We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments with a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill
Reviewed June 7, 2013

If you are looking for a good size apartment with everything you need for a very comfortable stay at a great price look no further. Apartment 4b was great and although you had to walk through one bedroom to get to the living area, this was not a problem (I believe this is unique to this apartment).

You are only a block away from Central Park and a couple of blocks from the subway (6 train). It is on the upper east side so good if you do not need to (or want to) stay in the bustling centre of NY.

There is a great bar next door which serves good drink and very good food and others within walking distance.

My only criticism would be there was no full length mirror (which is obviously a girl thing - or is it?!)

Anyway would highly recommend for price and the communication from Oxbridge was excellent and everything was well organised.

Thanks Oxbridge

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked our stay here as the hotel we had chosen became fully booked whilst we were deliberating! Lucky for us though as this apartment was amazing. The location was fantastic and the apartment itself was fantastic. It was really spacious and very clean. It also had free wifi which was great for us looking up attractions and taxis etc.

On the first day we realised the wireless wasn't working. There was a number to call to report it, and a phone in the apartment so we didn't need to spend lots of money on our mobiles. We went out the next day and when we came back it was fixed.

The only downside to this apartment was that it was up two flights of very narrow stairs, a nightmare when you are female and don't pack lightly! (and we were there for a week so we had a lot of stuff!).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kailee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Decent sized apartment at a good price for Manhattan, close to Central Park with plenty of good shops and restaurants. On the downside, the apartment was a little tired with an idiosynchratic layout for the two bedrooms. From the larger bedroom, you had to walk through the second bedroom to get to the rest of the apartment. Despite double glazing, the ridiculous method of installing an air conditioner meant that every noise in the street (and it is a very noisy street) echoed in the main bedroom. There is no elevator and a narrow staircase which makes suitcases a real chore.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Our first trip to NYC and eventually decided on an apartment after checking out the eye-watering cost of Hotels in Manhattan, makes London look a bargain. Always the positives first. The apartment was roomy and more than adequate for our needs, clean and with all the facilities you would want. Wifi was fine but lacking in TV channels for America, most places you stay have dozens! CNN would have been nice. Good coffee and bagels just over the road and pleasant bar/restaurant right next door. Central Park just a block away, the subway probably a brisk 7/8 minute walk. Only one line goes up the East side, which is a bit limiting. The cost was OK, certainly not a bargain but bearable. Locale is fine, on the edge of the very ritzy Upper East side with some amazing mansions on Madison and 5th Avenue.

Not so good? Up 3 flights of stairs so beware if you have serious luggage. As mentioned by others, key collection is on 5th Avenue and a good 12/15 minute walk away from the apartment, not easy with bags. Madison Ave is noisy but to be expected really, but the delivery trucks and rubbish collection people are out and about very early indeed. Do not expect a cheerful welcome, there is no person to person contact at all. Everything done by email and phone if you have to. Instructions are precise but hardly welcoming and accompanied by a long list of things that are strictly not permitted, accompanied with the appropriate sanctions if you are in breach! Check out is 10am and bags can be left until 12pm and absolutely no later. A request to extend this to 2pm (we had a late flight) was met with a flat no.

I am probably being a little unfair here as the apartment was fine and I would use it again if I needed to be in the vicinity. That said when they say Upper East Side they are not kidding; Downtown is some way away. Recommended with reservations.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Nice place, quite, clean, comfortable, well connected to the rest of the city.

Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
Thank novecento72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Trying to find this place was the first upset, the location is actually called "The Diplomat" not oxbridge apartments which was frustrating. Couldn't check in till 4pm and doorman said we can leave items in lobby only but he is not responsible for them. Was very dusty, and paper on the door said that we need to clean our own room, recycle, and throw out trash. Not what I planned for a vacation. Which made me think they did not clean their apartments. Barley had any channels on the tv, most allowed were in spanish, which was fine for me since I know spanish, but my boyfriend was not too happy. Bed was very creaky and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank collegegirl360808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We had no problems with staying at the apartment. It was a little strange to just check in a few blocks away, get the key from a doorman and head to our rented apartment, but it was also awesome. Nice to have a full kitchen, wifi, great cable channels when we just wanted to rest a bit from running around the city. A bit of a walk from the subway (4-5-6), but you can't really avoid subway trips in the city.
Lots of space in the apartment, too- bedroom had two twin beds, futon would have slept someone, and someone could have also slept on the fold out chair (futon style, as well). Would be great for a group.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenngreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#220 of 468 in New York City
768 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#386 of 468 in New York City
709 reviews
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#172 of 468 in New York City
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#282 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 468 in New York City
734 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#86 of 468 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill

Address: 1412 Madison Avenue, East 97 St., Carnegie Hill, New York City, NY 10029-6941
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $155 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing