We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and great staff”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #82 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic hotel and great staff”
Reviewed July 7, 2006

My husband and I went to New York with my old school friend and her partner - originally we were going to celebrate mine and my friend's 50th birthdays - however our friends decided that whilst we were there they would get married at Central Park. From the day we arrived at the hotel we could not fault the service we got. The staff were absolutely great, especially James and Jetto, who helped us with the wedding arrangements. James recommend a restaurant for our friends wedding night and Jetto arranged for champagne and room upgrades (my daughter had e-mailed the hotel to let them know of our friends wedding). The hotel was very clean and the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was out of this world - large muffins, bagels which were out of this world, fresh fruit, cereals, fruit juices and tea/coffee - tea and coffee were available all day. There was a sun terrace you could go to and the bar was open there in the evening. Location could not have been better - we were 2 minutes from Maceys which my friend and I made the most of and visited there every day - 5 minutes from Empire State Building (make sure you go at night - view breathtaking) - 10 minutes from Time Square and 2 seconds from Metro. The people in New York were so friendly. The wedding in Central Park was fantastic and everything went without a hitch. We would also most certainly go back again and in fact have made a pact to go back in 5 years time to celebrate our friends anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    1,513
    297
    73
    49
See reviews for
737
2,177
145
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

I will say that the hotel was nice. The only thing negative I have to say is that the neighborhood around the hotel leaves something to be desired. We arrived from Penn Station about 9PM. We walked about 3 blocks to the hotel. On the block that the hotel is located, there are several small restaurants. Each of these restaurants had put out their trash for pickup right about the time we arrived. Not only was there about 100 plastic bags of trash, the smell was tremendous. There is enough foot traffic at that hour so that I didn't feel unsafe. Macy's is right down the street as well as major subway and bus lines. And of course, Penn Station. I stayed here one night because of its proximity to Penn Station and the LIRR/Airtrain to JFK airport. The trip to the airport using the public transportation was $10. By cab, it would have cost over $50 with tip. The city caps cab fares but only from the airport to Manhattan. Going to the airport, it's "let the buyer beware". Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gil1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Very impressed with this hotel given the price. We were expecting to have to sacrifice on some leve of comfort from previous hotels on our trip, but we were pleasantly surprised. Complimentary breakfast, and Wi-Fi in the rooms was an excellent help to us, and the staff were immensley helpful in sorting out early issues that we had with the Wi-Fi.

The roof top terrace is an excellent place to sit with a few drinks in the evening, for romantic couples, right up to businessmen winding down after a hard day at work.

I'm certainly staying here again for my winter shopping trips, as well as on my next busiess trip, there is simply no reason to pay any extra money for hotels of similar, or in many cases worse quality.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

We stayed at the Metro Hotel for 2 nights prior to our cruise and for 1 night after our cruise in December 2005. We liked the Art Deco feel of the Hotel & think it was reasonable value for a New York Hotel.

Both the rooms we had were fine, but as we expected quite small however, we were able to store the luggage we didn't need in the luggage room.There was no problem with noise as on both occasions our room were on the higher floors.

We thought the extras like the constant tea /coffee was great when we arrived in from the cold and the buffet breakfast was good. Being able to use the facility to check in on line for our flights and print off our boarding pass was useful.

The reception staff were helpful and managed to get us transport to JFK despite there being a transport strike and the price was much cheaper than Cunard the Cruise line would have charged us in normal circumstances.

On balance we think the Metro Hotel is a good choice if you are realistic about what you get for you money in terms of accommodation in New York.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet Beadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Stayed at the Metro Hotel in June. Small corner room, no view, dark and dismal. Staff un-helpful and un-willing to change room. Room was a little dirty too. Rooms were not cleaned propely, for example a pill was left on the floor from a previous client. On a positive note, the location is fab and you will not be let down by the good time that is to be had in NY!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shells23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Excellent location for my first trip to NYC, easy walk to Times Square and the Empire State Building. Friendly helpful staff. Room was rather smaller than expected but nicely decorated. The tub was very shallow and not comfortable if you like baths, but that's minor. Very good deal overall.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank duranimal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2006

We were budget conscious when booking the hotel and its services far exceeded my expectations. Its location was fantastic, close to all the attractions, and transport via the Metro is literally 30sec away. We had a quiet room (unbelievable in NY) and although the bed was a lilttle bit on the small side, we had a comfortable rest. Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting decent accomodation in NY but don't want to pay the higher prices of the hotel chains.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jellytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 467 in New York City
3,375 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing