We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base”
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #398 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Not the nicest place I have ever stayed but... Very clean, friendly helpful staff and a lovely walk into the hussle and bussle of Times Square. If you are on a budget you couldnt go wrong its everything you need, a place to sleep after a busy New York day. We went as a family and had rooms next to each other. We arrived early and the staff looked after the luggage, they sorted out a car to take us to the airport. The little Deli nearby ( top of the park near the subway) did a lovely BLT for breakfast along with a coffee which was lovely to sit in the park and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

I used to live nearby here and like Astor on the Park because it is an authentic NYC neighborhood experience, away from the tourist masses. This is a mixed/diverse neighborhood - doorman buildings along Central Park West, brownstone walkups, and a big (not scary) housing project; Dominicans, African Americans, and whites; somewhat fancy restaurants as well as bodega sandwich shops and pizza joints. The neighborhood is the Upper West Side, or sometimes called here the Upper, Upper West Side, or SOHA - for South of Harlem (gotta love those NY real estate agents).

The best things about Astor on the Park: right across the street from Central Park! The A/B/C subway lines are a two-minute walk and the 1 line is a five-minute walk to Broadway and 103. And it is a slightly faded but sophisticated and attractive enough place at what are, for Manhattan, rock-bottom prices.

With the subway and plentiful cabs it is easy to get around greater NYC from here. Also very quick trip to LaGuardia if that is how you're coming in. Neighborhood attractions include Central Park (lovely walk to The Met and other park attractions), restaurants and nightlife (a lot of which are concentrated around Broadway), Morningside Heights (including Morningside Park, Columbia University, the famous Hungarian Pastry Shop, Cathedral of Saint John the Divine), the "Seinfeld" diner, and Harlem.

This is not the place for you if you require a giant room and full-service amenities like room service, hotel bar/restaurant, dry cleaning on site, 50 channels on cable, etc. But if you are looking for a convenient launching pad and prefer locals to hordes of tourists in Times Square, and would rather spend your money on dining and sightseeing than on sleeping arrangements, this is a great choice.

In August 2013, my nightly rate was about $135. Rooms include private bath. One unusual aspect of this hotel is you need to book not directly with the hotel, but with a reservation service (online or call), and you have to pay for your stay in advance. There are a number of services that will book for you, but maybe the best one is easyclicktravel.com - I believe they have the primary booking contract with the hotel, so you can probably get a better rate with them.

There were mostly foreign tourists last time I stayed here, and also it gets a lot of Columbia University families, as Columbia is nearby.

I have stayed here one time before and I will probably stay again, next time in NYC!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Astor on the Park was a great place to stay for people visiting the city. It is cheaply priced for NYC, located across from the NW side of Central Park in a safe neighborhood, and was generally everything you would want for a stay. The bedroom and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable, and the accommodations were "European": very compact and just what a person or couple needs to shower, sleep, and dress for touring. It is not luxury, but if your luggage remains in a hotel room all day while you are out exploring this is the place for you. Very quiet and located 3.5 blocks from a subway station. I thoroughly enjoyed staying here for my first NYC visit. The front desk staff is a little cold, but the cleaning service through the day was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MegMcKilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice people to deal with which can be hard to find in NYC. Rooms were very clean and bed was comfy. Definitely will recommend this place to anyone I know traveling to NYC. The taxi fare to/ from Times Square was reasonable if your not interested in trying to figure out the subway system. And Central Park is literally right across the street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorisummers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We're used to staying in basic hotels, but the room we were given at the Astor was depressing. The walls are scuffed, the fictures and fittings loo rather beaten up. The room was on the fourth floor it looked out over the park, but the windows were so dirty this wasn't much of an advantage. The a/c unit was badly fitted into the window and was so noisy that we couldn't leave it on at night. The bed was large, clean and comfortable and the room wasn't as small as some we've stayed in in American cities. The bathroom was the high point, clean and modern. However as another reviewer has commented the hot water can be issue, I scalded myself when it suddenly went from warm to very hot. The cleanliness of the room overall was fine, but the carpet was very dirty. The Astor is a long way from anywhere decent to eat, unless you want basic fast food, the exception is the local deli a block or so north which does decent breakfasts and Turkish food in the evening. The hotel is close to the subway and it's easy to get downtown, that and the proximity to Central Park are the main plus points. I get the strong impression that there's a real mix of rooms at the Astor, looking at some of the photos posted here it could be a different hotel to the one we stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SJH1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I obtained a fantastic rate for at this hotel a short stay in New York. I had stayed here before and knew what to expect. Location right on Central Park, 3 blocks walk to the subway. It takes about 20 minutes to get to midtown. Staff are helpful. But the hotel is tired and in great need of refurbishment. As a place to lay your head, fine. No in-house breakfast facility, but there is a deli inn the same block.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you’re looking for a clean, convenient and economical hotel, you may want to check this one out. By no means is it fancy, but it is located just a few blocks from the C train that takes you downtown to where lots of action takes place. I didn’t get to explore Central Park (literally across the street) or the surrounding neighborhood too much. However, I felt safe walking to/from the subway at night. It is located in a quiet Upper West Side neighborhood – within walking distance to Harlem. It is not near Times Square, the Theater District or any of the more popular tourist attractions. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I went with a friend for the long July 4th weekend and they told us exactly where to go for the best view of the fireworks and suggested a great neighborhood deli to get snacks. I would definitely stay there again, even on a solo trip.

Room Tip: Hotel has typical NYC size rooms - very small with a view of "the building next door". I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldengirl1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 471 in New York City
656 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#326 of 471 in New York City
1,594 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#395 of 471 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#436 of 471 in New York City
2,041 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#414 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#445 of 471 in New York City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $77 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing