We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Baby friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giraffe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe
Ranked #4 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
london central
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Baby friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2007

We stayed at the Giraffe this spring, with our six month old baby, for four nights. We had a suite which was more expensive (around $500) but we wanted two rooms for baby-free evenings and this seemed to be the best option for this in the city.

We were so glad to have booked here - there was the potential for it to be a stressful trip, but being at the Giraffe made hotel life with a baby smoother than it has been in other hotels, however lovely they may be in other ways. The suite was small and a little dark, but very comfortable, great bed, and best of all with a CD player as well as the cable TV, so we could enjoy our evenings (liked the room service with prices the same as the restaurant below, and a very reasonable one-off service charge rather than a percentage). The atmosphere in the bar downstairs was intimate, warm and calm - lovely barmen in the evening, and a pianist every night - it offered the home away from home that you really need in New York, and that I had not found in any other hotel. The area is great, nothing special just outside the door, but an easy walk to Union Square and surrounding shops. The staff were great, just normal and friendly, not the supercool doormen you can find elsewhere.

I'd stayed at the Paramount, Royalton, W's Lexington and Times Square, and Gershwin, pre-baby, overall this was the most satisfying experience of all.

  • Liked — atmosphere
  • Disliked — ordinary bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twoplusonetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,397
    517
    72
    17
    10
See reviews for
847
1,191
162
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2007

Just returned from 2 nights at the Hotel Giraffe. Beautiful hotel, nice location. Very nice room, average-to-small size. Pleasant but inpersonal staff.
Minuses:
1. Water pressure: every time either of us took a shower, the water completely cut off for about a minute during the middle of the shower. Not fun.
2. "Gourmet European Breakfast" very poor quality. Really bad, old fruit salad. Not nice pastries. Disappointing.
3. Housekeeping: came back to the room at 4:30 after being out since 9 am and room hadn't been cleaned.

Overall, very pretty hotel, but for the very expensive price (over $800 for two nights) I expected a little better.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank beezneez123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

The staff were freindly and helpful, hotel was immaculate, room to die for! Complimentary wine, champagne and breakfast and also in a fairly good location!

You will be hard pushed to beat this hotel!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank theoldershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado (San Diego)
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful get away to NYC. We traveled from San Diego and needed to arange care for our gaggle of six children we had left home. There was much planning but many things, including this hotel, made it worth the effort.

The common areas and rooms were simple and classy, yet warm and inviting. Beautiful bathroom, cozy robes, comfortable beds, and great linens were an excellent start. There were many extras that added much....turn down service with more fresh towels, an expesso/ coffee machine all day and night, always with a little something there to go with it (Nice continental breakfast, cookies, crackers and cheese.... depending on the time of day.) Neat to have a complimentary glass of good wine in the evening too.

What really made this place special however was the service and the people who work there. The staff were a very international group, which we loved. There were incredibly attentive, but not overbearing. Always there with a quiet charm. We often asked for help getting a cab ( it is an art!) and they were always accommodating and didn't seem the least bit put out. We felt like royalty! A young gentleman recommended Celani's....a great recommendation. He was so fond of it, we thought about asking him along! We were also graciously accommodated with early check in as our room was ready, and a little later checkout as well.

I must admit that before we arrived I was a bit worried about the possible attitude of the staff, as a rare previous review had suggested that they could be cold and inattentive (and I read ALL the reviews!). During our four day stay, this never happened. We think of ourselves as friendly and down to earth and did not want to feel snubbed...but we also did not want to be overwhelmed. The staff was perfect.

Bottom line: An incredibly special place that is elegant, warm, and not a bit pretentious. HIGHLY recommended. (We are already working on figuring out a way to return!)

  • Liked — Elegant accomodations and terrific staff
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CoronadoGaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

We stayed at Hotel Giraffe for 5 nights at the beginning of November. Our 8th floor room was roomy, elegantly decorated and quiet considering it is in the centre of a city that really is 24/7! It was a good place to escape back to after days packed with sightseeing, eating and shopping. We found the staff polite and the bottle of wine they left in our room for my birthday was a nice touch. We liked the laid back approach to breakfast in the reception area. Others must share the view that the building looks quite 'New York' as Sex and the City was being filmed right outside when we were there! Good value for money and probably more laid back and 'NY' than the big name hotels, which could be in any city anywhere in the world. (Ref comment below re lifts, yes we did have to wait a while for the lifts but we were on holiday so sometimes it is good to be forced to slow down!! Didn't change the fact this is a great hotel in it's price bracket)

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Just returned from first visit to America - New York is a fantastic city to visit and our stay was made even better by this great hotel. Accommodation is as featured on the website and the staff were efficient and friendly. The breakfast is great to set you up before a day of sightseeing and the complementary glass of wine rounds the day off nicely. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Liked — Great location - peace and quiet was welcome
  • Disliked — Having to leave it!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank crippen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

This was a delightful oasis in the middle of Manhattan. I used to live in NY and love coming back to the old neighborhood to visit. Staying at this hotel made me feel like I was part of NY again. The rooms are clean, the staff is gracious, and little niceties like flowers on the table at breakfast in a well lite lobby made it a haven of civility.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank chidak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,512 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 4,877 reviews
Upper East Side
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#2 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,084 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#10 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe

Property: Hotel Giraffe
Address: 365 Park Ave S, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Giraffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing