We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, central location and a fun rooftop deck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Metro
Ranked #81 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Clean, central location and a fun rooftop deck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Metro for two nights and we enjoyed the full length of our stay. Located near the Macys and Empire State Building, Hotel Metro is the perfect place to say in Midtown. It's clean, affordable and includes a bagel/muffin breakfast (no meats or eggs). The staff kept our luggage for us on our last day which was super convenient. We parked in the garage less than a block away and got a discount since we were hotel guests (we paid $54 for two days). We would highly recommend this place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DayTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,065
    1,446
    287
    69
    46
See reviews for
697
2,055
138
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a 4 night stay here.Perfect location to get everywhere we walked to all the main attractions no problem.The complimentary breakfast sold this Hotel to us and it was great to start the busy day ahead.Lots of choice for a continental breakfast and I could see you could also pay for a cooked breakfast if u wanted.The terrace and the view of the Empire State was lovely especially for a little drink in the night time.Concierge was so helpful more so than the front desk and recommend a lovely Thai restaurant called pure was amazing honestly the best meal I had in ages! It was on 9th avenue where there was also lots of other restaurants a bit cheaper than 5th and 7th.This restaurant was on 51st street honestly anyone in to Thai food I would highly recommend this! The room was quite basic wasn't anything special but was so convenient and the bed was so comfortable we had the best sleep every night.Would stay here again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed a week in July 2014. Everything worked pretty well for us. They kindly upgraded our room, handled any requests well and the foyer staff were very nice.

A good feature of this hotel is the two internal stairways throughout the hotel. This means it's very easy to get between floors without having to wait for a lift. Quite handy if you're on a high floor and want to get to the roof top terrace or if you're on a low floor and want to go out.

The roof top space is quite nice. It's always open. The Empire State Building looms nearby which is kinda cool. Be very wary of buying drinks up there though - the prices are very high! (I think the bar is open approx 5pm to 10pm Monday - Saturday).

Some of my friends at Hotel Metro booked queen rooms and their space was tiny. Not much room other than the bed. Don't expect spacious accom unless you're prepared to pay for a 'suite'.

Distance to the subway (34th St Herald Sq) is only around 150 metres. The mid town location makes it very handy for lots of the tourists destinations (eg. Macy's, Empire State Building, Times Sq, Broadway).

There nearby bars are quite average. Mostly Irish type bars and pretty boring. Brandan's bar across the street pours particularly flat draft beer - yuk!

Overall, we had no problems at Hotel Metro. Nothing too great, nothing really bad either.

Room Tip: I suggest a high level room so you have easy access to the roof top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great location close to many sites...excellent view of Empire State from roof top. Staff were very helpful...the concierge Glenn was terrific helping me get my lost bag back. Great breakfast. Bathrooms were lovely and rooms spacious (we had 2 bedroom apartment). Loved our stay. This is my third visit to New York since 1996 and it just gets better and better!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I booked this hotel because it had a family room which could accommodate myself and 2 friends.
The hotel was flawlessly clean, well decorated, the room size was generous and the two bedrooms, bathroom and little fridge / sink area in the hall worked well. The elevators were clean and always working (something you don't always get), the location was AMAZING, a 2 minute walk down to Macy's - plenty of bars and restaurants around, subway entrance near by and an easy walk to Times Square where many tours pick up. Besides the perfect NY location (and reasonable price for what it was) - the real jewel of the hotel is the rooftop bar. The roof has a clear view of the empire state which is impressive in the day and amazing at night.

Check in and out was easy and painless, the doorman was friendly and on point and happy to hail a cab when needed.

Unusually, I have not a single negative to mention about this hotel and strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a great location, decent price and beautiful view in New York City.

Room Tip: facing away from the street. my room was facing away and was a little more quiet than the room my tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss-rachael-leigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here 5th-11th july. Our room was teeny tiny and basic (as expected in NYC) but very clean and shower was great. We viewed it as a room we would only be in for sleep in so didn't need anything fancy - plenty more things to spend your $$$ on in NYC.

Breakfast was fine, great given that it was included. Nice bagels and muffins.

We never really used concierge services. He did get us a price for tickets to see Rocky on broadway - $199 each....got them at tkts for $75 each.

Rooftop bar was a bit of a disappointment from what we had seen online, not open on a sunday (day we arrived) and i never enjoy a wine in a small plastic cup. ( you can get plastic wine glasses) It was pricey but we didn't mind too much. We did however quite enjoy sitting up there on our way home to our room each night. View might not be the best in NY as one reviewer suggested - however we really enjoyed sitting in the shadow of the empire at night and seeing what colour she was lit up as....which when we were there reflected the colours of the independence day and then each of the world cup finalists on the day they won their semi!!

we would stay again! location is good and doormen and reception staff are lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlswood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Metro for 5 nights in February after booking through BA. We upgraded to a superior queen room which was on a higher floor away from the road noise and had been refurbished. It wasn't enormous but we were there to sightsee not sit in our room and it provided a very clean and comfortable base. Most hotels in New York don't include breakfast so this was definitely a bonus and you get used to the paper plates! We had low expectations but the bagels and muffins were incredible!! The location is superb with Macy's, the Empire State and the subway all under 5 mins walk. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again if we return to New York.

Room Tip: You can't avoid the road noise and sirens in New York but choose a room on a higher floor at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#106 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#108 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#99 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#56 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing