We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astor on the Park
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$177
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$339
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$236
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$354
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveler rating
193
543
486
187
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
543
486
187
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral park westcolumbia universitypark viewsubway stationrooms are smallthree blockstimes squarewest sidefew blocksbagelsbig appledelimanhattanave
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

It is like dead end of the park location.. and it is pretty big park..
when you are planning to use underground ok
if you go with taxi..
better just pay more for hotel closer to Time Squere..and you can walk around
Room is tiny even smaller then it seems on photo because it is filled with your body! :D
and if you are two..not much space for luggage ..
Air was so dusty l don't know if its hotels problem or whole NY is just one big dust bin?People say you don't spend much time there so it doesn't matter how nice room you get..true (we came always after midninght or 2am)but then you need to feel comfy.l just couldn't breath (and my Astma was bit problem-before we came was ok my man is healthy and couldn't stand that dust too)
So l didn't sleep well and we spent all days walking hours..one should sleep like a baby...
It all depends for somebody this can be the right choise..for student or somebody who wants to save on basic discomfort..some things u never know from reviews till we you get there ..
Stuff -we hardly seen any one.. And there is no chance of having breakfast ..ok l do like when things go smooth nice and easy..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20Mirka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

A budget hotel but great staff and clean rooms. Decor in the room was basic but comfortable. Ideal hotel for those on a budget.

The hotel is on Central Park West and 106th, so it is quite a way up on the park but take a walk down Central Park West and enjoy the sites or catch the train from 103rd.

I enjoyed my stay here, it was warm, comfortable and I felt safe, couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plinthadenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in Oct 2012. The hotel is basic but eveything you need for a sightseeing holiday where you don't spend time in your room. The room was basic but this is reflected in the price. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and functional. The hotel is right across from Central Park and our room was overlooking the park. The subway is two blocks down and very easy to navigate. There is a fantastic cafe two blocks north which looks a little run down but has fantastic breakfasts and free wifi (and an ATM). Our room was cleaned every day, fresh towels, clean linens etc. The information folder in the room is really helpful, definitely worth taking the time to read. If you walk two blocks west there are great bars, pubs, restaurants,pizza joints along Amsterdam, worth the walk. Prices here are much more wallet friendly than the tourist bars downtown. This hotel is ideal for anyone wanting a nice hotel in a safe area without paying through the nose. The staff are helpful and we always felt safe walking to the subway, pubs, deli's etc. There is no safe in the room, no tea/coffee making facilities or fridge/mini-bar but this is to be expected in a no-frills hotel. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom but it is not the best. We found this hotel to be everything we needed. Would we stay here again? Probably not but that is purely because now we've done the 5 day tourist blitz holiday (where your hotel room is purely to leave your luggage and to sleep at night after an exhausting day of sighseeing!) next time would be a more leisurely visit so we would look to stay somewhere closer to downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My wife and I went to New York for our two year anniversary. We booked a room at the Astor for the 3 nights, because of the price deal we found ($189 for all three nights on hotwire) do yourself a favor and pay a little more for something nicer.
The main problem was the noise that started up at midnight on our first night. This was the 6th floor. It sounded like something (or someone) was hitting a metal pipe with a hammer right above our room in the ceiling. It was loud and wouldn't stop. About 1:30 we had enough.
I went downstairs to the front desk and asked the two guys working about what the noise was. One of the men was on his personal phone and turned his back to me. The other man had a crappy attitude and seemed bothered I was addressing him about the noise. He said he knew about the noise, which was boiler pipes clanging together. I told him they should fix it, or they're going to lose business - and his response was that's the noise had been an issue for years and the management wouldn't fix it! (I hope that the Astor management/owner read this. At this point I had to request another room because the man didn't bother to offer it. - So we moved in the middle of the night to the first floor, which was quiet, but small as a closet and nasty, looked like a hooker stop off. - We were suppose to stay two more nights but checked out in the morning - and went to the Gershwin (which was great!) - I hope Hotwire refunds our $ for the 2 nights we didn't stay! (..to read more see my next review.. ran outta room)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CajunCrawler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were here for three days and two nights for a quick birthday trip. All in all, it's a perfectly fine place to stay if you're not looking for luxury and plan to spend most of your time out of the room.

The good:
The staff was very kind and helpful. They let us store our luggage for a few hours between checkout and when we had to leave for the airport.
We arrived a few hours before check-in and our room was already prepared.
We had a room overlooking the park and you cannot beat the proximity to the park itself.
No bed bugs! The room showed some signs of wear and tear but the bed was overall clean enough.
Nothing to do with the hotel but we met a couple of very sweet ladies from Ireland who were leaving as we were checking in and they gave us their week-long Metro Cards that still had a couple of days left. So sweet!
The room was small, as expected, but they still managed to fit a few drawers, a small armoir, and a desk and chair in there.

The not so good:
There is one small elevator for everyone including the staff so you may wait a few minutes only to have the doors open to reveal a housekeeper taking out a floor's worth of garbage.
I feel like this is my complaint everywhere I go but there were not enough outlets. We had one phone charging on the floor under the window (only available outlet) and one in the bathroom. You may find it worthwhile to throw a small power strip or something in your bag to make things easier.

As far as the location is concerned it's right by the park, which is great, but pretty far north and in the evening it's fairly quiet since it felt like a more residential neighborhood. You'll need to take the subway a lot. If you have a smartphone I highly recommend buying the "CityTransit" app - it has maps and line info and we used it constantly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChiTown907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews