We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$154
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$330
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$324
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$309
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,410)
Filter reviews
4,410 results
Traveler rating
2,317
1,628
330
79
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,317
1,628
330
79
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruitperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
1,638 - 1,643 of 4,410 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Metro last year during our family trip from Boston to NYC to DC.

Great location, within walking distance from major attractions. The roof deck was amazing, especially during the evening, towered by the lit up Empire State bldg.

For the cost, I would have liked more breakfast varieties, but do not take me wrong, the full continental breakfast was good and filling. Wifi worked great, emailed and shared lots of pictures & videos with family during the late hours.

We stayed in one of their 2-bdrms suite, for 3 nights. It was more than what we needed, but smaller rooms were not available. The room had a small fridge, we used it to keep some of my kids meal (food allergy) that we brought with us just in case.

We got a coupon from the hotel to park our van down the street at a lower daily rate. I thought it was fair. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Upper two floors (new updates).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We got what we paid for a clean ,free wifi, free breakfast ,fridge in our rm budget hotel stay. I'm spoiled by staying in kimpton hotels which are more mod in design but were too pricy for this business trip so this was the solution. The staff were accommodating . The location was great very central to Macy ,subway Broadway etc .

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Fantastic location for travelling around New York. Very friendly staff from door men to bar staff.
Lovely roof top bar area looking onto Empire State Building beautiful, especially at night when everything is all light up.
Had a problem with our air-con, engineer was sent up immediately to fix it all within no time.
Breakfast was lovely, the only downside was the paper plates and plastic cutlery.
Extremely clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeniseM890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is amazing. It's located in a lovely place just outside of Times Square and is within good walking distance to Times Square and anywhere else you want to visit. A 5 minute walk to the Empire State Building which is really handy because after you've visited the Empire State Building and picked up your souvenirs, you can quickly walk back to the hotel, drop them off in your room and continue on with your day.

The reception staff are really nice and knowledgeable and will easily answer anything you ask them. The room I stayed in was just class. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was a nice size, everything about the room from the decor to the furniture was just perfect. The complimentary breakfast buffet was handy and always a good start to the day. The on site restaurant, Metro Grill, was very good and I recommend that you eat there at least once on your stay at the hotel.

For me, the best bit was the rooftop terrace. When it gets dark, you've got to go up there, get a drink, sit down and just look at the Empire State Building all lit up. It's just beautiful.

This hotel has many positive reviews on here and I'm just another person adding to the tally. If you're thinking about which hotel is best, this is the one!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben2K93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although this was our third visit to New York it was also our first visit to this hotel and we where not disappointed the hotel is in a great location being close to most of the attractions like Byrant park, 5th avenue and 10 minutes walk from Times Square etc. The room we had 1115 was very clean and in great condition with a great bathroom A/C Coffee and tea machine and a fridge which came with some complimentary drinks which we though was a nice touch, A free breakfast was included too a bit of a rarity in NYC hotels it was simple toast, yoghurt, bagals, fruit and drinks but it set you up for the day ahead free tea and coffee are also available too 24 hrs a day the breakfast room can however be a little busy but if you time it right you can get a seat easy enough. One of the gems of this hotel is the rooftop terrace was has a stunning view of the Empire State building and is a great place to sit and chill at night something which we did every night ,the bar which is expensive closes at 10 pm but the terrace is open 24 hours a day. You will find the staff very helpful too the doormen, concierge and reception staff could not do enough for you and made you feel welcome all the time. This is now our favourite hotel and when we visit again this is where we will stay A+++++.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobeCruiserDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews