We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh.”
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #394 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Eh.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It's basically in Central Park and pretty close to the Subway (should you feel game enough, keep hand sanitizer handy!)

No park views, small room, friendly staff, no free wifi (you have to pay $10 and its mediocre at best) - the worst part is a lack of a fridge in the room, would have been great to keep some water bottles etc cool.

Does everything a basic hotel needs to, not like you're going to be spending your whole holiday in the room anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    523
    464
    180
    149
See reviews for
242
593
102
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at midnight in the new york rain the hotel seemed pretty far away for the new york we expected. However the sun shone after a good sleep and we realised we were on the west side of central park with a good view of central manhattan.
Hotel is basic but just what you need in my opinion. Comfy clean and great shower.
No services in the hotel really. Just the room and some vending machines. Staff ok.
All in all. A great time in new york with a base which was good enough and at a budget price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

A hotel that is across the street from Central Park. A good value in New York City. The people that work there are friendly and nice.
It reminds of a European hotel. Small elevators and rooms. Needed help to know how to get the shower head to work.
The room only has about 10 TV channels. The reception isn't good.
Only 1 key for the room.
They allowed us to check in early. Very good with answering our questions.
Not a hotel that I am used too. If you want a good value in Central Park, it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcmonogram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a quiet friendly place we needed. Friendly staff and good location. The subway is nearby. Rooms are small but this is expected in NYC. We had to switch to a different room due to noisy air conditioning, the staff were happy to offer a better one. Would stay here again unless Ritz or Roosevelt can match the rate :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneyfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was clean and tidy all be it a little basic. The position is fantastic; just on the edge of Central Park; close to the metro and we were even able to attend a free concert at the local cathedral around the corner put on by the New York Philharmonic orchestra. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: the rooms on the higher floors have balconies which might be quite nice. We had a lower floor. Bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junder2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just been there for a few days ago for a couples of days visit. Booked the room through hotwire (for around 160usd/night) and this could possibly be the biggest mistake I've done.

The hotel itself was small and fairly runned-down, located in end of upper west side. The room DOES NOT include free wifi (10 bucks a day!) and is much below average. the only upside with this place is the distance to Central park and subway. Dont expect anything more than that..and no, I'm definitely not going back to Astor after this stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been to New York 10+ times and I have never stayed in this part of town (Upper West Side), but chose the Astor based on its proximity to a music festival I was attending. I stayed with a large group of people, and the rooms were what I expected for NYC (small). Washrooms in both rooms had clearly been re-done and were nicer, overall the decor could be drastically improved but if all you need is a cheap clean place to stay this is the place for you. Also quick walk to a subway stop, and really close to tons of deli's and pizza places if you need something quick and cheap to eat. One woman at the front desk was especially helpful and really nice.

Room Tip: Between the 2 rooms we had, one had no view and one tiny window, and one had a street view with 2 wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#391 of 468 in New York City
628 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#315 of 468 in New York City
1,507 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 468 in New York City
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
835 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#431 of 468 in New York City
1,922 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 468 in New York City
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Property: Astor on the Park
Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing