We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel Metro is ideally situated just off 5th Avenue and a few steps from Macy's. We booked premier queen rooms which were on the 9th floor - very quiet, good size, tea/coffee facilities, great bathroom with excellent shower, and the bed linen was changed every day. There was a complimentary continental breakfast with a good choice of bread, bagels, cream cheese, yogurt etc and although the breakfast room was always busy we did manage to find seats most mornings. The bar and restaurant had a really friendly atmosphere and the concierge helpful.I would certainly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
5 Thank Francine-28-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,112
    1,478
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
717
2,111
141
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
colchester
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Arrived just after lunch to find our room was ready, we headed up to our premier queen room. Not a huge room but plenty big enough to drop your shopping bags and get some sleep after walking miles everyday to see the sights. Matthew the bellboy was very friendly and a big credit to the hotel, he was always keen to talk and give us direction and help on getting around. The views from the roof terrace are amazing of the ESB.
We ate at the hotel one night and had the best steak ever, it was a little expensive but well worth it. The breakfast is great as it saves you time trying to decide where to eat, we've never seen muffins so big, you have a choice of cereal, bagels, muffins, fresh pastries and bread. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juice available too.
At the end of the street is a subway station that goes all the way down town, also across the road is Maceys, then round the corner and a couple of blocks up is Times Square.
If we ever return we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We went to New York for our first time in Oct 2013, and this was one of the hotels that was recommended.
Its so well placed for the sites of New York, within easy walking distance of Times Square and close to the underground trains.
The hotel was very much styled in an old fashioned twenties, them which was fantastic.
The free breakfast offering was really great and set us up for the full on thrill of this active city.
A must is the hotel roof bar with great views of the Empire State Building, especially at night!

You could do a lot worse, its well priced, well located and the Concierge and Doorman are so helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

The hotel itself is lovely. Although if you get a room on a lower floor at the front it is quite noisy. We were woken up a few times by the bin collection.
Location is excellent. The breakfast is simple but was perfect for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammypeacham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Many years ago, I noticed the Metro, and I told my husband I wanted to stay there someday. But on subsequent NYC visits, our plans always involved other areas of the city. So this time, we finally made reservations ... and we are so glad we did! It was just as cool as I had always thought it would be! The location was great ... very close to Macy's and the Empire State Building. The service was superb ... every staff person was friendly and helpful. The room was terrific ... very clean and an adequate size. The breakfast was a bonus ... breads, muffins, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee and milk ... it's really all you need. The rooftop terrace was also very nice ... it offered such a great view! We can't comment on the restaurant or the gym since we didn't try them this time. Check-in was seamless, and when we checked out, the doorman had a cab waiting for us at the curb to take us to the airport! We would highly recommend the Hotel Metro! In fact ... we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Winyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is well situated with department stores, rail stations and buses close by. A short walk from Times Square and Port Authority Bus Depot (where we caught the bus to Woodbury Common for amazing shopping). A couple of Irish pubs near the hotel for dinner at night when tired from a hard day walking. Loved these places. Staff very helpful in hotel - we had a problem using money cards and the concierge assisted us successfully. Breakfast is included and good for an early start out and about. Short walk to Soho, Central Park and many other places of interest. Loved our cosy war. Room and would go back and stay there tomorrow!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our room was a queen premier how awful .The blinds were so badly damaged they would not close ,no curtains on the walls . Air condition was not working. The room where the breakfast was more like a canteen plastic plates ,knives plastic cups can't tell you how bad this was .when I went to the front desk to complain I was met with (this is what or premier queen is ) I would never ever recommend this hotel the worst ever .Please don't book .

Room Tip: There is none
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing