We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate In Every Way”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #394 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Adequate In Every Way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in September, while enjoying all the sites that NYC has to offer. And my conclusion? Meh. It wasn't great, it wasn't terrible, it just sort of existed.

The location is fine. It's a little out there, but it's only a 15-20 minute subway ride to all the good stuff. The hotel is 3 blocks away from the nearest subway station, but it only took a few minutes to walk. There were lots of little stores just a couple blocks away in case you need anything. The building faces Central Park, which is nice. The street was never too busy or noisy.

My room faced away from Central Park, which kind of sucked, but at least it was quiet. Other reviews have warned about the size of the rooms, and they're right. There's enough room for a bed, an end table, a (tiny) TV and a wardrobe. That's it. I bet your bedroom at home is bigger.

The bathroom looked to be recently upgraded, and was pretty decent. Water pressure was good, the shower was hot and housekeeping provided enough towels. It wasn't very big, but did the job.

The big problem with the hotel was a whole bunch of little things. The cleanliness of the room was just okay. There was only one sheet on the bed. The TV remote didn't work, and there was one outlet that didn't either. The elevator was tiny, and kinda sounded like it was straining the whole time. None of this stuff is really that important, it just all kind of added up.

Anyway, I'd stay at the hotel again, assuming I got the same $99 per night deal. If I had to pay their regular price (in the $169-199 range I think) I'd probably try my luck somewhere else.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    516
    459
    180
    148
See reviews for
240
587
98
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winona Lake, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in September. We were very happy with our stay. Things to know, 1. Go up to the roof, the view is amazing. 2. The elevator is VERY small and it didn't affect our stay at ALL. 3. There are vending machines in the basement. The coffee machine was out of service during our stay but the convenience store two blocks north had wonderful coffee cheap. 4. This is a great "base camp" from which to see NY because it is so close to 2 subway stops. 5. It is an old hotel and not for luxury. 6 I made sure to talk to the people who work here and found them all to be friendly and helpful no matter what time of the day or night. 7. You can ask for ice anytime and they will bring it to your room. Pretty cool. 8. They have a car service through the hotel that charges a $40 flat rate to LaGuardia. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 1 night in August , is a very simple hotel , in an excellent location , the bathrooms are updated and the rooms are spacious and clean, the reception staff are very helpful and friendly .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

A very old hotel. The lift was a little slow, and barley big enough for 2 people and 2 bags. The TV has limited channels, but what else do you want. It is not a fancy hotel. Low budget hotel so you get what you pay for, basic accomodations. It was a tiny room but the view was aweson: facing CENTRAL PARK (the only good thing). The air conditioner was not good and very loud and noisy. Small wadrobes and a dressing table. Old TV and old closet. Also, furnitures were old. Needs to update very soon. Definitly would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and i were here in September, and after reading reviews posted here on this site we were a little unsure of what to expect when we arrived at the Astor. But we arrived late on a Monday afternoon, and despite not recieving any assistance with our luggage, we were checked in promptley and given a room on the 10th floor. The lift was a little slow, and barley big enough for 2 people and 2 bags. We got to our room which was not huge, but big enough to accomodate us and our bags. The bathroom was clean and the bedding was fresh. There is a TV with limited channels, but what else do you want. You in NY, it you want to sit in your room and watch TV do that at home. There our subway stations is either direction. 110th street is just 2 blocks from the hotel, right next to a small deli. A little further down are some fast food places, as well as a grocery store round the corner from the deli. From 110th street you are at 42nd street in just under 20min. Trains run at all times. We caught them at 5am and around 1am, and never had a problem catching a train home. If that is not your thing, there is a bust stop 1 block up, and taxis run past at all times. For the price you are paying for this hotel, and to be less than 20min from the heart of times square and other major attractions, what a great deal. If you want all the extra trappings of fancy hotels, then go and stay in those fancy hotels. Here you get what you pay for, basic accomodations. What all the negative reviews are for i don't know. I would go back and stay at the Astor anytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

On our arrival to the hotel we were assigned a tiny room ,which looked nothing like any of the pictures,it had a horrible view of some brick walls ,not enough room to swing a cat or infact store your luggage & the air con system was unbareably loud ,it put a real downer on our mood when arriving in new york .however after this first horrible night we spoke to reception in the morning and asked to change rooms we were put into room 509 which was much better ,the room was considebly larger with a king size bed instead of a tiny double as per the previous room ,the room had large wadrobes and a dressing table ,the bathroom was very modern ,the rooms were kept spotless as they were cleaned every day and best of all our second room was central park facing !My advice to you is to simply ask to change rooms if you are not satisfied as the room difference between the two was incredible!This location is quite far out from certain attractions but will be perfect for you if you arent afraid to take the subway as the subway is just 3 streets away on 103 street& will take you everywhere you need to go ..there are some attractions close to the hotel via subway such as the national history museum on 81st street or columbus avenue where you'll find lots of nice cafes & starbucks if you need wifi !shake shack is definitely worth a visit which is also on columbus avenue which sells the best shakes fries & burgers!!levain bakery is also worth a trip but is very small so can be missed when walking so keep your eyes peeled !!if you are into jazz then the lincoln centre dizzy coca colas club is a must see for you ,with shows either at 7:30 or 9:30pm hosting different jazz artists and a fantastic view its $35 entry +$10 minimum bar spend which you'll spend easily on their fantastic cocktails if this sounds good to you then you'll need 59th street ...jersey gardens is worth a trip if you like outlet prices & stores such as hollister & abercrombie you'll need to go to the bus port authority & get the 112 bus which is just $12 return !!Astor on the park is the perfect location to see all of these sites just take some good walking shoes & invest in a 7 day subway card for $29 & you'll be laughing !!you can also get the subway all the way to the jfk airport which will save you a huge $60 & poor taxi driving !!Astor on the park doesnt have a cafe inside but does have vending machines & internet doenstairs which they don't mention during check in !the staff will keep your luggage for you once youve checked out if you choose to enjoy your last day in NY!:)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahelizabethburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was over one year ago, but better later than never. I was solo so I didn't expect much. From the airport I took subway so it's easy to get there(change trains somewhere I can't remember where). From subway station very close. I was there to visit so my plan was only sleep in hotel-bought unlimited metrocard for a week and spent days in New York, so for me it was very good choice. I spent there only four nights-bathroom, comf bed so what else I needed. cheap(I can't remember but about 60 per night). For those who complain-stay somewhere in the city and spent twice or three times more. if u buy cheap car and then complain, why didn't u buy ferrari?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josefman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#386 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#384 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#424 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Property: Astor on the Park
Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing