We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, impeccable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, impeccable hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Giraffe several times and it is a stand out experience for New York City. The hotel is impeccably clean, comfortable and conveniently located. The rooms are unique in that many offer small balconies over looking Park Ave with floor to ceiling windows. Yet the rooms are strikingly quiet. The complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments make the hotel an inviting respite before or after business or touring. But what makes the hotel stand out among its peers is the friendly and warm staff. On one stay we were moving our daughter into her college dorm and the staff helped with storing large bags we sent in advance, making sure we had help with the move in, providing advice on local shops for her to buy things she needed for her dorm room--and each and every staff member assisted with a smile on their face as it was a team effort to help us. On another stay we were upgraded to a suite without asking--again, the staff just wanted to do everything to make us feel welcome and invited. You really feel like you are in a small town environment not in the middle of NYC. We always look forward to our stay as we know the staff will warmly greet us and give us a top notch experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravellersX6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,911
    577
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,055
1,410
181
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We loved this elegant small hotel. Nice location with easy access to all the high points. 2 metro stops nearby. Charming place, very well put together. Nice breakfast plus wine/cheese....many days we just ate one meal out at noon. Staff was very personable, in particular Jose. Beautiful rooms. And a complimentary bottle of wine for my birthday!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spauldingUrbana_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I wanted my bachelorette party to be in NYC for a fun weekend getaway. Most of us flew in on a Friday morning from various parts of the country, and our rooms were understandably not ready yet. So we were able to have breakfast and hang out in the lobby. We were impressed with them immediately, and the service only got better from there.

Travelling with a large group of young women is difficult enough, but how the staff accommodated us was outstanding. They were very patient with us, and knowing it was a special occasion for me they went above and beyond.

Some highlights:

- Location is great
- The cocktail reception is a really nice touch
- Rooms are very comfortable

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnhkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

If you just want to be alone away from it all for a romantic week-end, this is a good choice. It is right around the corner from 11 Madison Park, which is the great restaurant of the neighborhood, so a late dinner there followed by a retreat to the hotel is a good combination.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeK832655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I will keep this short and to the point: Hotel Giraffe has a great, helpful staff. The rooms are extremely well laid out and every inch of space is well used. It is located in a fantastic part of Manhattan. We could have not done better. I plan to return to Giraffe each time we travel to Manhattan. Rooms are quiet and housekeeping is superb.

Dave Zachau

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our expectations were met in every way. Having done a lot of research particularly on Trip Advisor we were happy with this hotel from the moment of arrival with a very helpful front desk right through to our departure after five great nights over Christmas. On a couple of occasions the tables were fully occupied at Breakfast but this soon cleared. Location is superb for accessing everthing tourists need. Cabs and subway are great and walk as much as you can to nearby places. Recommend The ShakeShack in Madison Square Park and Eataly both of which are close. We also prepaid in advance direct to the Hotel to obtain a discount on the tariff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here with family in town - the extended family loved it! The staff was very friendly and approachable - also knowledgeable about things to do in the city and where to go. The rooms are a good size, plus having a balcony is so nice. Room/bathroom was clean and modern and lovely. The lobby has a nice atmosphere - so nice to sit and relax away from the bustle of the city! Had a wonderful stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
932 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelPower, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing