We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #97 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2006

We thought the staff was nice and attentive, except for the lazy doormen who never open the door for you. The room was nice, and about average size for NYC. The room was always clean, and tastefully decorated. I'd recommend it. Also, we found a WONDERFUL bakery in Little Italy called La Bella Ferrarra. Try the butter biscuits - you won't be sorry! Also, if you are a beader (make beaded jewelry), there are a couple of great bead shops a couple of blocks away on 6th. And if the Yankees are playing, it's definintely a great American experience to go to the game. We had a blast.

Stayed: May 2006
1  Thank Trapezergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,393 - 3,399 of 4,305 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2006

We stayed here in Jan 06 and it was a great hotel, I would recommend it.
It is very central location, really handy for lots of the tourist sites. The hotel is clean, and even although the rooms are a bit small, they are fine - because your in new york for other things not to stay in your room.
The breakfast is also nice.
You'll find alot of business people staying at this hotel,which I think is good.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to new york, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NoosaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2006

We (50, 50, 20, and 15) spent five days in New York and especially the Hotel Metro.
There were several other Dutch families in the hotel, next to the many Americans.
Our rooms were rooms at the streetside of the hotel (not the lately renovated ones). Next time we would ask for a room at the backside, because we heard those were much quieter. Our sons had difficulties sleeping that well with the carbage trucks which frequented the street every night. But: they got used to it at the end of the week. But nevertheless: the rooms were very tidy and well cleaned.
The breakfast was very good and you could eat as much as you wanted. It was also possible to drink coffee 24 hours a day.
A great plus was the rooftop: for people who wanted to smoke as well as for people wanting to sit in the sun for some time.
Hotel Metro, 35th street (near Macy's) was a great starting point for our "American sightseeing trips". You could either walk (even walking to Central Park was ok) or take the metro. We didn't go by bus, because the streets were so crowded. The Metro was much quicker.
We liked New York very much and think about coming back within a couple of years. There were so many interesting things to watch and the whole atmosphere was great.

Elke V.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2006

I stayed at this Hotel about 7 years ago and it was excellent value for money then. Having recently returned for a 6 day break it is still excellent value for money.
I was a bit nervous after reading some reviews on the site but the family suite that we had was very big for New York standards, the hotel was immaculate, service great and breakfast regularly stocked and very welcome. Tea and Coffee is available 24 hours a day.
Location wise for those people wanting to shop and for those going for sightseeing it's ideal. Would I stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angela6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2006

I stayed here my first trip to NYC in december. Once I got over the sticker shock of how much hotels are there I finally settled on this one because it was among the cheaper without being a dump. I still can't believe though at $300 a night it was just as good as a Hampton Inn somewhere else. I could stay at the Ritz in New Orleans (pre katrtina) for that much. The hotel staff were not very friendly or helpful. The room was actually a good size and had a closet. Smelled kinda funny though. Bathroom was very bare and only had a teeny tiny vanity for placing tolietries. It could use some updating. I found it to be a very good location. If you are just looking for a place to crash and this hotel comes up as one of the cheaper ones I would reccomend it. The rooftop terrace is neat and there is a nice lounge by the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alyson003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Metro from 29th December for 7 nights, over new year. Having been to New York the previous Feb, we were very excited to be staying more central (pretty much on the same street as Macy's). The hotel has a great location, 10/15 min walk to Time Square and Madison Square Garden and a couple of blocks from the Empire State Building.

There was a little confusion over rates when we arrived but all was sorted in the morning, and the staff could not apologise enough.
The complimentary breakfast consisted of bagels, muffins, toast etc, which was a great start to the day. The hotel itself i very retro, although we didn't spend that much time in the hotel really, generally out about 9/10am every morning and back about 6pm to get ready for whatever we had planned for the evening.

Being our second visit, we didn't do as many touristy things this time round, although we did the the Empire State Building again, you cannot beat the views.
We saw our 2nd Knicks game at the Garden, very exciting just being there, i'm not a basketball fan (Boyfriend is) but I found myself enjoying it and really getting into it.
Had a very wet but amazing NewYear in Times Square, I can't even begin to describe the atmosphere being there at that time. It is definitely something everyone should experience once in their lifetime. Although saying that I don't know if I would want do it again, just because it's a memory that is best left unspoilt. I think once you've done it, it wouldn't be the same the next time.

There are plenty of great restaurants around and we were lucky enough to stumble across a a couple that seemed unknown to tourists and were great value for money. I still haven't seen a Broadway show, but that is definitely on the itinery for next time. There is so much to do and see in New York you probably wouldn't ever get everything done, even if you had a lifetime.

New York is so magical and amazing and it is absolutely the best city in the world and after 2 trips we are now planning our 3rd for next Feb.
If you haven't been, go, you won't regret it!!!!

7  Thank destined2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

We Stayed in the Hotel Metro on our very first trip to New York. As with any first visit to a new city we were concerned if the hotel would be nice. This was a fantastic hotel to stay in and it has all the amenities you would need.

I travelled with my parents so we booked a family suite which consists of two double beds in the main room, one other bed in another room, one bathroom and a small area with a fridge and a sink. There was one wardrobe in the main room but plenty of drawers in each of the rooms. There is also a television in each room and a safe in the wardrobe.

There is a complimentary breakfast every morning in the hotel. The choice is very good and includes cereals, toast, frsh fruit, begals and muffins. There is also tea and coffee available 24 hours a day which is perfect after a day walking around the city

The hotel is in a perfect location. it is situated midtown and it is only a street away from the Empire State Building which we could see from our window and the roof top terrace (open seasonally). Times Square is only a 10 minute walk away in which there are good restaurants and shops. We ate in the hard rock cafe whcih was very good- it looks as if it is just a shop but the restaurant is downstairs.

We tried the bus tour around the city - the ticket is valid for 48 hours and it a great idea to help you find your way around the city. We also did the 3 hour island cruise which is run through Circle Line (pier 83). This cruise is excellent and you get a very good close view of the statue of liberty. The Rockefeller Centre is worth a vist especially top of the rock - an observatory deck. The view is similar to the Empire State building but sligtlty better as it includes a good view of central park. The park is also a must to do - we spent 2 days there as there is plenty to do and if the weather is good it is nice to sit and watch the world go by.

Some restaurants we went to which i recommend are:-Sevilla Restaurant 62 Charles Street, Greenwich Village. This is a spanish restaurant with a mixture of tapas and other traditional spanish dishes. The staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. Spend some nights in Greenwich Village as there are great restaurants. Another one which we had a good meal in was Bistecca Fiorentina Steak which is on 317 west 46th Street. This is on restaurant Row which has a good chocie of different restaurants. We also went to the View Restaurant (New York's only Revolving restaurant) in The Marriott Hotel Times Square. the food was not very good and not worth the money but the view was amazing. I would recommend go for a drink and not dinner - this is a view not to be missed!

Overall I highly recommend that you visit New York and stay at the wonderful Hotel Metro!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Suzannexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 471 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 471 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 471 in New York City
2,254 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing