We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A place to be - not a place to rest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Martinique on Broadway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Martinique on Broadway
Ranked #229 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“A place to be - not a place to rest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The positive:
- friendly staff
- historic building
- excellent upgrade to penthouse suite (there is a big however...)
- good breakfast if included
- location: just at the intersection of Broadway and 6th

The negative
- I asked for a quiet room and was upgraded to the penthouse suite, which is the contrary to quiet: it's build over the ascensor, so you hear every single motor of the three ascensors working. It's extremely loud
- Old building means discomfort: small bathrooms, no isolation
- this hotels is used by many airlines
- this hotel is a Brazilian joint (Brazilians are usually loud)

It's nice, but it's nor worth 600 USD per night.

Room Tip: Do not take the penthpuse suites or any room near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank philosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    1,491
    518
    177
    143
See reviews for
1,236
899
239
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The people on staff here make the difference between average ho-hum, and WOW I am having
a great time. My upgrade ( Silver status with CLUB CARLSON ) produced a larger than normal
room. We found the people of NY very friendly, especially the staff at Martinique.
We will definitely stay here on our next visit to Manhatten!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on floor PH18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northlake, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was my first ever trip to NYC and never on any of my vacations do I ever stay at swanky hotels like this but this trip was a gift and the hotel was a treat! Loved the fact that it was one of the most historic hotels in NY and close to everything. The room was very small but very clean and updated. There were 3 of us in the room so it was quite tight but we managed. A few minor problems...the sleep number beds and the Keurig coffee machine did not work. We complained to 3 different managers before the problem was fixed but we were compensated for our trouble. The buffet breakfast was the only time we ate at the hotel. It was very good, lots of variety. I would definetely stay here again if I ever get back to NYC

Room Tip: It was suggested to us to get a room on a higher floor so as not to hear the traffic outside. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3grandlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

What a great experience here. Phenomenal upgrade, gifts awaited me in my room and terrific staff from bottom to top!! Highly recommend.

I will definitely be back again!! An I will tell all my friends. Make sure you take time to comment the bell staff as they are the unsung heroes. AND TIP!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was skeptical about reserving a room here at The Martinique because of how small the rooms had been portrayed here but in reality the main reason why you visit NY is because everything there is to do! And because of the great location and proximity to all the subway lines this hotel deserves your consideration. Yes rooms are still small but not cramped-in and the bathroom was adequate in size. And best of all everything was clean. The staff does a great job in keeping this historic hotel as spotless as can be.An added bonus to me was the great restaurant located at the hotel. It was a perfect meeting place to launch your days and then to gather at night for a spot of tea before turning in. There is a pharmacy/market just a few steps away in case you forgot anything. Lastly I'd like to say how great the entire staff of bellmen are in accommodating your particular needs. Yes, I would recommend this gem of a NY hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just returned from a 5 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is in a great location in Herald Square, cannot fault the location, shops and eating outlets 5 mins walk. Cannot be beaten on location.

The hotel foyer was pleasant, yes was full of airline staff most days checking in and out but this just proves it is a good place to stay. The concierge lady was very helpful and friendly, lovely lady who helped us out regarding a few queries. We were on 6 th floor facing another building behind so our room although no view was very quiet with the most comfortable beds. Our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels left. The bathroom was tiny but manageable and a nice warm shower. Lets face it in New York you are not in your rooms much at all, we were out all day every day so it was a place to slep , thats all.

All the doormen were lovely and helped with luggage and opened doors for you at all times.

The empire state is a 5 min walk away, other attractions are no more than 30 min walk. We used speedys deli across the road for breakfast and snacks which was nice, also the cafe martinique which I would recommend. Apparently Dempseys bar is a nice eating place just past korea Town, left out of the hotel, but we did not get time to try it. DO NOT eat at Jimmys American Diner on 6th Avenue about 10 min walk from hotel, while the food is nice our card was used fraudently here and we are current;y trying to solve the problem now we re home, attempted to sort whilst there but they insisted there was no problem, Wrong! they had charged us more than double for our meal. I recommend not to use cards anywhere only cash as when paying by card they are taken away from you and no chip and pin is required. Your card should never be taken out of your sight as we have learnt.

Would recommend this hotel and would return.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you prefer it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just steps away from Broadway on one side, Korea Town on the other. I took the bus from NJ (it was an easy 15 minute walk to the hotel from the Port Authority Bus Terminal, PABT) and met up with my husband while he was staying here at the Radisson. His company set him up at this hotel, we could not pay over $400 for one night. I loved the experience. We had a view of the Empire State Building from our window on the 14th floor, it was almost next door (it just felt like it, but it is close by). The room had beds that you could adjust the firmness. My husbands side needed to be inflated for his taste in firmness constantly. I've seen bigger bathrooms. They have several doormen available when you arrive if you need assistance. They have a restaurant attached to the hotel, very nice also. It is weeks away from Christmas and the holiday cheer was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORANGECELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#294 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#151 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#75 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
#266 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Martinique on Broadway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Martinique on Broadway

Property: Radisson Martinique on Broadway
Address: 49 West 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10001-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Martinique on Broadway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 533
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel with French Renaissance exterior & traditional interior, housed in building dating from 1897. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Radisson Martinique on Broadway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Martinique On Broadway Hotel New York City
Radisson Martinique Broadway
Radisson Hotel New York City
Radisson Martinique Hotel
Radisson New York City
New York City Radisson
Radisson Martinique New York
Radisson Manhattan
Holiday Inn Martinique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing