We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Three of us stayed here for a week.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #384 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Three of us stayed here for a week.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were attracted to the location and price. The room with two double beds had recently been renovated. The concierge was most helpful and gave good directions to find our way around New York. We walked a lot and used the subway and buses. there was a view from our window overlooking Central Park. We all agreed that if we returned to New York, we would stay there again.We have already recommended this private hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    502
    435
    173
    134
See reviews for
228
547
93
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koping
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is a great place for the budget traveller who don´t want to stay in a dormitory with 11 other people. Our room was clean and comfortable, but not so much more than that. A big plus to the hotel manager who followed my wife to the supermarket some blocks away in the late evening, just so she could feel safe and I could stay in the room and watch NBA.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex09150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

$200/night is alot, but apparently good for NYC. Staff was great. Excellent restaurant recommendations and transportation advice. Bathroom had been recently renovated. The towels were clean, but worn and torn. However, these were thicker than some new towels at other hotels. The room was dated and small, but bed was very comfortable. Not far from subway and across from Central Park. Great little restaurants and cafes were within walking distance. There is only 1 small elevator and it is slow. If climbing stairs is a problem, get a lower floor.

Room Tip: There isn't a restaurant or pool. There is wi-fi, but not free. There is television with sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NOLA2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room was was clean, but not fancy by any means. The staff greeted us as we came and left each day. The hotel is located a couple blocks from the 110th St subway station, across the street from Central Park. We did ask for a higher floor, as other reviewers suggested. We were on the 7th floor. The elevator is tiny - it's a tight fit with 3 people and luggage. There is no free wifi or any breakfast. You can get these down the street at a little cafe. It is a short subway ride into the center of things. If you want to be in the center of things this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor and/or with a park view.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay that was close to Central Park and not crowded. When we first arrived, the doorman/porter did not help us with our bags. Even the taxi driver said to us they never help the guests. Then when we walked to the front desk, he started flirting with me and I found it to be very disrespectful. That's exactly what he was doing outside with two women.

Elevator: Needs a bigger one. New one. We had to make 2 trips to get our luggage to our rooms. Not help from the porter.
Stairs: Small. Dirty.
Rooms: Small. A/C works poorly. One night it was hot and I couldn't sleep. That said, it was clean.

At first you think the hotel is clean, but when you go upstairs to the rooms you see that it needs some cleaning. Also, one of the front ladies was rude to us. Wish I knew her name! She works night shifts. When I get back to NYC, I won't be staying at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agents for a last minute trip. What a shock, what a dump. The rooms were filthy and there was a terrible stench. The rooms that were supposed to be with two double beds in fact had one bed that two grown men were supposed the share! The single room had a bed crammed into it so there was hardly any room to move. The carpet was so old and dirty that it had become black and flattened.The shower didn't work and the bathroom was filthy. We had no alternative but to stop the first night of our arrival but moved into another hotel at our own expense the following day. The lady at the reception didn't give a dam. This hotel nowhere near the centre of New York City. Avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: If you want a good room avoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddianem37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Plains, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It's the staff that make the difference here. The facility needs help, although it is kept reasonably clean. The location is either great (quiet, off-the-beaten-track, directly across from Central Park, relatively quiet) or mediocre (removed from most of the popular tourist attractions) depending on what you seek. I arrived by car just as a parking space become available across the street, and the front desk lady ran out and stood in it to hold it for me so I wouldn't need to pay for parking. And that was before I'd even arrived. Rooms are very small, but if you only plan to sleep here and be out working or playing all day, this is a great stop. Staff are happy to hold bags before or after your check-in(-out). They try to do anything they can to be helpful. This is not common in this town. If you need to entertain friends or clients in your hotel this is not the place, but if you just need a place to sleep you won't do better. Convenient to subway and bus transport, and many restaurants within a few blocks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#375 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#314 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#372 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#426 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#287 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,411 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#401 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Property: Astor on the Park
Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing