We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oxbridge Apartments Carnegie Hill
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$274
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$172
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$324
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
8
8
9
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
8
9
5
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 37 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2007

We've just come back from a twelve night stay in Apartment 2A. I was going to write a long review but to be in my opinion the comments by 'Flinderella' below are pretty much spot on.

The apartments are't perfect but decent value for money. To be honest the only two gripes I'd have are that there were only two cups in the apartmentwhen they knew three of us were staying, so we had to go out and buy some mugs so all three of us could have a cuppa in the morning (essential for any Brits !). And the only other prob I encountered was the water wouldnt stayin the bathroom sink, which made having a shave a bit difficult.

They were clean and tidy though, one person having to sleep in the living are isn't ideal but we knew that before we went. Location wise they're ok. Most people on here suggest the tube which is two blocks away, but we walked round to 5th ave (5 mins walk) and theres a bus leading you straight into the central areas. Cost us $25 each for a seven day pass, and for that theres unlimited rides on the bus AND the tubes .. bargain !

If after a hard days sightseeing you want to go back to the apartment there didn't appear to be 'that' much to do in the immediate area (though there are a couple of decent restaurants within 5 min walk, Harattys & 3 Guys to name two). However on the last night we discovered 3d Ave (10 min walk) which has quite a few bars and restaurants .. we had our best night of the hols there, shame we left it so late to find it (on the recommendation of a Hanrattys waiter).

Overall its a decent apartment and in similar circumstances (three lads just out for the craic and a bit of sightseeing) or if there were just two of us I'd certainly consider staying there again.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank Wrex_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

I booked a room for the Oxbridge. I got a confirmation and they charged my credit card. Then they sent me an email less than 3 days before my trip telling me they overbooked and were canceling my deposit. Fortunately I checked my email, otherwise I would have been without a place to stay. They did not apologize or offer to help find another place. They cannot be trusted.

Stayed: June 2007
7  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2006

When we first arived at the Oxbridge apartment on East 98th Madison Avenue we went to collect our keys from a friendly, polite and helpful barman at Hanrattys who told us that they were not agents for the apartment although they give out the keys. We stayed for four nights and paid $875 US Dollars plus a $35 dollar deposit (Roughly £495 Sterling)
There were double locking doors into the apartments entrance hall and as we stepped through the doors and negotiated the stairs my first impression was "Oh no!". The two flights of stairs up to our apartment (2A) were steep creaky, dirty and shabbily decorated. The three of us held our breath as we opened the apartment door and found the condition of the stairs and entrance hall did not do justice to what was on seemed to be an attractive and quite spacious 1 bedroom apartment. The stairs do certainly not give a good first impression and could definitely do with a clean up and a lick of paint!

The apartment was Downtown and not very central to the main shopping areas but a metro station was only two blocks away on 96th Street on Lexington Avenue and the 6 Train Uptown was very frequent and cheap $10 for 6 journeys with plenty of warning where the next stop would be.

There were some nice little deli's, a chemist and a Starbucks within two blocks as well as a couple of restaurants very close by to the apartment and a chemist right next door.

BEDROOM
The apartment itself was well equipped. It had one bedroom with two single beds, bedside cabinet, chest of drawer, two lamps and a more than adequate sized wardrobe which made a good storage area for our suitcases. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, sitting on each bed was a fitted sheet, top sheet and a blanket which we did not think was going to be warm enough but turned out to be a good thing as the apartment was very warm indeed. We found the beds and the sofa bed very comfortable. The apartment also had air conditioning units which we found useful as it was quite warm day and night. The only grumble we would have had is that the walls and floorboards between apartments were very thin. While we are no bores (our ages are 25, 30 and 50) the people beside us were party animals and were walloping about the stair ways and apartment next to us like a herd of elephants at 3 and 4 oclock in the morning. The people above us were very early risers and from about 6.30am it was possible to hear every word of their conversations!

LIVING / KITCHEN AREA
The living area/kitchen area were all in one and the "living area" had a large 3 seater sofa which turned into a sofa bed at night for the third member of our party and there were extra duvets to accomodate this. There was also a fold out bed in the apartment which we did not need to use. There was a beautiful solid wood floor in the living area and the back wall was the original brick wall which was an attractive feature.

Beside the large sofa there was a smaller 2 seater sofa and the apartment came equipped with TV and remote control and CD/DVD player in the "living area". The only thing i would say is that the socket at the wall was loose and had come away from the wall quite a bit which could be dangerous.

The kitchen had a table with three chairs, cooker, fridge/freezer, kettle toaster and sink with cups and glasses in the cupboard and cutlery in the drawer. Fairy liquid, dishcloth and kitchen roll were also provided. The whole kitchen / living area was quite pleasant, the furniture / sofas etc were not that modern but it was clean and comfortable.


BATHROOM
The bathroom was a good size and probably would have been clean enough but for the fact that the person servicing the apartment had left the window opened. This meant that a lot of dust had got in and a few birds feathers, being quite fussy about a clean bathroom we took a bit of flash that we found in the kitchen and a cloth round it before using it.

The bath had a shower attachment and the water was always hot, even when one day after getting soaked the three of us had showers one after the other. In the welcome note it mentioned that we should not overfill the toilet to avoid extra charges for someone to come out and unblock it, although we didnt find a problem with the toilet at all.

There were three bath towels, three hand towels and three face cloths left on the kitchen table for us when we arrived and these were not replenished at all during our 4 night stay so we bought a few cheap towels in a shop in town (because we hadnt brought any with us!)and left them behind us.

OTHER THINGS
Management did not bother us at all apart from the first night we arrived, we had just got off an 8 hour flight and had been up for more than 28 hours so we were pretty exhausted and went to bed around 9pm at 10pm management called at the door wanting to know where our fuse box was, they only nipped in and nipped out and did apologise for disturbing us. That was the only time in 4 nights we saw or heard from management but we had been left a telephone and fax number for them in case we needed anything.
Although we had to be out of the apartment on the day of departure at 10 am we were delighted to read on the welcome sheet that we were able to leave our bags in the apartment as long as they were fully packed until 2pm. As our taxi to the airport was not arriving until 4pm this was great for us as it meant we could go back into the city centre and then returned at 2pm to take our bags and then had something to eat in Hanrattys bar until our taxi came. Overall the apartment was clean, comfortable and well equipped and if you dont mind being a little out of town i would recommend it for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Flinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We had just returned from a 10 day trip to the above apartment. There were four adults travelling but we needed three separate sleeping areas. We had exactly what we asked for the bedding was clean and plenty of it.

There were plenty of dishes and glasses etc and with a coffee maker, toaster, microwave and fridge you didn't have to go out. However with restaurants so cheap and just across the road or up a block and with a deli next door but one who needed to eat in.

If you are going to New York want a good value stay with close links to subway and the rest of Manhattan stay here I would recommend it to you as I have to friends already.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank oatrih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

Stayed here in August 2005.It was a good value place
to stay. Exactly as advertised. Spacious and convenient.
The only minor issue was that we asked to pick up the key in Hanrattys bar. However it was actually in the other address ( with the conceirge ).
Walls were thin, but we didn't have a problem with noise. Corridors were a bit shabbily painted though.
Overall, i would recommend compleatly to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank smiley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews