, amenities, spotless and tasteful. We enjoyed the evening wine and cheese while listening to Sinatra playing in the background. Great safe location. Awesome!!

Room Tip: king with balcony-opened the doors to take in the sounds of the city-so exciting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinPackerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Great location friendly generous !
I called at the last minute and front desk gave me a great rate. When I arrived everyone was so friendly. My room was well appointed extremely comportable. A nice surprise is there Italian reastaurant is wonderful and guest receive 20% off.
Breakfast and wine and cheese are complimentary chocolates and turn down.
Love this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed five nights here and really enjoyed it. As soon as we stepped out of the cab the attentive service started. I'm always hesitant that reviews will not live up to the truth, however they are pretty spot on. After touring the city and seeing the locations of other hotels that we had considered, we were very glad that we chose Hotel Giraffe.

I don't want to repeat what has already been said of the great amenities, location, and great hotel restaurant. I can't say enough about the service though, we were especially impressed with the doorman Jose, what a asset to the property.

Next time we come to NYC we are coming back here!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjpez7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location, employees are very nice, rooms are larger than we thought by NYC standards, definitely would consider staying here again.

Bathrooms had an unusual configuration but were good with water and so forth. We had a balcony room, which was nice but not large enough to sit on but good for letting in fresh air.

Free breakfast was nice, the laptop and printer in the lobby was handy and no complaints about the valet parking service (seems like they use another company).

Overall, a great experience and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms don't have a fantastic view or anything, but the balconies are nice to let in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great hotel in good location, close to subway. As the hotel is not too big, service is more personal and friendly. Rooms are nice and modern and a good size for NYC. Rooms have free wi-fi, ipod docking station, iron, mini-bar. Our room even had a little balcony. There is a free breakfast buffet and wine and cheese every night. Check-out is at 1:00PM so no need to rush on your last day. I've stayed in many different hotels in NYC and this one will definitely become one of my favourites.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 469 in New York City
438 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 469 in New York City
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 469 in New York City
787 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $271 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing