We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend the Hotel Metro”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend the Hotel Metro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2009

I booked our first trip to New York as a surprise Christmas/birthday present for my husband and chose the Metro after reading all the reviews on Trip Advisor. We loved the hotel; the staff were extremely helpful at all times and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate to set us up for a days sightseeing. The view of the Empire State Building from the rooftop is amazing!!!!
The Hotel is perfectly situated for all the main Manhattan sights. I bought a New York City Pass which got us into many of the attractions and also gives $10 off at Planet Hollywood daily for the life of the card. It was expensive and we didn't make as much use of it as we could have done but I would buy it again and plan the time better next time.
The Hotel had a problem with the lifts while we were there but it didn't affect us at all - even though we were on the 12th floor. The room was fine - I had expected it to be a bit smaller based on some previous reviews but it was more than acceptable for our needs for the week that we were there.
We absolutely loved the Hotel Metro and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TippetyPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,113
    1,479
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
718
2,112
141
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Metro 3rd - 6th Jan 2009. Our flight was delayed so we didn't arrive until midnight. This wasn't a problem at all and we were promptly checked in. Our room was on the 12th floor, just below the penthouse and gym. Unfortunately due to the time of year / weather the roof terrace was closed, but we did get an excellent view of the empire state building through the doors!

The hotel is very nicely kept and I found the reception staff very helpful and friendly. They gave us free maps and tourist info and booked us onto a bus tour. If you want to do the tour, I'd actually advise you book the bus tour direct with any of the operators on the street (clearly distinguished by their jackets!). As we did it through the hotel they obviously got commission instead of the operator so no-one wanted to settle our bill and give us tickets! We did the tour that includes Brooklyn, Harlem, Downtown, cruise etc for $49 each and it was well worth it in my opinion. The main tours are hop-on / off over 48 hours. You see all the sights and learn some interesting facts from the guides.

The hotel location is great, just round the corner from the Empire State Building. Everything is within easy walking distance - and walking is the best way to take all that NYC has to offer!

The hotel offers a great buffet breakfast with free tea and coffee available 24 hours. There is no tea-making facilities in the room but you do have a mini bar. The room was cosy, unfortunately our view was of an internal shaft or something but we spent most of our time out exploring so it wasn't a huge problem. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was great. The toiletries were very nice too.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel for anyone visiting this fabulous city. It's in a great location for seeing all the sights, dining, drinking and of course shopping!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

I booked the hotel a few months in advance and got a really good rate. We had a room on the 10th floor, not a great view but I was surprised by how large the room was... also extremely clean. The location is great; a block away from the Empire State Building and a short subway ride to the museums. For breakfast they have an assortment of cereals, pastries, muffins, bagels, bread for toast, juice, and yogurt. The only disappointment was that the rooftop terrace was closed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great midtown location at an affordable price
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

My Boyfriend and I were treated to a getaway for our Christmas as an early present and stayed from 16/12 - 22/12
We had originally booked hotel Pennsylvania but thanks to reviews on tripadvisor we rebooked as it seemed a nightmare!
On arrival we were booked in promptly by Eva, (who is a bit abrupt it has to be said - she wasnt patient when explaining the credit card approval needed for check in, which i thought was a bit rude)
i cheekily asked for an upgrade as lots of reviews said this happened often, i was told we already had one with a queen bed, im not sure if this is the case but the room was lovely anyway.

the room was warm, fairly spacious, and clean with a huge cupboard which enabled all our shopping to be stowed away in, plus 2 large suitcases, this was a lot of stuff!!
The bathroom was fine, clean with loads of toiletries, and the shower was good, water pressure a bit too much for me but my bf loved it. Hairdryer and iron/ironing board were already in the room, as was a safe in the massive cupboard.
Fresh towels provided everyday - and the room was cleaned regularly,. On 2 occaisons we had a problem with the room phone, but an engineer was sent up to repair it on both times and then it was fine. Dont use the phone to call international, buy a phonecard where you can call internationally and the minutes you use are deducted from the calling card, not billed to your room, which i was told, is an extortionate rate, if you use the card you are only charged 1 dollar per connected call, regardless of the length.

The rooftop terrace has fabulous views of ESB and is worth a look, the coffee room always had fresh tea and coffee on tap, we didnt have breakfast in the hotel, we went to PAX just round the corner, there food is amazing, definately have a tossed salad from the bar!
I do not reccomment visiting the Korean restaurant next door to the hotel!
My bf and i visited this for takeout after a night out, clearly they though they could take advantage of us because we had a drink. We ordered soup and plain boiled rice, and the charged us 22 dollars!! when i looked in the bag in the room, they had added extra dishes we didnt want, and obviously the most expensive soup and rice that we didnt want!!
I was really angry and took the order back, as soon as the guy saw me he tried to play dumb and said the extra dishes were complimentry before i even said a thing!! Admission of guilt straight away! I then argued that if this was the case then they charged 22 dollars for rice and soup and it was really not acceptable and demanded my cash back, whcih he gave me.
Avoid like the plague - there food isnt even that nice!!


All in all its a lovely hotel and the majority of staff are pleasant and helpfull, clean and confortable which is whats required after a hard day in NYC. its situated in a great spot, just a few blocks form ESB, times square and macys.
i would reccommend this hotel and hopefully will return to stay here again.

  • Liked — The view form the Terrace, the really confy bed!!
  • Disliked — Eva, staffmember coudl have been nicer.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsrocafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Just spent six nights at the Hotel Metro, across the New Year period. This was my fifth time in New York and I can honestly say the Metro is the best hotel i've stayed in there so far. We booked a Deluxe non-smoking king room and whilst we didn't get the view of the Empire State building, the room was large by New York standards and the bed as comfortable as ours at home. The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from Macy's, central to everything. We found the hotel staff to be superb, they could not have been more helpful or friendly. Quite unusually for New York the rate included breakfast, basic but more than adequate and the big plus was that coffee/tea were available all day and night in the dining room/lounge just off the lobby, a welcome feature when returning from a day's sightseeing/shopping. The only downside was the unreliability of the lifts, one seemed to be out most days, but this is a small price to pay, for a medium sized(much more personality than a big faceless hotel), clean, centrally located lovely hotel. The other plus was the view of the Empire State from the roof of the hotel (used as a bar in Summer) it was closed due to the freezing conditions, but you could still go up and look at the amazing unobstructed view.

  • Liked — location and comfortable bed
  • Disliked — the lifts
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG3London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asthecrowflies
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

I have just returned from NY having visited to shop and see in the New Year. The hotel ticked all the boxes and represents excellent value for money. The location is accessible to all the sites and shops. Rooms were clean and warm. And with the added bonus of breakfast and unlimited tea and coffee all day. Why would you want to stay anywhere else.
No need to search the Internet. This is the one for you.......

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Asthecrowflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2008

I have just returned from a 6 night trip to NYC over Christmas with my husband. We stayed at the Metro and couldn't fault it one bit. The room was great, clean, surprisingly large and on the 12th floor, so great views of the Empire State Building. Breakfast was great and unlimited as was the tea and coffee. NYC was fantastic and we did all the sights and the highlight was definately the Rockafella Centre both during the day and at night. We treated ourselves to lunch at the Maze Restaurant (at the London Hotel, Gordon Ramsey's place) on Christmas Day which was excellent and then saw Jersey Boys in the evening - both highly recommended.

Got some bargains in Macys and you must visit the M&Ms store! A tip on the shopping front would be to get out there by 9.00/9.30 as by lunchtime the shops and streets are packed.

O'Lunneys on 45th street is great for food and if you want something quick the Chinese next door to the hotel is well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KathMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing