We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing & central”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing & central”
Reviewed February 2, 2005

Really nice hotel... breakfast is basic (bagels and muffins) but they're yummie! Nice rooms, gym on roof.. lovely roof terrace with amazing views of Empire State (must see). No regrets... special thanks to George... very friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonboi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,138
    1,494
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
723
2,139
143
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 1, 2005

It was a wonderful place to stay; close to Macy's, Times Square, 5th Ave., subway. The hotel is small, but upscale. We loved the convenience and hospitality.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales,uk
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2005

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the metro. This is a great value hotel right in the centre of New York only a 2 minute walk from Macy's and The Empire State building. It's not a luxury hotel by far but it is very friendly and cosy. There are currently some building works going on at the hotel but this did not cause any inconvience and soon there will be a lovely new breakfast room there. The free breakfasts are great and we ate there every morning, there is orange juice, tea/coffee and also bagels, muffins and danish pastries!! yum yum!!
The rooms are quite small here, well ours was anyway but it was clean and warm (which was great as is was well below freezing outside!!). You also get all the free shampoo's, shower gel etc so do not bother taking any!
All in all we had a great time at the Metro and I would recommend it to anybody looking for a good value hotel in the centre of new york!!

Helpful?
3 Thank pumfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2005

I have stayed at the Metro 4 times, most recently 16th - 21st Dec 2004. Its location is excellent, just off 5th Avenue and within easy walking distance of Macy's, Empire State Building and Times Square, and a pleasant stroll up 5th Ave to Central Park.

The hotel lobby is beautiful, the staff is very pleasant and knowledgeable and the rooms are spotlessly clean. I am the fussiest person in the world for cleanliness and there wasn't a speck of dirt anywhere.

I went with 3 friends and we had 2 twin rooms. Our room was not the biggest I've ever stayed in but it certainly wasn't the smallest, and our friends' room was a very good size. We had no problems getting our requested twin rooms, despite booking over the internet (not with the hotel).

Comparing the hotel with when I have stayed before (1996, 1998 & 1999) I will say that our room and corridors looked a little tired, although certainly not tatty. I believe there has been refurbishment up to the 8th floor and we were on the 9th. And you do have to wait 2 or 3 minutes for a lift at busy times.

I would always go back to the Metro as I think you can pay a lot more for the same in New York.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2005

We spent 6 nights at the Hotel Metro and were very pleased. We are a family of 5 (with 3 teenagers) so we booked 2 rooms, including the family suite. That turned out to be perfect for the kids, with 2 bedrooms. The hotel is very comfortable. A great plus is the free wireless internet throughout the hotel. The breakfast was great and I really liked the coffee available all day long. The location in midtown is convenient , less than one block from a subway station. The staff was always helpful regarding directions. I'd stay there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 28, 2004

My husband and I spent two nights at the Metro Hotel just before Christmas; we booked the hotel based on reviews posted here. We would definitely not recommend the hotel--there are much better hotels in New York in a similar price range.

Although the lobby is quite nice, the hotel's efforts ended there. The elevator carpet was worn and dirty,the staff wasn't very friendly (they were never rude, but barely cracked a smile), and, more importantly, the bed was the most uncomfortable that we'd slept on--the mattress was old and lumpy, so every time we turned over we felt every spring. We woke up tired both days, which was detrimental to our enjoyment of the city. Also, the shower walls in our bathroom were moldy and the shower floor cracked and badly stained. And this was after changing from the first room that we were given (1101), which looked like a prison cell.

The free breakfast was really not an advantage--nothing you couldn't get on the street for $2 or less (muffins, bagels, juice and coffee--and they didn't even have a toaster for the bagels).

If we hadn't prepaid for two nights we would have definitely changed hotels after the first night. I've stayed at the Park South Hotel and the Roger Williams, both moderately priced and inclusive of breakfast, and enjoyed much better accomodations and service.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2004

Found staff to be pleasant and helpful. Excellent location. Room spacious and very clean, but front facing rooms can be noisy. 24 hour coffee a great bonus! Would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing